We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gran Baita

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Gran Baita to your Saves list
Hotel Gran Baita
Via Villaggio Alpino 21, 10050 Sauze d'Oulx, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Sauze d'Oulx
Certificate of Excellence
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Visited Sauze for the first time with my daughter on a Crystal trip.
The Gran Baita is a fabulous, family run hotel with excellent friendly and helpful staff. Although it is dated the hotel is warm and comfortable with well appointed rooms. I had a top floor room. Ensuite bathroom and toilet. Television with some UK channels. No kettle provided so bring your owning required. Good storage and room safe.
There is ski and boot storage provided with wall boot driers. Due to the distance to the lifts there are storage facilities on top of the slopes for about €20 a week. Saves a walk with equipment in ski boots.
There is a well stocked bar and large communal lounge. Loads of games and cards are provided for entertainment. Wifi is free throughout the hotel but it is not always reliable. Good enough for checking emails and light usage.
The food is excellent.and provided every night. A large continental buffet breakfast is provided. Evening meal is initially a help yourself buffet starter. A three course served meal is then served. Every meal we were given was excellent and covered vegetarians as well. Faultless.
The hotel is situated about two minutes walk to the town centre so accessible but away from the late night noise.
There are two main lifts nearby. The Clotes which is about 5-10 mins. Most people use this lift due to its position but is not too busy at peak times. The main lift is Sportina which is about 20 mins walk but a free bus gets you there. However be aware that at peak times the service is erratic and buses can be full.
All in all an excellent hotel and thoroughly recommended. If I returned to sauze I would definitely stay here.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    61
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
40
37
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed as a group and had a great stay. Little dated but clean and cosy. Staff were excellent all round. We had a room with a huge balcony and views. Food was great. Great location. Walk to the lift was easier by the end of the week in ski boots. Overall, very happy. Thank you

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed here for half term week and the hotel was full. Our rooms were very clean, comfy, warm and spacious and the hot water for showering was plentiful and with good pressure. The food was great- generous portions, tasty and fresh. My daughter didn't like the choices some evenings and had a pasta dish whipped up for her with no complaints from the staff. The staff are a delight- friendly, helpful and attentive. We enjoyed staying here and would certainly return.
With ski boots etc it is a bit of a walk to the lift but there is bus (usually full at the point we walked to!) and there are options to leave boots etc in the lockers available- we didn't.
Paulo was very helpful when our daughter injured her knee, collecting her from the medical centre and dropping her to the coach on the morning we left. He waved away my offers to pay for his trouble- which was kind of him, a really decent bloke.
We had a great week on the slopes - there is so much to ski, loads of snow, different resorts to visit, generally super weather, a nice village feel to the resort. We have been to Sauze 3 times now and will, I hope return. We booked the holiday with Crystal - the resort rep Greg was frequently at the hotel, a pleasant chap and helpful. We did not book lift passes, ski school or equipment through Crystal as it is cheaper to sort this out independently.
All in all a great holiday-I would recommend both the hotel and the resort.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Absolutely brilliant. Everything from the ideal location close to the restaurants, shops & bars, to the incredibly helpful staff, Hotel Gran Baita is honestly fantastic. The 3 course dinner (including anti-pasti) we were served everyday was tremendous and the chefs deserve a special mention. The staff would go out of their way to make sure you have everything you require. For my first ski trip, i could not have wished for any more and i'm sure my family & friends would say the same. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Great hotel, Paola and all his team are friendly and helpful. Tasty food and a special focus on gala night-best food ever for half board. Really cosy fire in lounge area-great for après ski and after dinner drinks. Very homely and cosy hotel, helped by friendly, warm and clean surroundings. Made some great friends chatting by the fire over a few drinks! Would highly recommend this hotel. Good attention from Greg, our Crystal ski rep-gave us all great time and attention. He was there if we ever needed him. Amazing tuition on the slopes from Sergio. See you next year Paolo and faithful dog, Sheila!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We had family holiday at end of February.

Room was a good size for the family and bathroom was very large. It was nice to relax in a deep bath after full day skiing.

Food was great, the buffet is a meal in its own right. My children loved the selection. Staff were always very helpful.

Bar, very cosy but chimney needed a sweep! Plenty of good board games to play and it was great to see children making full use of them.

All in all we would go there again. Very happy.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is the second time I've stayed here in the last two years. Location is close to the resort centre and a 200 Meter up hill walk to the ski lift. Ski storage at the hotel or if you don't want to carry daily you can leave them at the shop by the lift for 3 Euro a night.
Hotel food was very good again with usual cereals cold meats etc breakfasts. Choice of 3 evening meals every night except Gala night which is a set menu. Food is good but can get a little monotonous especially if your not keen on deep fried breaded meat/cheese fillings but no complaints really. There are some nice restaurants in the town if you want a change.
Night life is ok but really bouncing. Ski area is very good suitable for intermediates with lots of good runs. Nothing really challenging most of the Black runs are really Reds.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Gran Baita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Baita

Address: Via Villaggio Alpino 21, 10050 Sauze d'Oulx, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sauze d'Oulx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
#6 Family Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Gran Baita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gran Baita Italy/Province Of Turin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gran Baita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.