We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Hidden Gem.First visited in July 2004.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Paradiso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Paradiso to your Saves list
Hotel Paradiso
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roccasterone 12, 18038 Sanremo, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Sanremo
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Little Hidden Gem.First visited in July 2004.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

On arriving in Sam Remo without a reservation,we walked the streets to get a feel of the hotels on offer.
We nearly checked into The Grand,even had a look at a room.Very grand as the name suggests & room was beautiful with high ceilings,but no balcony.
We found the Hotel Paradiso a 3* hotel up a side street(not even sure why we walked up there) Very friendly reception staff,had a real family run feel to it.
We were soon checked in & given the most amazing room(room 40)Now when I say amazing the room itself was quite old fashioned but the balcony & sea views made up for it.I think we had the best room in the house & the balcony certainly was the largest.You could lie in bed & gaze out to sea.
The hotel has a small pool which we didn't use as preferred to be on the beach.There is underground carparking at the hotel.Breakfast was pretty standard but you could sit outside overlooking the pool.
Location wise just up a side street across the road & promenade from the beach.A leisurely 15 min stroll into the very centre of town where you'll find a great selection of restaurants.
The beaches in San Remo are divided up between bars & restaurants,so you have to pay to use their part of the beach.We opted for one just across the road from the hotel,back then was £20 for 2 sunbeds & umbrella for the day,but was well worth it.
We have been back to this hotel in more recent years & was just as lovely but didn't manage to get room 40 unfortunately.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    52
    19
    8
    2
See reviews for
30
51
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Tucked away in a quiet lane behind a park, Hotel Paradiso is a pleasant mini-resort like hotel. Our room was spacious enough, with a small balcony overlooking the pool, and beyond, the sea. Breakfast was included in our tab, and it was most generous compared to other hotels at which we stayed. We didn't have dinner at the hotel, though, as the restaurant looked a little "daggy" as we Australians say!
The hotel is a good 10 minute walk to the main shopping strip, so we left our car in the hotel's garage for the duration of our stay.
San Remo was the first leg of our NW Italian holiday; we didn't stay there for its beaches, but I must say we were pleasantly surprised by the history and sophistication of the town.

Room Tip: Leave your room key with the front desk during the day. Otherwise it will weigh you down!! We had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulon, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011 via mobile

Let me start by saying that this hotel was a welcome reprive for my family and me after 1 week of traveling throughout Italy staying only at B&B's. The staff was incredible and generous and helpful. This is a grand old hotel that has retained her charm. Very classy. The room decor was a bit dated but very very well maintained and we loved it. We had an enormous room overlooking the pool with a lovely deck and a minibar! A rare treat in Europe. The hotel is set back from the main street so it's quiet and has a nice resort feel. We booked last minute so the rate was incredible. They were having issues with the hot water when we arrived so we were offered an upgraded room. The water was working the next morning so no harm done. The breakfast was the best we'd had in a hotel and we are frequent travelers. The pizzeria restaurant next door, while quaint, turned out to be our best meal in our 10 days of travel. Not only did the owner bring out a box of toys for our toddler to play with, she offered us a made to order dinner. Delightful! Can't wait to go back. Great stay. I'd recommend for romantic getaway and families with kids (a pool and nearly play center are a bonus!)

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyle, Ireland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We booked this hotel many months in advance of our weeks stay in San Remo, we asked for a room whcic had been well reviewed and had been modernised, we did not receive it. On arrival we were shown to a large room on the front of the hotel, we booked a superior room. The room was such a disappointment, the room was spacious and had a great balcony, but the furniture was scratched and worn and the bathroom though large was very dated, and had not been updated since the seventies or earlier. Most of the rooms on the floor we were on were refurbished with beautiful bathrooms and tiled floors, whicls ours was carpeted, worn and dark. We had booked half board at 160 euros per night we thought we would get amazing food, but sadly our first meal at the hotel that evening was very mass produced hotel buffet food with roast beef and only one traditional dish on the buffet. It was also prsided over by two surley waiters, and the queing for food was not my idea of a relaxing way to eat. We changed to bed and breakfast the next day. the buffet breakfast was nice and with lots of choice, but the waiting staff were so grumpy.
Our room was loacated at the front left of the hotel on the corner of the building. There is a road which is small but busy, a restaurant was located just under our bathroom window, and became very noisy at night. we had a noisy saturday night, come Monday there were some workmen using electric hedge trimmers all Day long, and as they were working just at the back of the swimming pool it was not inviting. The noise persisted for the whold week of our stay, and ruined any chance of a little siesta in the afternoon heat, or a quiet swim in the pool before dinner. The beach which was free, unless you wanted to lie on a beach lounger as opposed to sit in a deck chair, was really nice, and only a short walk from the hotel. It was very clean and also the toliets facilities and changing rooms.
In summary: given the cost of this hotel in late september, B&B at 120 euros per night, the very unitalian food, the dated room, the dodgy toilet seat which moved when you sat on it, the horriible shower over the bath with mould on the ceiling, the hotels surly dining and breakfast staff, the noise, I have to say we found this hotel bad value for money. the clientel are mostly russian and German, and the food and ambiance reflects this "package tour" preferance. the reception staff were friendly mostly, the housekeeping staff were great, and the room was alwas very clean. We enjoyed our holidays despite the hotels shortcomings. But we would not ever stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011 via mobile

