We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Sanremo.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Hotel Sanremo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Hotel Sanremo to your Saves list
Royal Hotel Sanremo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Imperatrice, 80, 18038 Sanremo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Sanremo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kiev, Ukraine
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Best in Sanremo.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Sanremo - a beautiful city with its own history and an abundance of greenery, promenade with cycling rout, beaches and Casino.
We stayed at this hotel after staying on the Cote D'Azur. .
The large property is located on a hill above the beach, in a beautiful old building with a history of 140 years .
Large green park with a romantic gazebo, swimming pool with sea water, some great restaurants (by the pool and in the building with a beautiful view of the park and the basin, as well as with a wonderful terrace).
The hotel rooms are very different, but in the classical style (each year in winter time when the hotel closes for a partial renovation they do the rest of rooms). Since it's historic building numbers also differ from each other in the line-up, shape and design (light beige, striped, green stripes in a nautical theme).
Very good French cosmetics, increased capacity. Set creams. For girls it is important. Mine was very happy.)
Most of the rooms have balconies with magnificent views.
There are rooms with large terraces not only suites, but also superior (above the restaurant.)
The hotel has its own section on the beach of Lido Fontana. In order to get into the beach you have to take the voucher at the reception desk. Deck chairs, umbrella and beach towels are provided free of charge for the guests of Royale.
If you like the pool more, do not worry, a lot of space enough for everyone also the terrace by the pool has beautiful view.
The poolside restaurant can take inexpensive menu or buffet (salad bar and snacks all of about 27 euros)

Breakfast is standard for LHW, but omelets for an additional fee.

I would like also to praise the SPA. Great though it's not very large.
Payot cosmetics. Colour & mint shower, relaxation room, 2 saunas - dry and steam (hamam) bath, a large jacuzzi, as well as pleasant things in the form of a mini buffet with a selection of fruits, juices and teas. Very cute. Also bags of the towels and slippers. Very relaxing!

I would also like to say about the staff. Very pleasant, helpful, courteous and caring!

I recommend Royal as the best in Sanremo!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    106
    37
    14
    14
See reviews for
105
200
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

The hotel advertises nice rooms, the one I was in was dated! The sofa looked from decades ago! The pool is big and could be lovely, but it's got tiles coming off here and there. There were also rocks at the bottom, I think to make it feel like the sea, but I kept on banging my toes on the. Now for the good. The staff are very helpful and speak really good English. It has a lovely spa again with very kind and helpful staff. Finally the breakfast is lovely! The food is amazing and the sea view tops it off.
Overall I enjoyed my stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Major let down. Old pool. the pool area is filthy. Worn out hotel. Not up to mark and out dated to say the least. doesnt look like the pictures at all. and its overpriced. not good at all. ruined holiday. very very old and everything is too expensive. been to way better four star hotels. this one is just over rated. a waste of our hard earned money and the arrogance of staff is nothing to be put up with. we had a horrible time there. it was awful. nothing like the pictures at all.

Room Tip: pool area is filthy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Royal Hotel San Remo. Initially we were very disappointed with our room and felt the hotel was very tired and in need of refurbishment. We infact attempted to change hotels as it was not up to our expectations. However due to having a pre paid rate with Booking.com we couldnt get authority to leave on our first night. The next morning we made a decision to stay and we were glad we did; the breakfast was delicious, sitting outside with a fantastic view was a highlight each morning. the pool although in great need of refit was warm, large and fun. the modern spa was a delight to relax and Stefano was always cheerful, professional and helpful on the 3 occasions we visited. the lunch in Corallina was also very pleasant. Bruuo Antonella the reception manager was aware of our disappointment on arrival and attempted to assist us in our decision in staying or leaving. The hotel should offer free WIFI. We left this morning sad to leave and hoping to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room with a seaview. Use the excellent spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

A beautiful hotel in a perfect location, close to the town and its many amenities. we were a party of 6, 4 of whom are in their 20's.
The hotel has great charm with good rooms and delightful service. I t features ,amongst other things, a tennis court, jacuzzi , steam room, a spa, and a very good pool.
WIfi is free in the lobby and lounge. Staff are charming and helpful. It is pricey.
The nearby town has just about everything,casino to open market, and truly amazing restaurants-speciality seafood.
It is hotel frequented by all ages, and is quite unique.Our group was unanimous in our desire to return in future.

Room Tip: get a sea view, it is quite beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Have not been to the Royal for decades but decided to revisit for a brief break. It has not changed ....which is good and less good. Tiny rooms, poor technology (wifi awful), a tired structure and large empty public rooms serving few and senior guests were contrasted with excellent attentive service, a modern spa and superb cuisine. The pool area needs a complete refurb - and has not changed in 50 years .....which adds to its charm, and whiilst the renovated rooms are well appointed - what is gained in quality is lost in quantity (many are very very small) !
It won't be another 25 years before we return ... But we do hope that we see some physical improvements whilst not losimg any of the old style charm of the Royal.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

there is no entertainment at the hotel. the average age at the hotel is 70. all the guests are very old and there isnt much to do. it looks much better in the pictures. the phone in our room did not work and we complained about this but nothing was done. even after we left we emailed about this but got no reply. we could not even call reception or concierge from the hotel phone. plus theres no free wifi in the tiny rooms. its over priced and they charge for everything. not worth it and very bad customer service especially ignoring our emails after we left. very disappointing breakfast

Room Tip: the rooms are tiny and theres no free wifi. total rip off
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Hotel Sanremo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Sanremo

Address: Corso Imperatrice, 80, 18038 Sanremo, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sanremo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sanremo
#1 Casino Hotel in Sanremo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sanremo
#2 Family Hotel in Sanremo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sanremo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sanremo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Hotel Sanremo 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Hotel Sanremo is an exclusive property rich in history and tradition, just the ideal choice for guests seeking intimacy, relaxation and luxury. Uniquely located on the charming Italian Riviera of Flowers, it is set in its lush subtropical park, close to the seaside and to the centre of town with its Casino and shopping area.The hotel boasts 126 beautifully and individually decorated rooms and suites, spacious public areas and a heated outdoor sea-water swimming-pool with children's section. Dining options include Restaurant Fiori di Murano with beautiful views, Salad Bar delle Rose for a light lunch, Pool Restaurant and Bar Corallina, with pizzeria and grill in the summer, as well as gourmet Restaurant Il Giardino on the terrace for alfresco candlelit dining in the intimacy of the park. All these restaurants serve top-rated cuisine with a choice of exquisite regional, Mediterranean and international dishes.The Royal Wellness features signature treatments and a "no prescription" wet zone with hydromassage pool, emotional showers, hammam, Vitarium, relaxation area, herbal tea and juice corner. A most welcoming, luxurious and stylish oasis, just perfect to indulge mind and body, to pamper yourself in a refined and cosy atmosphere/ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Escapio, Splendia, getaroom.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Royal Hotel Sanremo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal San Remo
San Remo Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel San Remo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Hotel Sanremo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.