We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax, enjoy the show ....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TAVERNA AL 29

TAVERNA AL 29
Piazza Cassini, 5, 18038 Sanremo, Italy
+39 0184 570034
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 229 restaurants in Sanremo
Price range: $34 - $48
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Remscheid, Germany
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Relax, enjoy the show ....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This was not superb Food, but maybe the most motivated owner of a Restaurant we have ever met. You can certainly call him MIster Charme. A nice and cosy place, good but not excellent food is already ok. But the way he will give every guest the feeling of being a personal friend
is something. He even goes to the "sacrifice" of toasting with everey guest every drink. Do not miss it when in San Remo.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    193
    73
    13
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Local, Unique, Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have had the experience in Italy of tiring of restaurants that offer virtually the same menu choices, regional cooking styles aside. This restaurant is completely unique in its menu choices, all of which are micro-local. The wines are local and are offered with pride. As Natale told us, we are continuing the everyday recipes of our poor ancestors that today even very few nonni make. And of course, the best part was when Natale cam to our table and offered us as ugh of his home made cherry grappa and limoncello as we wanted.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing, fun, relaxed dining. Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My wife Mary wanted to go to this restaurant based purely on the advice and reviews of other TA posters - thanks to each and every one of you! The food here is excellent, make no mistake about that - they specialise in local dishes that are no longer widely available. However it is the theatre and joy of the owners and staff which set this apart for me. On arrival we had a relaxed conversation about what the evening would entail, and kicked off with prosecco with fresh basil! This set the tone for the evening - delicious food that was explained to us in a fun and informative way. We had a bottle of local wine - unusually I couldn't tell you what it was - but owner also offered us his own limoncello and another fortified wine which was terrific (he drank along with us, and they were free!) The bill was ridiculously small for such an evening, I would rate it as one of the most memorable dining experiences ever - the food was great but the whole package was unforgettable.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelyabinsk, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing experience!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were greeted by the owner of this little charming Taverna and he made the whole experience there unforgettable. The people there don't simply take your order - they have a conversation with you about the local specialties and their wonderful wines. As soon as we sat down, we were offered lovely homemade bruschetta and an aperitif on the house. The food was delicious, good portions and the price was reasonable. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helsinki
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Small, cosy restaurant with a kinda like hidden location.You need to ring the doorbell to get in, like you were coming to someone´s home. Enourmously friendly staff, well prepared, unbelievably great tasting food, if you ever visit San Remo, book a table at Taverna Al 29. The in between drinks offered by the staff were also a nice little + for the visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TAVERNA AL 29 also viewed

Sanremo, Italian Riviera
Sanremo, Italian Riviera
 
Sanremo, Italian Riviera
Sanremo, Italian Riviera
 

Been to TAVERNA AL 29? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TAVERNA AL 29, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.