We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skiing frpm the Savoia Debili” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Savoia Debili

Hotel Savoia Debili
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Savoia Debili to your Saves list
Hotel Savoia Debili
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Clotes 20, 10050 Sauze d'Oulx, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Sauze d'Oulx
Newborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Skiing frpm the Savoia Debili”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This a slightly tired hotel but the the rooms are clean and warm with plenty of hot water. We have stayed at three tour operator hotels in Sauze within the last year of which this definitely had the best food such that we did not feel we had to eat out some nights.
The staff were friendly and helpful. The owner of the hotel as mentioned in other reviews was not so much grumpy but short on chit chat whilst still being helpful and definitely not a good reason to write this hotel off.
It is a short but uphill walk to a set of steps to get to the ski lift taking about five minutes at a slow pace to carry skis. To get back to the hotel you ski into a small cul de sac piste on the right (as you look downhill) of the final piste that takes you to the bus stop from which you simply cross the road to the hotel after easily squeezing past the end post of the fence (some very large people in our group had no problem)
The ski and boot room was heated and coped with the near full hotel.
The town centre is downhill from the hotel.
The lounge area is pleasant and we spent three evenings playing cards in the area.

Room Tip: The first 2 floors of accommodation (levels 2 & 3) are serviced by a lift whilst the third floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    22
    21
    12
    4
See reviews for
16
16
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
southport
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This hotel was in the perfect location for us we wanted easy access to bars and slops. The food was good and varied, clean rooms, great staff, good size boot room. The spa is ( e20 ) guests said it was lovely but didn't have time to use it snow to good! Never run short of hot water.
(Handy Hint 20 Euros to store skis and boots up on the slops)

Room Tip: we stayed in room 137 and it was great will request it next time ( you will hear noise at night but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

3rd visit to Sauze, 3rd Hotel (Stella Alpina seemingly didnt want us back, despite us all having a good time and getting on great with the staff).. Hey ho..

Ok, Savoia Debili. Read the previous remarks about Fawlty Towers on Ice with Basil at the helm, which we found to be mostly correct. We actually named him Rigsby (if youre under 40 you wont know what that means).. However, that nickname appeared more apt. I guess we would have been more annoyed by his general manner if we werent pre-armed thanks to the comments we had pre-read on tripadvisor. If it were a glass half full moment I guess you could defend him by saying that perhaps he is just a little shy maybe but yes, if you were expecting some sort of greeting with a smile you would be very disappointed. Grabs all your passports the moment you arrive and keeps them in an unlocked drawer for the week. Joe the English guy that works there reflected his thoughts about his boss with a one word syllable which isnt repeatable on here. Made us laugh though. Didn't see the Neillson Rep all week, which probably speaks volumes.

The only way to describe the hotel is "such a shame". Its probably in one of the best locations in Sauze, right at the bottom of the slopes. Fantastic footprint of a hotel which also has this excellent and somewhat large communal area - unfortunately it couldn't be any worse or less inviting a communal area if they tried. They could start by sprinkling the whole place with a little atmosphere. Everything is just so tired. Rigsby charges 3Eu for a game of pool, so no-one plays (1Eu and you'd have a waiting list), 2Eu for a table tennis ball (ok, re-useable) and the communal room is soul-less with no music.. On the one occasion I waited for the rest of my party he made me a coffee and it was really really nice. Shame then that I bailed as soon as id drunk it.

10Eu for wireless internet, which only works if you're within 10 feet of reception, which is on and off, connection drops you every few minutes, Rigsby turns it off completely at 10pm and it's also desperately slow. Rigsby also insists on entering the wireless password on your device so as to stop you sharing the code, but having geeks in our party soon meant that this plan failed. (Via-Clotes-20) <-- in case it never changes which, if like the rest of the hotel, is an extremely likely scenario..

Rooms are tiny, one power socket in our entire room, so we ended up with one of those adapter on adapter power block monstrosities. Shower is small but nice and powerful and the lift only goes to the 2nd floor. Go figure... Any noise in the hotel also feels like its happening in your room. And Id like to say "Cheers" at this point to the guys who bought a loud haler from the lookie lookie man and used it to let us know theyd got home safe and sound most nights ahem mornings at 3.30am.