Prioritize first...
First of all, if you're looking for a relaxing beach holiday San Remo on the whole is hardly an option. Not hotel's fault though, with a little bit of an effort your beach experience there could be improved. No such effort made or attempted. San Remo is a more lucky choice if you're traveling from Milan (excursions or shopping, whatever) or intend to make a decent Cote d'Azur tour (Nice is just 50 km away, Monte Carlo 30 km). San Remo is really crowded during summer month ( its hotels offer about 2200 bedrooms, make your calcs), so if you find some breathing space on the beach, consider yourself lucky. Yet it is not all doom and gloom. The hotel is just a 10-15 minute walk from the beach - Euronettuno. Almost every "beach spot" in San Remo is assigned to one hotel or another, so you'll need a hotel voucher to get the access. Once you've got the lucky card, remember you're place has already been assigned to you. So when you arrive at the beach and are lead to your place the eternal rule comes into action: it's not important where, but with whom. I so wish we could choose our neighbors! The parasols are so close to each other, so if at some point you'll find a stranger's hand resting o some part of your body do not get over excited, it's a normal thing if you trying to squeeze 200 where 50 would make a crowd. The hotel does not provide beach towels and you are given one umbrella and two break-your-back chairs for the room - you can get a sun bed for 3.50€ per day.The sea though is a real gem. Calm, warm, very salty, so you don't even have to swim to stay afloat. It's not crowded in the sea, so it's a perfect place to escape the "beach party". Oh by the way, a walk to the beach is Down from the hotel, so a walk back is kinda UP. You'll enjoy it, I'm telling you.
Ok about the hotel. Rooms are small, though provide you with most of the things you need: two beds (narrow), a tv, a minibar, wardrobes (big surprise, small), some drawers, a safe, a bathroom - the first floor has shower cabins, that are SO tiny , I kept making my own bath time drum music while banging my elbows on walls, door, floor... And don't you dare bend, or just stay bent , whatever... My fav story yet is the balcony door. There are two of them actually, and if the firs one is ok though a tad difficult to close, the second is a surprise Chinese torture.  It has those cool green Italian shutters and every time the chamber maid cleans the room she leaves them open, or half open, that is to say perched on a special evil looking stick. So you grab the handle, pool the door, and... BANG. READ: you should'v appreciated your fingers more while you still had them.
The breakfast is fine, though the only hot food you will find is cereal. The usual ham and cheese, yogurt, some fruits, milk coffee, juice, decent,yet not fresh. Could be better but fine. And PLEASE remember, do not buy dinner. The Italian cuisine is so rich and tasty so don't waste your money on the 'please bring me my food' game with the charming waiters. The announced 4 options  choice is in fact 2 for the first course and 2 for the second (oh and a dessert if you're lucky). And the menu is basically so composed that 1 for the first and.. You got the idea. If you decided to take the challenge anyway try to come at 7 30 sharp or at least not later then  8 pm , otherwise you'll be told that most of the normal food has finished and offered a plate of our best lettuce instead. On the plus side drinks are cheap and if you stay persuasive you'll get it all and rather fast. You won't die of starvation, stay assured, there,s a big Italian style supermarket, a 10 minute walk away ( once you've descended from your tower, turn right and continue along the road until you see it to your left across the road), where you can find fresh fruits, tasty mozzarella, prosciutto, drinks and stuff. Plus there are lots of beach cafes, and trattorias in town.
Unlike the restaurant personnel, the reception stuff are not trying to bite your head off and are rather nice and helpful. They'll print out the train schedule for you, draw a map, indicate the town's bookshop , arrange a transfer for you (San Remo' railway station is a story of it's own). There are no evening activities at the hotel so opt for an entertain-yourself shopping trip along the town's main pedestrian street. Most of the shops open for a late night shift, generally from 9 to 12 pm. There's also a casino, a theater and a cinema. But if you're not into gambling and do not speak Italian, you'll have to keep to the the safe ground, and to shop with all possible commitment, my friend. The stores are fine , some European chain brands, some Italian low key charmers, e.g. Kiko make up store -abundant and cheap, though for a real shopping Nice is a great choice indeed (and not only for shopping, it's a very beautiful and pleasant place).
To sum up, San Remo gives you a whole lot of impressions ( too many to squeeze into a tiny review) so if you can team it up with other places to visit, do not hesitate. If you do not find anything more appealing than Paradiso, go there, don't worry it's fine, just your narrator is a lil emotional that's all (plus my fingers are still hurting).
I loved Italy with it's unique charm and I sincerely hope you will too.
If you want to read more about my travel experiences just leave your comments, I'll be happy to share. 
Travel safe! Good luck!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Overall Comments: Very friendly family run hotel close to the town centre and the beach. Fairly basic, but has all that you need.

Room: Pretty basic, but a reasonable size. If you can, try to get a room at the front of the hotel with a balcony and sea view.

Location: Great location, very close to the beach and a 5 minute walk to the Casino and town centre.

Facilities: Fairly limited, but has a swimming pool and a small bar.

Food: Only ate breakfast which was fairly standard and okay.

Service: Very friendly family run hotel.

Parking: Secure underground parking, but it is very tight and people will open their doors into your car…they did mine!

Room Tip: Ask for room in front of hotel with balcony facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We enjoyed out stay at this hotel. We had a nice big triple room with a balcony overlooking the pool and the Med. The staff were very friendly. The room had all amenities and was very clean but was a little dated - the hotel owners just need to make sure that they keep on top the schedule of maintenance and update - we did notice that some of the other rooms have had updates done to them so this seems to be happening.
The pool was very good; very clean, a good size with good loungers and a helpful lifeguard. The hotel restaurant was also good, with daily lunch and dinner specials. The hotel itself is within easy walking distance of the centre of Sanremo.

My only criticism is that it was sometimes it was quite difficult to get a drink from the bar as they appeared to be a little shortstaffed during the afternoon - but this really is a minor point.

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradiso

Address: Via Roccasterone 12, 18038 Sanremo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sanremo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sanremo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sanremo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradiso Hotel San Remo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Paradiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.