We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skiing perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Stella Alpina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sauze d'Oulx
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Stella Alpina
Save
You added Hotel Stella Alpina to your Saves list
Via Miramonti 22/24, 10050 Sauze d'Oulx, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Sauze d'Oulx
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Skiing perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Hotel is literally at the base of the main home run, a few yards across the road. Rooms spacious and comfortable. Good food and service. Well recommended. Staff could not have been more helpful. Hope to return next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    29
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
32
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, Maine
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

The hotel was exactly as advised by the travel agent. It was right at the bottom of the slope, the rooms were kept extremely clean and tidy with fresh towels every day. The food was simple and effective offering a meat and vegetarian main each evening. The salad bar and breakfast bar were both good, offering what we wanted, however they could of been stocked a bit quicker, the waitresses did seem to always be rushing to get this sorted though. The booking also came with a safe and secure heated area to store skis and boots.
The hotel staff were extremely friendly and went out of their way to help us when I became ill arranging transport to the hospital,t translating and writing down my symptoms as well as calling ahead to the hospital to arrange care for me. This made the whole process simpler and less traumatic, I cannot thank them enough for this.
I would definitely recommend the Stella alpina to my friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We would definitely recommend Stella Alpina and Sauze d'Oulx to anybody looking for a reasonably priced ski holiday in Europe.

We stayed in a room in the annex which was big by European standards with a comfortable bed, a great shower and lots of windows. One of the nicer rooms we've had in this price range.

Breakfast is continental but with a good variety of fruit, cereals, yoghurt, bread as well as ham, cheese and boiled eggs. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel - there are so many good and reasonably priced restaurants around and the hotel team help with recommendations and bookings. The hotel bar is good place to relax and has a steady stream of locals and tourists pooping in and out.

Caroline and her team at the hotel as well as the staff at the associated ski shop are all incredibly helpful and really went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our trip - dispensing advice, booking restaurants, helping out with a lost phone, printing etc etc. the service was a highlight for us.

The hotel couldn't be better placed for skiing, a short walk and carpet ride to the chairlift and you can ski back down almost to the door on a home run which is better than most. The ski room in conveniently placed with individually allocated boot warmers. Although the lift infrastructure in Sauze is a bit outdated, the gorgeous sunny slopes and multitude of excellent mountain restaurants make up for it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Just returned from a week's holiday at the Stella Alpina which had been recommended by friends and having seen very good reviews were not disappointed - with the added advantage of ski in and ski out. The hotel, service, cleanliness, food and location are excellent . Nothing was too much trouble and the hotel is a credit to Caroline, her family and all the staff - a big thank you to everyone we will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stella Alpina is perfectly located at the top end of Sauze. A 1 min walk to the "magic carpet" that feeds the Clotes chairlift. You can also ski-in and deposit equipment in the excellent ski-hire shop next store (owned by the same family). The rooms are warm, comfortable and extremely well maintained and serviced. The biggest differentiator is the warmth of the welcome. From Caroline and her family, through to the wonderful Gracias and Sandrino in the dining room and kitchen. One of our party has multiple food allergies and intolerances. They could not have been more understanding and successful in accommodating these. Breakfast is the typical continental fare of cold meats, fruit, cheese, bread and boiled eggs. Dinner is 3 courses with a choice (made the previous evening) for each one. The food is always wholesome and on occasion fantastic. Particularly the pasta and risotto. For value, location and especially service you would be very very hard pressed to beat the Stella Alpina

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Access to the slopes could not have been easier, either straight onto clotes lift or one day we took free bus to other lift (5 mins).

Very clean and comfortable but not elaborate rooms, but just what you need after a day on the slopes.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Once again a massive thank you to the Eydallin family for looking after our large group over half term! from the warm welcome from Caroline & Elisabeta to Renato getting upset seeing us again year after year!!!
All of our party happy with excellent accomadation - comfy beds,extra pillows if required and hot water at all times - a luxury in ski resorts!!!!
Great buffet breakfast to set you up for the day before stepping into warm boot room next door to kit up before stepping onto magic carpet to take you up into the wonderful area of the Milky Way - as far as we are concerned the best ski area in Europe - fab views, miles of tree lined piste & some great mountain eateries too!
Once skied back down Clotes & straight into Scoth bar attached to Stella Alpina then yet again Caroline & co there to welcome you for après ski drink!
Great evening meal with choice of starters & mains & fussy kids get an other option too! Friendly waitress in Grazia - good choice of wine followed by nice homemade pudz!
All in all why go elsewhere - thank you to the Eydallin family for making our ski holiday such a joy - see you next year!!! Xxx

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Stella Alpina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stella Alpina

Address: Via Miramonti 22/24, 10050 Sauze d'Oulx, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sauze d'Oulx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
#3 Family Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly family run hotel, suberbly situated at the foot of the slopes. We are happy to arrange everything for you to make your holiday as easy as possible, from transport from the airport to ski hire from our own shop, ski lift passes and ski school. Weekly and short break bookings accepted on both half board and bed breakfast basis. Very family friendly, not suitable for big groups. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stella Alpina Hotel
Hotel Stella Alpina Italy/Province Of Turin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Stella Alpina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.