We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Daily made ice cream, bread & pastry” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riva degli Etruschi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riva degli Etruschi to your Saves list
Riva degli Etruschi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Principessa, 120, 57027 San Vincenzo, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in San Vincenzo
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Daily made ice cream, bread & pastry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We normally come here every year in September / October for a long family holiday. This year we did a short trip trough the Toscana and stayed for a week between June / July. For us it's the uncomplicated child friendly and non-snobby atmosphere we love.
We always eat ice cream in Riva and it seemed to be on new recepies, so we asked the personal. He told us they have a new pastry chef from Florence. So in the house bakery of Riva he makes ice cream, bread and cookies fresh every day! (All natural without conservants or chemicals.) New is also the Grill Bar Mistral Restaurant. What the family really liked is the free Wifi you get at the beach (so you can read the newspaper etc.) and at the reception also.
We also asked about the "blue flag 2014" they have on the beach: this is like a big trophy, means the beach and water is one of the cleanest in Italy.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riva11, Direttore at Riva degli Etruschi, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Google Translation
Gentile Erythrin, La ringraziamo di cuore per aver condiviso con tutti i viaggiatori di Tripadvisor i Suoi preziosi commenti. Restiamo a Sua completa disposizione, speranzosi di una nuova opportunità di averLa ns. gradita Ospite La Direzione
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    166
    68
    28
    11
See reviews for
211
53
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The location is good: close to Cecina, which is a large town with markets, restaurants and a hospital. Close to the picturesque hilltown of Massa Maritima. Not too far a drive from Florence. Villagio Riva degli Etruschi is a huge "vacation village," with, among other things, a big Burger King. There's a long, very nice sand beach, and many pine trees. That's the good part. There are supermarkets in Santo Stefano, just a few kilometers distant, so it's possible to self cater, although our kitchen was a joke. Many of the guests seem to opt for the meal plan. We were there in late April, and about 95% of the guests were German. TV channels in German, Reception staff is more comfortable with German than Italian, the little market stocks many different kinds of wieners and lots of (not interesting) beer, but virtually no wine. The water was too cold for swimming, though some hardy German tots were happily splashing around in it. Our two-bedroom unit was very close to the beach, which was nice, but the unit itself was a disappointment. Two uncomfortable single beds in each bedroom. A very poorly equipped excuse for a galley kitchen, with a very small fridge on life support (for google translator: this means it did not function), no oven, a tiny stove-top with small dysfunctional burners too close together; no microwave (which was okay with us),no toaster or toaster oven (which was not okay with us) no potholders!--and our repeated attempts to have a couple of potholders given to us yielded no results, so we gave up after 4 days and made do with towels. The unit was not particularly clean. The Reception staff were pleasant but inefficient and ineffectual, and clearly none of the housekeeping or maintenance folks paid them any attention. In defence of housekeeping staff, there are hundreds of units, and probably not enough staff.
Although the water was rough and too cold for swimming without a wet suit, the beach was very pleasant to walk along or relax on. I can imagine that swimming in summer would be a big attraction, but also that the beach will be completely covered with deck chairs and bodies.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My family spent a week in a bungalow which looked like it was built in the 70s or 80s and not renovated since. The bungalow smelt like it hadn't been used this season yet (July!), but after opening the windows the smell was gone after a few hours. Why this "Wellness Resort" decided to have a Burger King on its premises will remain a mystery to me. The beach and water are very nice for this region.

Room Tip: I strongly recommend renting only the most expensive bungalows close to the beach, the cheaper ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Came across this place purely by chance. In fact I was driving up the coast and needed a bathroom. So I ran down to see the coast and was happy with what I saw so booked in for two nights.

The bungalow was pretty basic on the outside, but once you were inside it was surprisingly practical and pretty clean.

There are many facilities at the Riva, on the other side of the road. I didn't use any of them, like the pool, gym, tennis courts. There is wifi available as well, for a price.

The beach was very clean, and not as crowded as the coast on the Adriatic side. Restaurants within walking distance, as is the town San Vincenzo, which also has bar, restaurants, shops etc.

I thought it was a very easy place to relax and a very convenient family resort.

I didn't eat lunch or dinner (not quite true as I had a great meal one evening at the associated Mariva next door), but was disappointed with the lack lustre breakfast options. I appreciate the continental breakfasts can be minimalist, and this proved to be the case at this resort.

