We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Besson Hotel,Sauze d' oulx” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Besson

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Besson to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Besson
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Rio 15, 10050 Sauze d'Oulx, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 33 hotels in Sauze d'Oulx
Bexley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Grand Besson Hotel,Sauze d' oulx”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Really nice hotel, the staff were extremely friendly and very helpful, 5, minutes walk to the centre of town,the shuttle service to the ski lift was really good, the spar was also very nice after a day of skiing. I would defiantly go back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    48
    17
    11
    3
See reviews for
36
64
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Summary - Great hotel - especially if you can get a deal.

Rooms - Our room was a little small but adequate. From the fire chart it was probably the smallest on the 2nd floor.
Food - Excellent food with good variety. They try to push bottled water but we managed to get tap water. No complementary wine but we bought a couple of bottles each night which proved to be very good..
Other facilities - Bar area was nice with TV which mainly had football on it. The keyboard player could do with broadening his array of songs he can play. Complementary spa facilities well worth using.
Staff - All the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, couldn't ask for more.
Location - Stunning panoramic views from hotel. Short walk to the centre of Sauze. Option to take hotels mini bus to Sportina lift or as we did we left our Skis by the Clotes lift and walked up there each day (6-7min walk).
Skiing - Enjoyed the skiing, some very nice tree lined runs and an extensive amount of skiing. Only complaint was that some of the resorts aren't quite as well linked as your multi-village resorts in france.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londerzeel, Belgium
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Let's start with the positives : excellent and helpful staff; free wellness centre and gym room.excellent location for skiing. The hotel shuttle drops you at the ski lifts. It is only 5 minutes trip. The city centre is at walking distance.

Minors : rooms are clean but too small and a little outdated. The food is not bad but is not what you expect from a 4 star hotel and during tour stay no ambiance in hotel nor in the village.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a week and our first time in Sauze but had come recommended by a friend. From the minute we arrived and I struggled to talk to the cab driver, the first member of staff was out in an instant and translating for us. From the reception staff, to the fantastic people in the restaurant and bar, we were looked after every minute. Hotel wasn't too bIg so felt really cosy. Good location for town and Salvatore the mini bus driver was incredibly helpful and flexible. Rooms were quite small but we didn't spend too much time there. More food than you could consume. Only criticism would be more a reflection on the age of the spa. Great facilities but really needs a refurbishment. Would recommend to anyone and would definitely stay again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed here for one week. We got a very good deal as did most people we spoke to at the hotel. The location for us was great. You could get the transportation which the hotel laid on in the morning up to the Sportina Lift or get them to drop you off at the lift in the Centre. We we're told about the option of leaving our ski's for 20 euro's at the bottom of the lift in the Centre which we were going to do but never did as the transportation was much better because it was door to door so to speak without any carrying of ski's and walking in boots! A couple of days we did however ski into the centre for some Apre's and after a few beers we heading back to the hotel with boots and ski's tow.... it was all down hill and took 5 mins to walk and had we had to do this everyday this wouldn't have bothered either of us...

The rooms are ok but more wardrobe space would have been better as our room for the whole holiday did look like a hurricane had hit it... The bathroom was clean and a good size. We did have to request more pillow's because the pillows are very hard and after first night I woke up with neck ache but the hotel was great and we got them straight away.

Food was good... you had a choice each evening and when the food came the plates were just enough to satisfy but if you like massive plates of food you will had better stock up on the salad and desserts....

Drinks... Gino the bar tender was great... really friendly and a pleasure to be around. Drinks are really well price for a 4* hotel.. five and half euro's for a pint was great... we have been going to France for years now and we were amazed at how cheap the drinks were in Sauze!! Cocktails in the bar were 6 euro's bargain!! In the town you would pay 4 euro's for a pint and during happy hour you we're paying 2 1/2 euro's!! Plus most of the place we drank we're bring out free pizza's and nibbles to keep you going....

The pool and spa were really nice after a long day on the slopes. The sauna was fantastic and one of the hottest ones I've been in. The steam room is different and could do with some type of scent plugged into it as it did smell every time I went into it and the jets that shoot in the pool from all angles were great.

We had a great holiday in Sauze and being a Meribel and St Anton lover I have to say that the range of skiing was great with over 400 km of skiing. For intermediate and begineers this is a dream location but if you are an expert and wanting to challenge yourself this is not the place to go. I did find the wanting to get a difficult challenging run but these were hard to find and what they call a black run is pretty much a steep red. We covered the whole range whilst we we're there going from Italy to France and this in itself kept my need for difficult runs at bay as we went out on a ski safari each day and because of the vastness of the range I can only recommend this as a great location to go skiing.

So in summary, Good hotel with good amenities, fantastic range of skiing and Sauze is great value for money location and so much so that we go skiing twice a year and we are seriously consider going back in March because of the value for money.

Room Tip: Request a room at the front as the views are fantastic to wake up to in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Grand Besson is a very nice and clean hotel. Private minibus to and from the slopes is a great bonus. Free spa. Cosy bar with mountain view. Good size bedrooms, not so comfortable beds with rock hard pillows. The only negative for us was the food. Breakfast mid ok, each day same choice. The worst scrambled eggs I ever had- eggs mixed with flour ( cheap trick to use less eggs!!). Poor choice of bread ( not everyone is happy with toasts). Dinner was a bit of a joke. Salad buffet was the worst part of it. If you are happy with boiled, cold potatoes, carrots, greens, etc , then you will be pleased there. There was no effort from the kitchen staff to prepare any salads, everything was cold , separately on the plates. Desserts were also not to our taste. Our 4 course meal was in fact only 2 (eatable) course meal! If you expect fine , italian cousin you will be disappointed! Ahh! and be prepared to pay €2,50 for water at dinner time (they will kindly offer this without saying the price!).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broendby, Denmark
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Nice clean rooms, great view to the mountains.
The reception was very helpfull and serviceminded.
The restaurant served good classic italian food and had an OK wine list with italian wines from all regions. Cozy bar area with great view to the mountains and with a fireplace.
Free parking in the garage.
Great Spa facilities and gym - free access!

Only thing that was anoying was the internet which didn't work very well. Not even in the reception area. We was told it was going to be replaced soon...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Besson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Besson

Address: Via del Rio 15, 10050 Sauze d'Oulx, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sauze d'Oulx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Besson 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive hotel where you experience the mountains in all seasons, in the splendid setting of the western Alps, for an intense week of skiing, a romantic weekend or to unwind in relaxing the body and spirit in the exclusive Besson Spa re-generation.The Grand Hotel Besson has 44 rooms, elevator, common areas, lounges, bar, restaurant, meeting rooms, panoramic terrace, solarium, ski room, private parking, garage, spa and stunning views over the valley and mountains.Un albergo esclusivo dove vivere la montagna in tutte le stagioni, nella splendida cornice delle Alpi occidentali, per una settimana di intensa attività sciistica, per un week-end romantico in assoluto relax o per ritemprarsi il corpo e lo spirito nell'esclusiva SPA Besson Re-generation.Il Grand Hotel Besson dispone di 44 camere, ascensore, ampi spazi comuni, saloni, bar, ristorante, sale meeting, terrazza panoramica, solarium, ski room, parcheggio privato, garage, centro benessere e splendida vista sulla valle e le montagne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Besson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sauze d Oulx
Grand Hotel Besson Italy/Province Of Turin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Besson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.