We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, homely, effortless, delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Poggio Ai Santi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Relais Poggio Ai Santi to your Saves list
Relais Poggio Ai Santi
Strada di San Bartolo 100, 57027 San Vincenzo, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in San Vincenzo
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming, homely, effortless, delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Regrettably we only spent two nights at Poggio dai Santi after two weeks in the Amiata region - and we enjoyed every minute of it.
I agree with all of the recent 5* review comments and explanations about the surroundings and described aspects of what makes this pieceful home away from home so special, so there is no need to repeat them all. But for me there are two things that truly stand out:
1) The balance, creativity and 'simplicity' in the way the owners and their staff (hotel and kitchen) look after you. They all give this beautiful place an 'authentic' soul.
2) The passion, respect and felt 'ownership' for their 'product(s)', i.e. the team, the grounds, the house/rooms/apartments, their own oil/wine/marmelade/honey and the way they source the ingredients for their restaurant...If you want to see more of that don't miss to check out 'cookingintuscany' on youtube.
When enjoying breakfast, a small snack or having dinner time seemed to stand still (our 'break-fast' turned into a long and slow break instead until way past lunch time and the executives chefs recommendations and their desciptions for dinner were fantastic).
Thank you Francesca, Dominique, Alessandra and Denny and team(s) for a wonderful couple of days.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    17
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
103
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in July and it was a fabulous peaceful place to stay. Having visited Tuscany many times this was our first stay close to the Tuscan coast. The surrounding area is a little bland but once you enter the grounds of Poggio Ai Santi you realise that this is a very special place to be. It is not really a hotel in the standard way, it is more like a very welcoming Home with a superb restaurant. Whilst there splash out on a bottle of Le Serre Nuove - you won't be disappointed. The rooms are beautifully appointed and the main house is beautifully decorated and presented. The staff were knowledgeable and the owners in particular were very welcoming. This would make a great base for the oenophiles amongst you. So many fabulous wineries to visit nearby. Bolgheri is a must with the enotecas where you can try small glasses of the top wines like Sassicaia and Ornellaia amongst many others and the architecture at Petra winery is worth seeing and their wine tasting is worth booking ahead.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We spent three days here and found it to be a great respite from all the city touring we had done the previous two weeks. You definitely need to be driving a car to get here (and to be able to explore) but the services and atmosphere here were enough to make you not want to go anywhere else. We stayed up stairs in the main inn overlooking the pool out in the yard. The rooms are quaint with a very country feel to them - they had tons of space and we had no issues with sound.
The restaurant and food were absolutely amazing. It is small and it is well known in the area. The executive chef himself came to review the menu with us and was fantastic at suggesting our courses (and wine). The service and the quality of the food was almost untouchable - remarkable interpretations of Tiramisu and Ravioli for example. The wine list is extensive.
Generally the layout of the property (it is quite large) allows for lots of alone time. There are benches and chairs placed strategically about the property and everyone seems to respect your privacy. The pool is small and located away from the main building but it is more than adequate to cool off on a summer day.
The only real downside of our trip was that we were at the end of the season and they really had no choice of their branded wares that were available in the lobby - not a game changer - more of a pity than anything else.
I highly recommend this place if you want to relax in style.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alessandrapas, Owner at Relais Poggio Ai Santi, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thanks a lot for your compliments. We really appreciate such comments, confirming our aim to reach the best possible harmony. We try harder daily to make it !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

We spent a week here and loved it. It was once a family home and it has retained that homely feel, with a rustic chic vibe. Denny the chef cooks beautiful food and the staff are very friendly. We didn't think the surrounding area was the nicest part of tuscany, but that didn't really matter as it was a joy just to laze by the pool and relax in the thoughtfully designed chill out areas.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

very nicely decorated and charming little hotel. the decoration items were well placed and arranged with great love to detail. the room was in good size and also nicely furnished and clean. gardens were beautiful with nice pool and view. service during breakfast was average. however, the breakfast as such was very good. the intimate atmosphere was disturbed a little with external dinner guests. Moreover, the dinner was quite expensive. Considering you already pay quite some money for the room and it is 15min to the next town by car it would have been nice to enjoy the atmosphere with an intimate but not too pricy dinner there. It is a great little gem to experience the nature and beautiful tuscany but do not expect a 5star full service hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alessandrapas, Owner at Relais Poggio Ai Santi, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Our guest is right to underline that service is not as in 5 stars hotels (we also do not have their rates !). We have a really friendly team, most multi job, as we try harder by keeping open all the year round, just to avoid new faces to our ever returning guests and friends. This is more like a private house than a palace. For us, the Palace is our nature, the silence and the space we manage for you: in the room, in the park and in the restaurant. Only 25 people can sleep here.
Yes, the restaurant is open to everybody, but we never seat more than 50 to 55 persons. Considering the space available, it never gives a feeling of a crowded place. And finally about our rate for food, see the other replies. Considering the space given, our dramatic position with sea view and the selection of our local products, we have a very good price/quality ratio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Paradise is an overused term but Poggio is very very close. If you want to relax and be treated very well then this is the place.
Our welcome could not have been better with Petunia the resident sausage dog greeting us at the driveway with wagging tail and perky ears.
Claudia, Julien and Dani all made us feel part of the family over our stay, they are friendly, informative and know exactly how much contact is needed to make you feel at home but not at all claustrophobic.
Dani's food at the restaurant is second to none and his ability to talk us though the menu and aid us in making the right food/wine choices was a highlight.
Other highlights included being invited behind the restaurant bar to make some cocktails with Claudia, Julien's garden and also his great knowledge of the local area and of course our morning welcome from Petunia at the breakfast table.

The apartments are exquisite and we will be returning to Poggio as soon as we can, what a place to start our honeymoon and new lives together, thank you Poggio!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Upon driving up to this property, we were greeted by staff and dogs...you get the picture!

Location: by ocean and vineyards, 30 mins drive from Firenze and close to Sienna. Perfect base to conquer Toscana!

Service: Prompt and friendly;

Rooms: Large and clean. WIFI doesn't work very well on this property, but I found many hotels have touch and go WIFI, even in big cities in Italy. Birds do wake you up here, so be prepared.

Food: Breakfast was good, typical continental breakfast. Great Cappuccino's!! Food was great, serve very regional/seasonal food.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais Poggio Ai Santi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Poggio Ai Santi

Address: Strada di San Bartolo 100, 57027 San Vincenzo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > San Vincenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Vincenzo
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Vincenzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place is a magical one, nestled in hills of Mediterranean maquis, with the sea as a backdrop. A natural amphitheatre where Segesta or Epidaurus could have been built in classical times. We have preserved it intact for you. At Poggio ai Santi you will not find butlers and concierges to fill your every whim, but a guest house atmosphere which meets your real wishes. The Podere farmhouse, the Stables and Villa are orientated to use all the resources of the local climate, mild in winter and cooled in summer by the sea breeze. Everywhere we have given priority to space and silence. Our wish has been to be generous with space. At Poggio ai Santi, you will only find suites of which even the simplest offer a degree of comfort that many grand hotels can no longer afford. When we are full, we have thirty guests. The suites are spread between the three houses, each with its own charm and its specific features. Most have terraces or direct access onto the garden. The privilege of silence is rare: we have decided to support it by accepting children only over 12 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Relais Poggio Ai Santi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Poggio Ai Santi Hotel San Vincenzo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Poggio Ai Santi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.