We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“March 2014” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gran Baita

Save Saved
You added Hotel Gran Baita to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Gran Baita
Via Villaggio Alpino 21, 10050 Sauze d'Oulx, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Sauze d'Oulx
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“March 2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Absolutely brilliant. Everything from the ideal location close to the restaurants, shops & bars, to the incredibly helpful staff, Hotel Gran Baita is honestly fantastic. The 3 course dinner (including anti-pasti) we were served everyday was tremendous and the chefs deserve a special mention. The staff would go out of their way to make sure you have everything you require. For my first ski trip, i could not have wished for any more and i'm sure my family & friends would say the same. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    55
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
31
33
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, Paola and all his team are friendly and helpful. Tasty food and a special focus on gala night-best food ever for half board. Really cosy fire in lounge area-great for après ski and after dinner drinks. Very homely and cosy hotel, helped by friendly, warm and clean surroundings. Made some great friends chatting by the fire over a few drinks! Would highly recommend this hotel. Good attention from Greg, our Crystal ski rep-gave us all great time and attention. He was there if we ever needed him. Amazing tuition on the slopes from Sergio. See you next year Paolo and faithful dog, Sheila!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We had family holiday at end of February.

Room was a good size for the family and bathroom was very large. It was nice to relax in a deep bath after full day skiing.

Food was great, the buffet is a meal in its own right. My children loved the selection. Staff were always very helpful.

Bar, very cosy but chimney needed a sweep! Plenty of good board games to play and it was great to see children making full use of them.

All in all we would go there again. Very happy.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is the second time I've stayed here in the last two years. Location is close to the resort centre and a 200 Meter up hill walk to the ski lift. Ski storage at the hotel or if you don't want to carry daily you can leave them at the shop by the lift for 3 Euro a night.
Hotel food was very good again with usual cereals cold meats etc breakfasts. Choice of 3 evening meals every night except Gala night which is a set menu. Food is good but can get a little monotonous especially if your not keen on deep fried breaded meat/cheese fillings but no complaints really. There are some nice restaurants in the town if you want a change.
Night life is ok but really bouncing. Ski area is very good suitable for intermediates with lots of good runs. Nothing really challenging most of the Black runs are really Reds.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We too enjoyed our stay,yet again, at the Gran Baita. The hotel is a bit dated but perfectly adequate if your reason to be there is a ski holiday. The food, cleanliness and staff all met our requirements and with 23 of us that is saying something. We had the basic rooms which are perfectly good value for money, hence our 3rd visit.
The Vialattea ski area is vast but would be even better if the uplift system was optimised. A main chairlift out of SanSicario wasn't working and other Pomas were not in operation unless at weekends. Although better than previous visits, some mountain restaurants offer poor service compared to ther resorts. On the other hand the first restaurant above the first Clotes Lift employ the happiest girls who give free paninis with rounds after about 4pm. Our final resting place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

A well run and comfortable family hotel. We were a group of friends who were well looked after and impressed with the size, comfort and cleanliness of the rooms and bathrooms and also the quality and presentation of the food. Access to the slopes is as good as any in Sauze d'Oulx and better than most.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmacolm, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Spent a great week in Gran Baita. Really nice hotel, staff looked after us very well. Food was good, I especially loved the variety on the salad buffet table. Being a vegan I always expect a limited diet when travelling. The staff here were keen to offer alternatives if the menu did not offer a suitable choice. Our room was great, spacious and with a balcony with mountain views down the valley. We had paid a little extra for the larger room, so we had a corner bath with shower over. There was an endless supply of hot water and the shower had very good pressure. The rooms were thoroughly cleaned each day.
The location is ok, we walked to the Clotes lift most days and left skis and boots in the ski deposit there. This enabled us to walk up to the lift in normal boots! It is not too far if not in ski boots, carrying skis. The Sportinia lift is not a walkable distance as far as I am concerned, but the ski bus stops close to the hotel. All in we really enjoyed Sauze, we are not party animals when on a ski holiday, can only stretch to apres ski and some wine with dinner then a wee nightcap! Needless to say there is plenty available for those looking for more nightlife. Just be careful and look after your ski jackets, two guys in our hotel had theirs stolen (including ski passes) when they were out one night.
We had great weather and wonderful conditions. I just love The Milky Way, it is so varied with loads of pretty tree-lined runs as well as some nice blacks.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gran Baita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Baita

Address: Via Villaggio Alpino 21, 10050 Sauze d'Oulx, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sauze d'Oulx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Gran Baita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gran Baita Italy/Province Of Turin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gran Baita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.