We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy half term” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gran Baita

Save Saved
You added Hotel Gran Baita to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Gran Baita
Via Villaggio Alpino 21, 10050 Sauze d'Oulx, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 33 hotels in Sauze d'Oulx
Halesowen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Happy half term”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed here for half term week and the hotel was full. Our rooms were very clean, comfy, warm and spacious and the hot water for showering was plentiful and with good pressure. The food was great- generous portions, tasty and fresh. My daughter didn't like the choices some evenings and had a pasta dish whipped up for her with no complaints from the staff. The staff are a delight- friendly, helpful and attentive. We enjoyed staying here and would certainly return.
With ski boots etc it is a bit of a walk to the lift but there is bus (usually full at the point we walked to!) and there are options to leave boots etc in the lockers available- we didn't.
Paulo was very helpful when our daughter injured her knee, collecting her from the medical centre and dropping her to the coach on the morning we left. He waved away my offers to pay for his trouble- which was kind of him, a really decent bloke.
We had a great week on the slopes - there is so much to ski, loads of snow, different resorts to visit, generally super weather, a nice village feel to the resort. We have been to Sauze 3 times now and will, I hope return. We booked the holiday with Crystal - the resort rep Greg was frequently at the hotel, a pleasant chap and helpful. We did not book lift passes, ski school or equipment through Crystal as it is cheaper to sort this out independently.
All in all a great holiday-I would recommend both the hotel and the resort.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    53
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
29
32
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Absolutely brilliant. Everything from the ideal location close to the restaurants, shops & bars, to the incredibly helpful staff, Hotel Gran Baita is honestly fantastic. The 3 course dinner (including anti-pasti) we were served everyday was tremendous and the chefs deserve a special mention. The staff would go out of their way to make sure you have everything you require. For my first ski trip, i could not have wished for any more and i'm sure my family & friends would say the same. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, Paola and all his team are friendly and helpful. Tasty food and a special focus on gala night-best food ever for half board. Really cosy fire in lounge area-great for après ski and after dinner drinks. Very homely and cosy hotel, helped by friendly, warm and clean surroundings. Made some great friends chatting by the fire over a few drinks! Would highly recommend this hotel. Good attention from Greg, our Crystal ski rep-gave us all great time and attention. He was there if we ever needed him. Amazing tuition on the slopes from Sergio. See you next year Paolo and faithful dog, Sheila!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We had family holiday at end of February.

Room was a good size for the family and bathroom was very large. It was nice to relax in a deep bath after full day skiing.

Food was great, the buffet is a meal in its own right. My children loved the selection. Staff were always very helpful.

Bar, very cosy but chimney needed a sweep! Plenty of good board games to play and it was great to see children making full use of them.

All in all we would go there again. Very happy.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is the second time I've stayed here in the last two years. Location is close to the resort centre and a 200 Meter up hill walk to the ski lift. Ski storage at the hotel or if you don't want to carry daily you can leave them at the shop by the lift for 3 Euro a night.
Hotel food was very good again with usual cereals cold meats etc breakfasts. Choice of 3 evening meals every night except Gala night which is a set menu. Food is good but can get a little monotonous especially if your not keen on deep fried breaded meat/cheese fillings but no complaints really. There are some nice restaurants in the town if you want a change.
Night life is ok but really bouncing. Ski area is very good suitable for intermediates with lots of good runs. Nothing really challenging most of the Black runs are really Reds.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We too enjoyed our stay,yet again, at the Gran Baita. The hotel is a bit dated but perfectly adequate if your reason to be there is a ski holiday. The food, cleanliness and staff all met our requirements and with 23 of us that is saying something. We had the basic rooms which are perfectly good value for money, hence our 3rd visit.
The Vialattea ski area is vast but would be even better if the uplift system was optimised. A main chairlift out of SanSicario wasn't working and other Pomas were not in operation unless at weekends. Although better than previous visits, some mountain restaurants offer poor service compared to ther resorts. On the other hand the first restaurant above the first Clotes Lift employ the happiest girls who give free paninis with rounds after about 4pm. Our final resting place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

A well run and comfortable family hotel. We were a group of friends who were well looked after and impressed with the size, comfort and cleanliness of the rooms and bathrooms and also the quality and presentation of the food. Access to the slopes is as good as any in Sauze d'Oulx and better than most.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gran Baita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Baita

Address: Via Villaggio Alpino 21, 10050 Sauze d'Oulx, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sauze d'Oulx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Gran Baita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gran Baita Italy/Province Of Turin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gran Baita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.