We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best in sauze” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gran Baita

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Gran Baita to your Saves list
Hotel Gran Baita
Via Villaggio Alpino 21, 10050 Sauze d'Oulx, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Sauze d'Oulx
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lanark, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“one of the best in sauze”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed here a few times after staying in many of the other hotels in sauze. Its very clean, well run and the food is probably the best in sauze for a half board basis sauze ski holiday. Its pretty much in the centre but 400 metres away from any apres ski noise. This or the relais des alpes are my choices when skiing in sauze.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    61
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
40
37
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

After looking on trip advisor my pal and I booked this hotel for a last minute ski trip,(24 - 31 March) the hotel is comfortable, extremely friendly, very clean, the room had a double and single bed so lots of space, a corner bath...very quiet but only a couple of minutes walk from the bars. The food was great plenty of it....help yourself salad bar with variations each day, a pasta dish, then a main plus dessert or fresh fruit. Just what you needed after a long day on the slopes, the sofas in the lounge around the fire which was lit in the evening was welcoming ..a wonderful drinking chill out zone. Highly recommend this hotel and resort...great sking for intermediates.

Room Tip: Ask for a triple room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here for one week in March 2013. We had previously read reports of noise and basic food. We didn't experience any problems of noise, although our friends on the other side of the hotel said the walls were a bit thin. The food was absolutely fine (I have had much worse in other ski accommodation).
The atmosphere of the hotel was very relaxed and friendly, and the staff put themselves out to be helpful. The hotel was very clean and well cared for.
I would defintely go back.

Room Tip: WE booked a family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Two years running I have been to this hotel and am delighted to say it is as good as ever.
Nicely tucked away in a corner of the village, it is quiet,
yet you still have access to the bars should you have the energy to indulge the night away !
It feels warm and homely. The owner, Paulo makes you feel welcome and the restaurant staff are a real credit to the hotel. Lovely lounge with log fire. One ski lift is a 10 minutes (uphill) walk. The free buses for the other lift are two minutes away from the hotel.

Room Tip: While the rooms are not small, the slightly bigger rooms (for 3 people) give you that extra bit of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just returned from another visit to the Via Latte, staying at the rather old fashioned Gran baita.
Shush! keep is quiet, ace place with a very welcoming owner, Palo. Very good food and extremely friendly atmosphere. Always made to feel at home and would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothesay, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just back had a good time in Sauze but the lift system is slow compared with France The hotel was good, food good also snow was good would go back the night life was great according to my boys and Mark in the resort was brill

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonnie scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just returned, this was the second time my girlfriend and i have stayed here. I'm wary of going back to the same hotel but this one was definitely worth the risk. We had an excellent stay, the hotel is a nice rustic ski hotel. Rooms were very good, we paid extra and got a bigger room. In my opinion its worth it. Paolo and the rest of the staff are very nice to deal with and are extremely helpful. Hotel clean and tidy. The food was amazing, best i've had on a skiing holiday, that was the main reason we went back. only downside was i put my towel down on the bathroom floor to get replaced as instructed but i still had the same towel that night, but thats me being a bit picky. Located a 2 min walk from the town/ski bus stop but out of the way to be reasonably quiet, only people going past are from the hotel. Clotes a 15 min walk uphill. All in all i would recommend this hotel, good value for money, good locatioon and great ski area, in fact i'll probably return next season.

Room Tip: Go for a bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gran Baita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Baita

Address: Via Villaggio Alpino 21, 10050 Sauze d'Oulx, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sauze d'Oulx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Gran Baita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gran Baita Italy/Province Of Turin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gran Baita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.