Breakfast is a bit of a joke, no hot food ever (which i guess is normal in Italy), but not even bread or a toast machine, or an occasional egg, so you're stuck with bread rolls, cheese and muesli. However, Max's cafe directly opposite the hotel solves this problem - but surely it shouldnt have to resort to this. I didnt much like the evening meals myself but I would say at least half our party of 20 or so odd people did, so it would be unfair of me to say the meals were bad. Certainly 4 courses every night was plentiful. The most surprising part of the catering was perhaps them serving breakfast on our departure day at 5am - certainly didnt expect that and coffee at that ungodforsaken time was extremely welcome.

All in all, Id say ive stayed in worse but if i could sum it up in one sentence I would say that it would be one of those hotels you would only stick out for 7 days if you were on a package holiday. If you booked directly, you'd probably check out after 1 night, or not check in at all. Wont be going back anytime soon, unless Rigsby lets me take over the management in say October (or infact anyone with half an idea on providing a warm and friendly environment for guests) and lets me smarten up the whole place - which would start with banning him from the building.

Room Tip: Only a few rooms have balconies. 3rd floor has no lift. You cannot select a room yourself and Rigsby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed here from 4th to 10th Feb 2013. For the money was good value, we paid £550 for a package with Crystal, the hotel probably got about £50 a night of that- which for a room, breakfast and 4 course meal (in a ski resort) is a bargain. Had seen some mixed reviews and thought I would give my own feedback to give some balance. The best thing about the hotel was the food, a salad buffet and then a choice of 3 first and second courses and desserts. Highlights were the veal casserole, the lasagne, all the soups and chocolate mouse. The hotel owner looks a little eccentric (hunchback) but was perfectly pleasant to us, the restaurant staff and cleaner were lovely. The decor in the hotel lounge is pretty dated but we hardly spent any time there. There were 2 of us staying but we were upgraded to a family room at the back with a large balcony facing the ghost bar and bottom of piste. A couple of nights there was some noise from the bar but the majority were quiet. The bathroom had a shower but no shower curtain so it made the floor soaking wet and we ended up having baths, which was not such a bad thing after a day of boarding. There was also a nail in the floorboards in my room that I kept catching my socks on! Having been on many ski holidays I think overall the hotel was pretty good value, very close to the bars and chair lift. One thing that is not necessarily mentioned at time of booking is that the transfer bus and bus to Montgenevre leave from down the hill as the resort is pedestrianised. Also there is a tourist tax to pay 0.75 euro a night.

Sauze was full of english northerners, especially groups of lads and the resort has a benidorm type feel to it, this may appeal to some but not us. The resort is cheap and cheerful, apres ski was good and beer from 2.5 to 5 euros a pint, which is cheaper than French resorts. We watched DVDs on a laptop most nights and hardly went out, not much point when the only women are the barmaids in Mira bar! :-) The lift system is slow and needs some fast gondolas, there are a lot of long cold chair lifts and many drag lifts which are a pain for boarders. The ski area is reasonably big but not as challenging and varied as some of the larger french resorts, however the ski pass is significantly cheaper £150 for 6 days as opposed to c. £200. Claviere is full of flat cat-track runs which are a nightmare on a board, best to get the Crystal organised bus to Montgenevre for 22 euros. Some of the bests runs are in Sauze particularly the tree runs down to Jovencaux. However Sauze is probably the busiest resort in the Milky Way, although nothing like La Plagne at half term. Saturday was busy as locals are on the slopes, one advantage is the short transfer time from Turin. It takes about 45 mins to be able to get to Sestriere and there are only 2 runs down, both end up miles away from the lifts so you have to do a considerable walk at the bottom. The lift company seem to shut the lifts quite frequently and we got stuck in Sestriere for 2.5hrs waiting for a bus to take us back to Sauze. We also heard similar tales from other travellers and seasonaires, if its windy stay local enough to get home in one run or you could end up paying 80 euro for a taxi! The board park in Sestriere is pretty tame and there was no half pipe when we were there.

Fortunately for us it snowed before we went and during the week so we had powder but Sauze is pretty low so if you can book last minute when the snow is good I would do so. Also the snow history graphs show the trend is getting worse each year with climate change. There are plenty of snow cannon but its no substitute.

All in I would recommend Sauze to someone who was up for going to italy for a change, looking for value for money (I spent £900 in total and even came back with 100 euro!) and not too hardcore with terrain or snowparks. If you want hardcore you need to pay top dollar.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Firstly my wife and I had a brilliant holiday in Sauze and we can't wait to go back. The locals and holiday makers alike were all very friendly. This includes the hotel staff. Our room was clean and tidy but in need of a refurb, as was the entire hotel.

