We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Des Anglais

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Des Anglais to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Des Anglais
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salita Grande Albergo, 8 | Corso Imperatrice 134, 18038 Sanremo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Sanremo
Timisoara, Romania
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“What a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed there in June 2013 at it was pretty good. Large hotel with parking lot and ...such a wonderful view.
Very well located, just a few minutes from the beach, with large rooms and spectacular view to the sea. Old styled hotel, clean rooms and kind staff.
Nice breakfast and great Italian espresso in a nice romantic restaurant.
Some issue with the lights very early in the morning when the lights kept turning on, but they fixed it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    97
    71
    34
    38
See reviews for
57
125
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlon, Belgium
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

for the price was okay but.... although is advertised with AC you have to requset it. they give you the run around till you get it .OLD and dirty
it leaves you a bitter taste after spending one week. THE hotel is DIRTY, compare to 2 or 3 stars in Austria or Germany I can not give this hotel more than 1 and a half 2 stars the most.
I will never , ever book again there. terrible experience.

Room Tip: Do not book here unless the will renovate entirely. Where is the pool for 4 stars as they claimed. K...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is on an incline so even though you are not bang smack on the road you have an unfettered view of the sea. The hotels and rooms are slightly old in style but large and spacious. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. They also have a large are to park cars which worked well for us as we drove down from Nice for just one nice. It's is also walking distance from the major shopping areas and the casino. Would definitely recommend staying here!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

This hotel has a “noir” charm. It seems never to have been renovated since inauguration, but things do not look “old” instead they feel “classic”.

Spacious and clean room, good breakfast and helpful staff. Excellent value.

Room Tip: I booked a quadruple room and got a two rooms + hall + bathroom instead of a single room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Unfortunately we only had time to stay one night at this lovely old hotel - at the price being offered, we should have booked for a month! The hotel is a graceful old lady - and yes, perhaps she has seen better days, but she still offers a really great experience - full of charm and reminiscent of how San Remo used to be in its hey-day.
Our room was on the 2nd floor and had a good view out over the town to the sea. The room was a good size, the bed comfortable and the bathroom, although a little on the small side, was perfectly adequate. The room and bathroom were immaculately clean.
Parking was important to us on this trip - and this hotel offers plenty of safe parking directly in front of the hotel - and we could see our car from the small balcony of our room.
Wifi was offered free of charge throughout the hotel which was excellent. Breakfast was also included but was fairly simple. The restaurant looked like it offered a good menu but we ate in town the only night we were there so could not comment.
The staff however were exceptional - professional yet vibrant and had a great sense of humour. Despite it being Winter and their low season, the hotel was very busy and had a great vibe to it. We would liked to have stayed longer....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The hotel is situated on the main road and has free parking at site. The building itself is monumental and from inside it is old world charm, very authentic and very beautiful. We enjoyed our short stay at this hotel, you can see the Azur waters of the Mediterranean Sea just from your bedroom window and it is only crossing over the road and you are on the beach.

The only disappointment was the daily buffet breakfast which was very basic and of very low quality otherwise you can enjoy the sun, sea and the sand!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Des Anglais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Des Anglais

Address: Salita Grande Albergo, 8 | Corso Imperatrice 134, 18038 Sanremo, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sanremo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sanremo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sanremo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Des Anglais 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at 50 meters from the beach, a few steps from the Casino and from the Theatre Ariston of Sanremo, the hotel for all guests free wifi connection and parking area.The buffet breakfast at Grand Hotel & Des Anglais includes salted and sweet meals while for those leaving earlier, coffee, juice and brioches are always ready at our American Bar.You can have dinner in the hotel in one of our elegant liberty-styled restaurant rooms with a selected daily menu tastefully proposed by our chef.The hotel is near the main bus stop, 2,5km from the train station of Sanremo and 45km from the airport of Nice. On request we can provide car transfer reservation for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Des Anglais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel San Remo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Des Anglais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.