But would still happily go back.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Good points:
- Beach was very close and great. Every room has its a set of reclining chairs and umbrella reserved. Beach is very clean and very big.
- Swimming pool: Although we went in October and the temperature was around 23 / 24 degrees the water was relatively warm.
- The beds: I have t say that for a 3 star place the beds were very clean and comfortable.
- The Gym: Very clean and lots of machines
- Kids Club: The stuff there was great and kids enjoyed going there.

To be improved:
- Reception: The stuff at the reception was not too communicative and helpful. All they do is give you the key and tell you where your bungalow is. They could give you more information about the place itself and what can be done near by. They told me that the nearest food market was 15 kilometers away even though in town there is a stored called COOP.
- Food: No much selection of what to eat around the area. Maybe in the middle of summer is better.
- They only come once a week to change the linens and to clean the place....they forgot to clean under the beds...it was very dusty.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a special place that either you fall in love with, or you don't like.
I fall in the first case, being one of the many loyal clients that come back every year since 2010.
I find this place unique, because it has all what I looking for in a resort on the sea: a beautiful beach which is not crowded (1 or 2 rows of umbrellas), houses are close to the beach (my villetta was about 15 meters from the beach, and I have booked it already for the next summer), entertainment for the kids, a club with all sport facilities ( in addition to the swimming pool, I appreciate very much the gym), the sailing centre, were I rent a canoa or a pedalo for 30 min every day, and sometimes a hobycat ( there are also sailing classes for my kids), and a lot more.
The whole village is fresh an quite, being in the middle of a natural park of pine threes.
Since I love very much good food and wine, I find this place perfect also from this point of view: there are 2 restaurants inside (I prefer the pizzeria "Le Querce" because of the good food at reasonable prices, as the kindness of the staff).
Also San Vincenzo is close to the "Bolgheri Rosso" wine area, were there are producers like "Sassiccaia" and "Ornellaia", with many opportunities for wine tastings, and nice restaurants (I have written reports of the ones I tried).
Finally I liked the kindness and availability of all The staff at The receptionist. Even if sometimes they don't look like The most organized, they always do their best to help. For example when my little daughter broke her glasses, they helped to fix it with some special tape.
Some advices to further improve are:
reduce the volume of the music for all shows after 10.00pm.
Sometimes this is bothering, especially The One coming from The bar at The sailing centre.
To conclude , I recommend this place especially to families looking for a place in the nature, who like sports, good food and wine.
I will be there next year too.


  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

The village is composed of 40 years old concrete bungalows mostly without A/C . . . extremely spartan to say the least. The personnel mostly speak Italian only and for our kids, who speak German, was not possible to get really involved in shows. If you are not Italian, even as an adult, if you do not speak the language you feel extremely cut out during the evening animation.
The beach is beautiful and so is the water. Food is good however the restaurant is quite expensive. At the reception if you really need something just a bit non standard no-one is able to organize a structured thought process for solving your problems. The rules at the pool are such that you think being in a concentration field. The life guard extremely impolite and . . . cannot speak anything else than Italian.
All in all we think the price was absolutely not justified by the quality of the accommodation and by the quality of service and animation. We would NOT recommend this resort to any friend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riva degli Etruschi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva degli Etruschi

Address: Via della Principessa, 120, 57027 San Vincenzo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > San Vincenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in San Vincenzo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Vincenzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riva degli Etruschi 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort has independent cottages of different sizes, some of them with bedroom and bathroom, others actually are apartments. Our guests can therefore choose among hotel rooms and apartments (villas or residence). For years we have been aiming at guaranteeing to our guests tranquility and privacy in their lodgings, inside of a unique natural surroundings, the Mediterranean Maquis, which we take care of and preserve every day, without forgoing the services typical for a resort Restaurants, pizzeria, fast food, bar, kids' club, sporting facilities, sports tournaments, aquatic games, evening entertainment; just to name a few ones to choose from! An original holiday that every year satisfies our regular guests and surprises the new visitors. The cristall-clear sea, the Tuscan territory and the hospitality and the professionalism of the Staff make Riva degli Etruschi the ideal place for an unforgettable vacation to spend with your children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Riva degli Etruschi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riva Degli Etruschi Hotel San Vincenzo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riva degli Etruschi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.