We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, great staff, excellent spa!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Besson

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Besson to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Besson
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Rio 15, 10050 Sauze d'Oulx, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Sauze d'Oulx
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, great staff, excellent spa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here in Jan 2013, we booked a last minute deal to go away with our family and friends who had already booked up months in advance. They stayed at different hotels in Sauze, they paid a lot more (Like i said, we made it last minute) but we definitely got the better deal!

The staff were lovely, very friendly. Yes it was a 4* hotel but it definitely felt more like a 5* with the service. Every morning someone was there to greet you at reception, they were quick to seat you at breakfast, lunch and dinner and were happy to help you out with anything you needed, i.e directions and maps etc.
The food was excellent, all of it was proper Italian grub, definitely worth it just for the food! you also get a choice of 3 mains every day. This was strange to us as most ski resort hotels seem to ask you to choose your next evening meal the night before. The wines they served at dinner were fantastic too, if a little pricey. the cheapest bottle was 20Euros.
The bar serve booze at normal prices, which is strange too as they normally mark them up slightly, you can charge anything at the bar direct to your room. Perfect!

Rooms were lovely, all wooden floors wood panelled walls, we had a jacuzzi tub in our bathroom which was fantastic after a hard day boarding!
There is also a Spa at the side of the hotel, it does feel strange walking through the bar in a towel, but its definitely worth it! Massage tables (20Euros for a massage) a Swedish sauna, steam room, large jacuzzi tub (more like a swimming pool) an outdoor hot tub and a sensory deprivation room. This is definitely worth the stay!

The hotel itself is quite a distance to the slopes and about a 10-15minute walk from the town centre and all the bars, restaurants etc but the hotel offer a free shuttle bus every morning from 8 til 10 that takes you to the local Sportinia lift.

All in all it was a fantastic holiday, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Sauze, yet its a little out of the way but it is definitely worth the walk!

Room Tip: The Deluxe rooms are located at the front of the hotel, they are bigger and have a bigger jacuzzi tu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    66
    24
    14
    4
See reviews for
43
77
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our ski club from the USA recently spent a week at Grand Hotel Besson (3-10 March), and we thoroughly enjoyed every moment of our stay. Each member of the staff was fantastic, and they all really went above and beyond to make sure that our every need was met. Gino, the barman, was absolutely great! His friendly personality, total energy behind the bar and ability to make everyone feel special was so appreciated. His skills as a mixologist are superb, and he even made a fine ski companion for some of our group! The front desk personnel, and particularly Nello, were so accomodating and willing to help wherever needed. Salvatore and his shuttle bus made the trips to and from the lifts so pleasant and efficient, and Orlando made sure that our every wish was fulfilled in the dining room! The food was abundant and good. Although most menu choices would not satisfy the most discerning foodie, the offerings were varied, tasty and fine for a group of hungry skiers. Chef Paolo takes pride in his work, and we appreciated that! The birthday cakes provided for our birthday celebration evening were great, and we loved the cannoli for breakfast on our last day. We were given a very abundant and delicious Gala Dinner on our last evening, and that was such a special touch!
While some of the rooms were on the small side, they were all very clean and comfortable with lovely bathrooms. The lobby was large yet cozy, and it provided more than enough room for our crowd of 38 to socialize, enjoy drinks, read on the cushy sofas or use the tables for various activities. We enjoyed the music in the evenings, too. Most of us were quite content to spend our evenings right there!
The location of Grand Hotel Besson is superior as well. It is in a quiet position away from the noisy center of Sauze yet close enough for an easy walk to the action. The view from the front terrace and the front facing rooms is exquisite! There is ample parking in front or in the underground garage, and for those arriving by bus, the walk up the driveway is not really a problem at all.
I would give this hotel a 5 star rating if it were not for the questionable WiFi service in the rooms and public spaces. While it fulfilled my needs just fine, it did seem somewhat device driven and not up to the standard one would expect from a four star hotel. A few in our group were quite dissatisfied with it. In addition, the ski room is not adequate for a large group. Its size is fine, but there is only one small bench for putting on and taking off boots, and that was a problem with so many heading to the slopes at the same time each day. Heated boot racks are not provided, and the room is not easily accessed from inside the hotel.
Our ski club would enthusiastically return to this hotel again if given the opportunity, and a huge Grazie Mille!! to everyone who made our stay such a great success.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the mountain view are obviously the top choice here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here 20th Jan to the 27th Jan. Excellent hotel as far as skiing standards are concerned. The rooms are big, and comfy. You can control the heating. The bathroom was excellent and never short of hot water. Considering i am a fussy eater i thought i might have struggled to eat in the evenings (we went half board) but it wasn't a problem. The food was a high standard and all the waiters were lovely. You had a set menu eat night and you could choose from 3 things for your starter, main.. and then ice cream, cakes etc for dessert. I could not complain. And if you didn't like it, it wasn't a problem. The breakfast was by far the best, scrambled egg, bacon, bakery ( which was beautiful) fruits, hams, cheeses etc. Was beautiful. There was a free bus that takes you to the lift, that runs between 8.30 (i think)... and 10. And then 3.30 and 5. This was so useful and we used it everyday. There is a free public bus that runs passed but only one. I do wish the bus did start its pick ups a little earlier than 3.30. We used the spa for one night, it was free of charge. It wasn't anything special. But use it, if its free!
The skiing was pefect!!! Loved the pistes and we didn't get bored. I'll definitely be visiting this hotel again soon. Couldn't really fault it.
PS.. its a 4* by skiing concerns.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and really enjoyed it. The staff throughout the hotel were very friendly. The food was brilliant. The hotel appears on the map to be away from the town but in fact it is only a few minutes - there are a few narrow streets but once you have worked it out it is really easy. I think i chose well and probably the best sited hotel to be in. I had my own ski's and boots but i was able to deposit them every night in a ski shop right by one of the lifts. If you can get a room on the 2nd floor or above at the front that would be a bonus.
I will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Front of the hotel - 1st floor upwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schilde
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Very average standard; small basic rooms, not well maintained spa (is not part of hotel), no bathrobes in the room; you cross the lobby in swimming suits! Food very average. Hotel needs major refurbishment and better maintenance.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Really nice hotel, the staff were extremely friendly and very helpful, 5, minutes walk to the centre of town,the shuttle service to the ski lift was really good, the spar was also very nice after a day of skiing. I would defiantly go back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Summary - Great hotel - especially if you can get a deal.

