We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Alexander San Remo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Alexander to your Saves list
Alexander
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Garibaldi 123, 18038 Sanremo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Sanremo
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Hotel Alexander San Remo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Just a quick thank you to you and all the staff at the hotel Alexander. It was a wonderful hotel and we will certainly recomend it to our friends. The breakfast bar was excellent. The rooms were a generous size and the free bikes made the holiday that extra bit special.
The location was excellent. Only a few minutes to the railway station, a couple of minutes to the beach and right in the middle of the town centre.

Hopefully we may be back again later in the year or early next year.

Finally a special thank you for the chocolates that you gave us on our departure. That was the first time a hotel has ever given us a gift, and it was appreciated.

Room Tip: Our room faced the front garden and we were more than happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    44
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
34
48
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I did not have a good stay here and the price is relatively higher than other good hotels in San Remo.

Beware.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

While taking on a month long Italian language course at Omnilingua in San Remo, I booked a room on line at the Hotel Alexander. The staff were exceptional, the ambience was charming, and the accommodations were perfect! They were very accomodating in making sure I was comfortable in their beuatiful city, especially since the Music Festival was going on. I would recommend this hotel to any and all of my friends!

Room Tip: Ask for a double bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Extremely helpful staff, clean rooms, breakfast in the garden. Best for the value (it wasn't expensive at all, even in August). Strongly recommend

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Absolutely loved it! Located in an old mansion surrounded by a small garden. I believe the rooms have been recently renovated; everything looked new and clean. Extremely nice and helpful owners/managers. Perfect location: about 20 min walk from the station; 5 min walk to the nearest beach, 5-7 min to the main shopping street; nearest supermarket - just across the road, on the street towards the sea; adorable surroundings.
One note – I asked for the room facing the garden (which I was provided) and that was a mistake. The point is that they serve breakfast in the garden and it starts about 7, so I guess at about 6:30 they start preparing the tables etc and nothing can save you from the noise; talking etc; even closed windows and blinds.
Apart from that – only positive impressions; price/quality – ideal; highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

I booked this hotel for one night as part of a 3 week journey through Italy and France which will take place in May 2010. I received a confirmation notice but decided a few weeks later to contact the hotel to check if I needed to reserve a parking space. I received a reply by return stating that the hotel would be unable to honour the booking. The hotel had made no attempt to contact me before this to pass on the information. I believe that had I not enquired I would have turned up after a long drive to find no room available.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander

Address: Corso Garibaldi 123, 18038 Sanremo, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sanremo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Sanremo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander 3*
Number of rooms: 323
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.