We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, nice location, nice people, let down by evening meals” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Splendid

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Splendid to your Saves list
Hotel Splendid
Via Clotes 71, 10050 Sauze d'Oulx, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Sauze d'Oulx
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“nice hotel, nice location, nice people, let down by evening meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

clean and basic hotel which did the job for our holiday. quiet week in the hotel and always had good service from staff, fellow guests were good fun. Room was large and good hot showers and always clean, shame the balcony didn't have a table and chairs because view was lovely and weather so warm! easy access to slopes, walk up the hill wasn't a huge problem, (good exercise!), although can imagine would be hard with snow on the roads! only main issue for us was the food, it's not usually a massive part of where/why we go away, just want food to do the job and that you can enjoy...breakfasts were as you would hope, plenty of contintental type food (rolls/cereal/fruit/jams) and great choice of tea/coffee/hot chocolate. Dinner however was not so. we are 2 unfussy twentysomethings who are by no means into gourmet cuisine, but like simple, tasty, healthy and fresh food. never quite figured out the huge portion sizes for starters...lasagne AND ravioli on one plate...just for a starter?! for a hungry boy to find that overwhelming says it all!just seemed to be a bit too much cheese on everything, meat was disappointing in quality and there was lack of hot fresh veg. if you are happy with chips or potatoes cooked in oil on your main most nights then you might be ok, but we found we were either having to fill up on bread rolls or went back to our rooms hungry and looking forward to breakfast! apart from that, no complaints at all with the hotel and would be happy to recommend on a bed and breakfast basis!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    63
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
45
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Really nice hotel,friendly staff, 100 yards from access to slopes, food very good and free wi-fi. I've stayed here two year on the trot and would recommend it. It is on a hill but its easy my 11 year old did it easily, if you can't manage it you shouldn't be skiing.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed for the second time at the Splendid last week. I'd forgotten how long and steep the hill is up from the village, but no problem by the end of the week. A shortcut behind the houses opposite takes you straight on to the Clotes run, and coming back at night means no waiting for buses. The rooms are basic, but clean, although the walls are a bit thin and you can hear the people next door talking. Small swimming pool, tiny (2 person) sauna is good for kids, or relaxing after a hard day on the hill. Never used the weights gym, but looked well kitted out. The food is pretty standard for Sauze, and plenty of it! Decent range of meals, and good if you like Italian food. Only problem was our bed was rock hard, so didn't sleep too well...

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony, facing the village. Not above the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

I stayed here with 5 friends all snowboards, the hotel is family run, the family also own a restaurant and a bar in town which you get discounts if your staying at the hotel. The rooms are cleaned every day, the food was good and lots of it so you never went hungry. The staff were very good eddy the bar man was great, the only bad thing is there is a steep walk back to the hotel in the evening. There is a short walk to the slopes if your new to skiing there is a bus that stops right outside the hotel. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Stayed in the Splendid in Jan 12 as part of a group of 19 and had a terrific time. The rooms were great, spacious, very clean and modern. The food plentiful and simple, the bar was always open and prices were realistic. The only downside was the hotel was at the top of a hill, okay for going into town but it was a good 10 minute hard slog back after a few beers!

Room Tip: There is only 1 small lift so avoid going higher than the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

The splendid is a nice hotel with good views, the pool, whilst small, is temperate and useful following a good day's skiing. The pool area was patrolled by an interestingly fastidious gent who whilst generally inoffensive did have a abrupt nature. The Sauna was insufficient for three grown men and thus relatively useless.

The room in which we stayed was a twin room with a z bed banged in which made the environment rather cramped, however as this was more of a base than a living space this was less concerning.

The food was good and filling, with the morning choice typical of a ski resort. The staff were friendly and generally swift. The bar service was amongst the best I have ever experienced and the regular barkeep was amongst the most accommodating and pleasant people I have ever met.

The location was good for the start and end of the day if you don't mind sloping up a short path, however if you are having lessons then the walk in and out of the village with all your gear is rather tiresome.

The apres ski in the area was not the best (although the steep hill did make the prospect less appealing anyway) but the bars were often lively but mainly British.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

The family and staff that run this hotel made our stay here very enjoyable. The food is yummy and lots of it with plenty of choice which is something we loooked for as we have a child who is a very choosy eater. The rooms were spacious and warm. The bath room spotless with lots of clean towels. Quiet at night so easy to sleep.The children loved the swimming pool.
When Crystal left the family tired and with skis at the bottom of the hill after one of their socials the hotel manager came and picked us up.
The skiing is fabulous, and you can reach the slope in a 5 minute walk.
It is the 2nd time we have stayed here and I would be happy to do so a 3rd time.
Eddy the bar man's service is exceptional.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid

Address: Via Clotes 71, 10050 Sauze d'Oulx, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sauze d'Oulx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
#10 Family Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Splendid Italy/Province Of Turin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Splendid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.