Rooms - Our room was a little small but adequate. From the fire chart it was probably the smallest on the 2nd floor.
Food - Excellent food with good variety. They try to push bottled water but we managed to get tap water. No complementary wine but we bought a couple of bottles each night which proved to be very good..
Other facilities - Bar area was nice with TV which mainly had football on it. The keyboard player could do with broadening his array of songs he can play. Complementary spa facilities well worth using.
Staff - All the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, couldn't ask for more.
Location - Stunning panoramic views from hotel. Short walk to the centre of Sauze. Option to take hotels mini bus to Sportina lift or as we did we left our Skis by the Clotes lift and walked up there each day (6-7min walk).
Skiing - Enjoyed the skiing, some very nice tree lined runs and an extensive amount of skiing. Only complaint was that some of the resorts aren't quite as well linked as your multi-village resorts in france.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sauze d'Oulx hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Relais Des Alpes
Hotel Relais Des Alpes
#12 of 33 in Sauze d'Oulx
4.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sauze
Hotel Sauze
#10 of 33 in Sauze d'Oulx
4.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gran Baita
Hotel Gran Baita
#7 of 33 in Sauze d'Oulx
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Assietta
Hotel Assietta
#14 of 33 in Sauze d'Oulx
4.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chalet Il Capricorno Hotel Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#13 of 33 in Sauze d'Oulx
4.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Besson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Besson

Address: Via del Rio 15, 10050 Sauze d'Oulx, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sauze d'Oulx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Besson 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive hotel where you experience the mountains in all seasons, in the splendid setting of the western Alps, for an intense week of skiing, a romantic weekend or to unwind in relaxing the body and spirit in the exclusive Besson Spa re-generation.The Grand Hotel Besson has 44 rooms, elevator, common areas, lounges, bar, restaurant, meeting rooms, panoramic terrace, solarium, ski room, private parking, garage, spa and stunning views over the valley and mountains.Un albergo esclusivo dove vivere la montagna in tutte le stagioni, nella splendida cornice delle Alpi occidentali, per una settimana di intensa attività sciistica, per un week-end romantico in assoluto relax o per ritemprarsi il corpo e lo spirito nell'esclusiva SPA Besson Re-generation.Il Grand Hotel Besson dispone di 44 camere, ascensore, ampi spazi comuni, saloni, bar, ristorante, sale meeting, terrazza panoramica, solarium, ski room, parcheggio privato, garage, centro benessere e splendida vista sulla valle e le montagne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Besson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sauze d Oulx
Grand Hotel Besson Italy/Province Of Turin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Besson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.