We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, in the middle of the woods. Beautiful spa. 6 courses every dinner, and that says everything!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gran Ancei

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Cassiano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Gran Ancei
Save
You added Hotel Gran Ancei to your Saves list
Via Pre De Costa, 10, 39030 San Cassiano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in San Cassiano
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location, in the middle of the woods. Beautiful spa. 6 courses every dinner, and that says everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

I've been coming here at "Gran Ancei" since 1998 and I've always had a great time. The new "superior" rooms are modern and huge, the spa has a unique view on the mountains and the fields, which are even more beautiful when you observe them while laying in a long chair, sipping a local herb infuse. Dinner time is what I always wait for when I am over here. 6, delicious courses every night are what you need to restore after a hard day of skiing. The location, in the middle of the woods, is what makes this hotel almost perfect. From here you can get to the slopes directly with your skis on. The fact that it's family run ever since gives it a touch of

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    25
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

I recently joined my fiance and his family for a week at the resort they have been going to for 28 years -- I had high expectations, given all the rave reviews from the family, and they were all met wonderfully. This hotel is in an absolutely incredible location - view out our window looked straight to the back mountains, snow, bliss. The rooms are perfect - cleaning staff comes every day promptly at 10am to clean. We didn't watch t.v. much while we were there, but they do have a flat screen and it gets satellite (so BBC, CNN) if you want to keep up with the news. The food is amazing - six courses every night. Breakfast also wonderful. The spa is divine - they have a steam room, sauna, two whirlpools and a small swimming pool. Only slight annoyance was kids being pretty loud playing in the pool when others are trying to lounge and read, but they are just kids being kids, so can't complain about that too much :) Try to go a bit later in the evening - right before dinner the spa is top time. I hurt my knee the first day and one of the owner's daughters lent me her crutches for the week. Service top notch. Also, they have a ski store room that is convenient right off the parking lot, so you don't need to carry things too far. Will come again!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back and the mountains - otherwise, you will look over the parking lot (wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

This hotel is hidden amog the trees just outside san cassiano near the very famous hotel armentarola. The hotel is not on the main road so all the rooms are silent but some have better views than others. The rooms are just the right size (ours was around the 20sqm) and we had a little balcony as well. You can come back from the slopes direclty with your skiis without walking. The sauna and steamroom are good (mixed and naked), breakfast is ok and you have all necessary things for a full ski day (we have eaten always out for dinner as the restos in the area are amazing). It's fair to say that this is a no frills hotel with all you need but no fancy stuff or on-demand/bespoke service. The position is near to perfect. The hotel is very well priced for the services it offers in my opinion.

Room Tip: they substract the price of dinner for your room price but you need to tell them in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Gran Ancei. Situated away from the main road, unlike many hotels here, it was the perfect spot to start walks from. The hotel itself has an olde worldy feel to it but our room (in the new wing I think) was beautiful; very spacious, modern, comfortable and with great views from the balcony. The indoor pool downstairs was great fun too. My only slight criticism would be that they didn't seem to be very prepared for guests with gluten intolerance (despite us obviously having previously asked). The easiest thing to do every day would have been for the chef to mark on the menu what was gluten free (or what could be made gluten free) and what wasn't instead of us having to ask every day about every single dish. Just a very slight blemish on an otherwise pleasant stay. I understand totally that it can be difficult to appreciate others' slight difficulties. On the plus side, the food was lovely.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

I had never stayed in the Dolomites or in a hotel like this before, but both were great experiences. The hotel room was spacious, with a balcony overlooking the mountains, nicely furnished, and airy - the only problem with the room was the pillows were very hard. Breakfast was a wide selection of cold foods, cereals, yoghurts, fruits as well as a good choice of hams and cheeses - an excellent way to start the day. The menu for dinner was fixed, and although I found all the food wonderful, a choice for each course would have been nice. The wellness area was good, with a nice pool, whirlpools and a sauna and steam room. The bar area had a nice relaxing atmosphere and the adjoining patio was a good place to unwind in the sun after a long day's walk.

I would recommend Gran Ancei, as the rooms were of a good quality, the food was a high standard, the staff were all very friendly and the location was good for walking in the mountains (if you have a car).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la spezia, italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

We have been coming to San Cassiano for over 10 years and have stayed at Rosa Alpina, Armentarola, Ciasa Alexander and Hotel Fanes (Hotel Fanes is our favorite for its delicious food, incredible wellness and great service). This year, we accompanied friends on their annual ski trip vacation to Gran Ancei and WOW what a discovery! Great location and the best quality for the price of anywhere we've stayed.

We love San Cassiano and the location of Hotel Gran Ancei is truly in the most beautiful, natural location: close to the Armentarola ski lift and you can hike, snow shoe or sled directly out the door. The wellness area is excellent (not quite as stunning or extensive as Fanes but Gran Ancei costs half the price): terrific pool, beautiful grotto/pirates' cove of whirlpool tubs, sauna, steam room, water beds, etc. Although it is small, we never felt crowded or had any sort of wait. Food was varied and good. Service sometimes a bit slow but courteous (responding to all of our requests for the children, aged 2-9). Rooms pleasant and clean.

Overall, we loved this hotel. Great quality for the price in a superb location.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gran Ancei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Ancei

Address: Via Pre De Costa, 10, 39030 San Cassiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > South Tyrol Province > San Cassiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in San Cassiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful hotel. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gran Ancei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.