The hotel itself is in a great location. It is close to the Clotes lift which is a 2 mins walk in your gear. However, we didn't really use this lift much as my wife is a beginner and struggled with the runs to and from Sportinia. We did, however, get the ski bus from the bottom of Clotes which was very convenient.

Being right in town was great for going out in an evening (which we did every night) but on a few occasions there were noisy groups of blokes coming out of local bars which woke my wife up in the early hours of the morning.

We didn't spend any time in the hotel bar, but used the restaurant for breakfast every morning and for our evening meal about 3 or 4 times out of 7. Breakfast was a bit rubbish with a lack of choice. There was muesli, coco pops, cornflakes, some prepackaged toast (hard dry biscuit like bread), yogurt, croissants, small bread rolls, cheese and ham and that was about it. A pot of tea or coffee was served to the table and there was an "Italian Juicy Juice" machine dispensing some quite nasty juice into plastic cups if you wanted it. There was very little/no fresh fruit.

The evening meals were ok but not great and definitely not of restaurant quality so we ate out quite a few nights. We kind of expected that this would be the case though. There are some fantastic local bars and restaurants by the way.

Our room was a bit tired, but it was cleaned well everyday. The beds were ok. The temperature was pretty much spot on throughout the room and bathroom.

The shower was ridiculously small (approximately 450mm square, or maybe 500mm square max.) This made it quite difficult to shower. I'm not particularly big and I struggled with it. It did have plenty of hot water though so we managed. If you're big then you will really struggle.

The boot room downstairs is secure and sufficient for storage but a bit small when trying to get kitted up, so we often took our stuff outside the hotel and got ready there, no big deal.

I do agree with one of the other comments on here that the hotel is "like Fawlty Towers on ice" as I can see the resemblance. It was basic and in need of an upgrade throughout, but it served it's purpose and we enjoyed our holiday.

I'd suggest that you avoid this hotel if you can but if you're running out of options, you won't have a "holiday from hell" or anything like that.

We booked the holiday as a package and paid about £475pp for half board, flights and transfers. I think for the price it should be at least a little better. If you can get a super cheap deal on this package then I'd probably say go for it but be prepared to eat out if you like nice food.

For my next visit to Sauze I'm going to avoid the package holidays and book a small B&B.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The best thing was the dinner, where the selection of salads was good and the dinners were good. you were given a choice of 3 for each starter and main course and dessert. Staff were friendly and helpful, but the owner/manager was dour ( ignore him). We asked for the room to be warmer and hardly noticed any difference. Of well, we had lots of warm clothes to put on. Plenty of hot water. He got nicer as the week went by, but we were determined to enjoy ourselves.

Compared to the nicer hotels in Sauze ( which were a bus ride or long walk uphill to the lifts), this hotel was very conveniently situated close to the lift.

No drinks were included, which landed us with a hefty bill at the end of the week. Much preferred the hotel in Sestriere.

If you prefer Sauze ( and I quite liked skiing in Sauze), you can't beat this hotel for location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire, england
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Have just stayed here for a week which we booked through Neilson.The hotel is close to everything you want ie Main lifts and bars.We were shown to the Hotel by our rep Jack, great lad showed us were to ski and where to party.Went on a few trips and we enjoyed them all.
At the Hotel we were greated by Joe very polite and smart young man who took us to our room and told us all about the hotel.
The hotel is very clean and tidy even though it looks like you have gone back in time when you are in the bar area with the furniture..he owner was very helpful with information about Sauze d'Oulx.It would not be a 4 star hotel in the UK but it is still alright.
Our bed room was very clean and tidy could not fault it.
Breakfast is buffet which was nice but you don't get any hot food, but the selection is good and gets you ready for the day.
Evening meals are served at 7.30 and this is 4 course,nice selection very filling and hot.
Altogether a very nice hotel,any problems see Joe he will get it sorted and if you book with Neilson see Jack he will take you on a bar crawl, pub quiz and take you up the mountain in a snow basher for a great meal, thank you to all of you

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Savoia Debili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoia Debili

Address: Via Clotes 20, 10050 Sauze d'Oulx, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sauze d'Oulx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Sauze d'Oulx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Savoia Debili 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Savoia Debili reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Savoia Debili Italy/Province Of Turin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Savoia Debili, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.