We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Armentarola

Armentarola
Pre de Vi, 12, 39030 San Cassiano, Italy
+39 0471 849522
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 23 Restaurants in San Cassiano
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $13 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: As you gaze at the spectacular panorama of the Dolomites from Armentarola, the finest culinary creation will be served to you, to guarantee the height of pleasure. Our chef de cuisine, Norbert Egger celebrates local, regional and international top-class cuisine, which will delight you with its organic ingredients from the farms from our neighboring area, with the fresh herbs from our own garden and most especially by its authentic flavor.
UK
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Unbelievably good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We dropped in off the piste for a real feast. Our ski guide had been building us up for the meal all week and the restaurant did not disappoint. There were twelve hungry skiers in the group and five of us decided to tackle the meat platter (Recommended for four people) Despite the attentions of five hungry adults (five big men and one lady) not to mention the assistance of pretty well everyone else round the table, we did not manage to finish it (Unlike the ten adolescents at the next table who polished off two!). There were examples of pretty well e very kind of meat, with schnitzels, lamb chops, pork steaks, sausages, frankfurters, spatchcock chicken, chicken cordon bleu and some spectacular beef steaks. THere may well have been other more obscure meats, it being Italy, but everything was cooked to perfection and served on a bed of frites with a huge selection of well cooked vegetables around the outside, including carrots, beans, mushrooms, cauliflower,broccoli, sweetcorn, asparagus and fennel. THe food was not a Harvester type plate but a truly well put together work of art. At €120 it was amazing value too. The wine list was extensive, good and not exorbitant. The hotel itself is beautiful and charming, with that oh so rare feature for a mountain restaurant, toilets so chic they were a pleasure to use. I can't wait to book in to stay in the hotel itself. I am told that if you go on a really sunny day the outdoor seating is about as good as it gets with amazing views of the mountains from a great expanse of sun trapped terrace. Spectacular

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    44
    5
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Simply fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Their famous piatto armentarola is one of the best things invented by man! Very big, with lots of meat and vegetables, not to be missed!! Good frittelle di mele and gnocco di salisburgo as dessert. Go visit, you will be not disappointed!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“The best place in the magnificant region.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is located in the most wonderfull part of the Alta Badia valley. The panorama on the great mountains from behind the window or when seated on the elegant terrace outside is wonderful. It is a significant added value to the total experience of enjoying lunch or dinner at Armentarola. The restaurant offers a great variety of local and Italian dishes. All at a high quality level. The dishes look beautiful and are tasty and obviously prepared by a skilled staff. Special recommendation: take the Beef Tartare!! It is prepared at your table and you will love it. Approximately 20 ingredients among which a fine Cognac make this dish as perfect as can be. The winelist offers magnificant wines from all over the world. The prices of dishes and wines are fair. Lunch or dinner at Armentarola is a real treat.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Really great food, a bit on the expensive side but worth it. My husband and I had beef dishes and you don't really need more than a main as it is a huge portion. The food was so delicious that even remembering now make my mouth watery.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I went back on holidays with my family to the beautiful Italian Dolomites, in the Badia Valley and one evening we decided to go for dinner to the Restaurant of the Hotel Armentarola.
We had been there 20 years ago - just married - and my wife always told me that she wanted to be back to enjoy their speciality, the Fondue Bourguignonne.
The atmosphere was of a high standard, our table was perfectly set in a private room that allowed us 5 to fully enjoy our Fondue and the waiters were kind, professional and efficent in taking all what we needed.
The final bill was very reasonable considering the level of the food and the service provided.
I truly reccomend it......and hope to go there again before another 20 years.....

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Armentarola also viewed

San Cassiano, South Tyrol Province
San Cassiano, South Tyrol Province
 
San Cassiano, South Tyrol Province
San Cassiano, South Tyrol Province
 

Been to Armentarola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Armentarola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.