We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good, just dont expect a lie-in (or early night)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Relais Des Alpes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Relais Des Alpes to your Saves list
Hotel Relais Des Alpes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Terzo Reggimento Alpini 24, 10050 Sauze d'Oulx, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Sauze d'Oulx
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good, just dont expect a lie-in (or early night)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Good hotel, great location, rooms cleaned every day.

The food is good, tastey and hight quality. Everynight there was a differant selection of starters and deserts, the format of the mains however got a bit samey. There was always, two or three pasta type dishes, some roast meat, some type of potato and some veggies. But still, it was tastey, we couldnt have eaten there everynight though. However, Breakfast was top notch we all loved it.

Staff were freidly and helful; at reception and the buffet.
The hotel is within 5 minutes of anything you could possibly need, including the coltes lift, bars and resturants. Altough the hotels bar 'the queens lounge', is brilliant.

However, the sound issue is a real problem there, there is no sound proffing i.e. carpets etc. You get woken at around 7:30am by people in the corridors who sound like there wearing cloggs (its that loud) and again you cant really sleep untill at least 11:30 because of people coming in from bars (these people weren't noisy its just the sound of them walking that kept us up).

The spa is a good deal, 10 euros a week however i would stay away from the hot tub, we commented thet is didnt look very clear the one day, and some of the group decided go in reguardless. BIG MISTAKE! they all have infections now and are taking anit-biotics. YUK!

Room Tip: anything away from the stairs helps a fraction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    64
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
22
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Just back today from a week in the Relais.... it is a nice enough hotel although a bit behind and desperate for a refurbishment. Rooms are fairly noisey and you should aim to be positioned away from the stairs, as you will hear people going up and down them at all hours.....there is no sound proofing at all!!
Staff are great, very helpful and friendly, the Queens Bar is lively, but you will pay hotel prices so you're better to venture out to the many bars in the town offering 'Happy Hour' deals.
We stayed Half Board and the food was great, each night something different, the spa area is very dated, but still done the job.

If you're looking for a cheap deal with accomodation that is, 'OK' then this hotel is for you, if you're looking for something a bit more up market, then it isn't here..... they state 4 stars but I think this is probably from 30 years ago and they haven't kept up to date all.... I would say that this hotel is more of 2 stars and at a push 3.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

Just got back from Sauze staying at Relais Des Alpes, there is very little accomodation in Sauze where ski in ski out is possible so RDA is not alone. It is very well located for all the other activities of Apres Ski etc. The staff were all very charming and friendly and despite the hotel being full - half term - it never felt like it. The food in the restaurant is very good plenty of variety and more than enough after a day on the slopes. The queens pub attached to the hotel was a good focal point for Apres ski, but there are plenty of alternatives close by. Unlike other comments the noise from the bars or corridors was never an issue, we were on the 4th floor which may be why? There is a ski hire shop next door and minimarket within 20 yards. The queue for the bus in the morning was a bit of a drag and the walk from the bus stop to the first lift ensured you were warmed up before taking to the slopes, but you get used to it!
Overall if I was going back to Sauze RDA would be a good choice of hotel

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

What can i say. Dont listen to any bad reviews. I went with my teenage sons and some friends and we all really enjoyed the hotel and resort.
The hotel is set in a great location in the resort. The ski bus stops just across the road and runs every 10 minutes to both ski lifts. Its really easy. The hotel food is quality with a great range of food on offer every day. I honestly cannot understand the bad review i have seen !!!!. My son is a really fussy eater and he found the food to be excellent. My only small complaint for the hotel was the room was designed for two and not three so it was a little on the small side.
There is plenty of choice around the local bars happy hours running from 5 till 7 with free snacks on the bars and live music in some pubs. My favourite pub being La Grotta di Bourud which is 5 minutes walk from the hotel(turn left out of hotel and follow the building line left ). 3 Euro a pint during happy hour, live music some nights and free snacks on the bar pizza ,olives etc etc. Really good prices on the piste, 3 coffee lattes for 5 euros ,quality. Ordered my sons intermediate skis at the local ski shop Beeson sports for 55 euro plus 10 euro insurance for damage. Plenty of runs in the resort so you wont get bored. One word of warning make sure you dont miss the last ski lift back over to the resort as we did or youll find yourself having a 45 minute bus journey back. Great holiday overall

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

But for the 18-30 pub tagged onto this hotel as 5/5. The food was superb and the service outstanding. The rooms were comfortable and kept very clean.

The only real shame is that the hotel does not have its on bar but a built in pub. On most evenings this catered for the 18-30 age group with loud music and drinking games.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

Having just returned from my 2nd stay at the Relais des Alpes, I cannot recommend this hotel enough. All staff very freindly and helpful, Rooms cleaned and tidied very day, Food plentiful, hearty and always lots of choice, Nice bar downstairs for the odd pint, and not a bad location - 5 -10 minuted walk to top lift or wait just across the road for the ski bus (never waited more than 10 minutes and easliy all got on). The lift the ski bus takes you to gets you to sportina faster than walking to the top lift and catching 3 lifts to get to the same place. Add to that reasonable prices for Europe and First class ski area, you really would be hard pushed to find a better "Ski" resort (having been to 3 valleys on 3 occasions and getting rather fed up with being constatly ripped off!!).
As for noisy drunks.....I think you will find that in any hotel where there are bars near by.

Don't be put off, the resort/hotel are so good we are talking of going back for a third consecutive year in 2012!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

Package booked through First Choice/Crystal. Flight & transfer to resort was excellent.

Hotel was ok but had several drawbacks that would prevent me from returning. My main complaint was the amount of noise at all hours of the day. The halls are long and everything echo's down them. People coming back from clubs drunk are not exactly quiet, added to the noise enhancing hallways is not the best combination. Also the walls/ceilings are paper-thin so you can literally hear the room above toilet flush!!

Food - Was average but I wouldn't say there's a lot for kids to eat. We used the local restaurants most nights.

Service - In general was really good at all 3 main parts (front desk, queens pub and hire shop).

Cleanliness - Room wasn't fantastic as dust in lots of places. Plus 1 day they forget to leave towels and another they forgot toilet roll!! Both rectified quickly by front desk i have to say.

Location - Not bad but still had to get the bus to slopes. Anyone who says they walk it must be really fit!!

All in all not bad hotel if you can get a good deal. I personally wouldn't pay full price.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Relais Des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais Des Alpes

Address: Piazza Terzo Reggimento Alpini 24, 10050 Sauze d'Oulx, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sauze d'Oulx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Relais Des Alpes 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Relais Des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Des Alpes Hotel
Hotel Relais Des Alpes Italy/Province Of Turin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Relais Des Alpes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.