We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely Alp Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gran Baita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Gran Baita to your Saves list
Hotel Gran Baita
Via Villaggio Alpino 21, 10050 Sauze d'Oulx, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Sauze d'Oulx
Bournemouth
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Homely Alp Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We have just returned from this hotel in the Italian Alps. What a find !
A very cosy hotel, run/owned by an ex Italian Ski Team Member. A very relaxed and warm atmosphere can be found here. Happy hardworking staff are a joy to have around you.Great food served punctually. Technically it's a 3* hotel but you couldn't
wish for anything more, especially as a base for skiing. Two minute walk to the bus stop for the ski lift, about 5 minutes on bus. There is also a lift at the top of the village, about 7 minutes walk in ski boots. Delightfull village setting with lots of bars, restaurants etc for apres ski ( if you have the energy/will) Absolutely Five Stars. BoBBournemouth

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    55
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
32
33
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Friends stayed in the Assietta which was within walking distance to the Gran Baita but because the Gran Baita was tucked away round the corner it was much quieter. Our friends hardly got any sleep for the week they were there........we sept really well. It is tucked away but is still well within walking distance of the main area for shops/restaurants and also the ski lifts. There is a bus which stops at the end of the road to take you to the slopes but I would recommend paying the small charge to leave your skis and boots in the locker at the entrance to the ski lifts. That way you won't need to get the bus (which can get very crowded) as the walk is a very short one if you don't have to carry skis and wear boots!!
Food in the hotel was nice and the waitress staff in the restaurant were more than friendly and accomodating. The one thing we found irritating and odd was that there was no plug socket in the room (except the one half way up the wall for the TV. We always take a small kettle to use in the room for tea and like to keep our phones charged (and the camera) so that we could keep in touch with the friends who were staying in the Assietta but this proved difficult with just that one socket. The kettle lead wouldn't reach the socket so we had to turn the bin upside down and balance it on top to plug it in. Other than that samll inconvenience we found the hotel very nice and we had a really nice holiday.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Spent a week in Sauze at the Gran Baita 29th Jan 2012 to 5th Feb 2012, Good bits, Great service from the staff who were very helpful and accommodating, Food was very good overall, however there was a distinct lack of veg with the main courses. Rooms are big and comfy, again my only gripe is that the beds were hard and the rooms are very hot. Very good location just far enough away from the centre not to get disturbed by the revellers. I must say a big thanks to Alice who waited on us for dinner and to Carmen who called the doctor for me when I wasn't very well, nothing to do with the hotel (fever) and also a big thanks to the Hotel Owner who drove me to the Pharmacy to get my tablets, (it was minus 8 in Sauze and minus 21 on the mountain) apart from the severe cold the skiing was excellent. Would I stay at the hotel again probably yes, to sum it up, Friendly, homely, warm, comfy,

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012 via mobile

Had a weeks stay and agree with the last review. Rooms were nice and big with good views although your own thermostat would be good, we slept with windows open too, and the walls were fairly thin! Food was 3 star however we did eat out one night which was great! Service and staff were good and friendly! Location was good, although £20 each paid for ski deposit on mountain which was worth every penny as you didnt have to carry skis etc every morning. There were a few anti social noisy residents which was probably the biggeat downfall, but thats no real fault of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012 via mobile

Just got back from a week in Sauze and knackered (explained more shortly) so will keep it brief:
The good:
Good food for a Three star
Good location, short walk to free ski bus which collects every 15 mins
Great friendly staff unlike the rest of Italians in the town!!
Good clean bathroom and great shower
Balcony with mountain views

The bad:
The whole hotel was Way, way, way too hot!!! Had to sleep with balcony doors open. The result is most residents coming away with colds.
No tea/coffee fascilities in room.
Noisy residents through out the night not challenged by the alleged 24hr porter the result was about 2hrs sleep per night and shine removed from holiday

Overall good for an 18-30's style break, but couples and those that value sleep may not appreciate the low price attracting inconsiderate/anti social patrons and proximity to all night après ski.


  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012 via mobile

Just come back from staying at Gran Baita and I have to say it was absolutely fantastic! I was a bit worried about staying at this hoteldue to the dated interior but it was so comfy and cosy after a long day of skiing! 11 of us stayed here and not one person had one grumble! The food in the evening was fantastic, huge salad Buffett selection then a 3 course meal! Our waitress was Roberta and she did her up most to make sure we had a lovely dining experience every night! Also Alice who worked as a waitress in the evening and the would be up bright and early tidying our rooms, leaving them absolutely spotless! We didn't have to fold up any clothes all week, as Alice made sure this was done for us! The rooms were spacious and cosy and the room in general was excellent! I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay at Sauze D'oulx and say hello to Sheila the hotel dog!! :-)

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

The hotel was warm and friendly; there was some noise in the hotel late at night, but I can't remember a skiing holiday where this hasn't been the case and this is due to the other visitors and not the hotel's fault. The food was superb for a 3 star and was the best thing about the hotel.
Unfortunately this town just isn't up to scratch for a European ski resort and I will be going back to France/Austria/Switzerland in future; the ski buses were packed - we only managed to catch it once out of the five times we tried; the packed buses just sailed pass - the Italians didn't care and refused to put on extra buses (there was only one every 20 mins, anyway). Consequently you had to walk up hill in ski boots. This wasn't too much of a problem if you could ski, but if you are a beginner you HAVE to catch the bus to get to a different lift - goodness knows how they managed! The airport checking in was a supreme nightmare with many British families nearly missing flights due to ridiculously long and slow moving queues for the British flights.
We did have a lovely holiday but spent much of my time queueing - the lift queues were often 20-25 mins a time!
The hotel was definitely good and I would recommend staying there - if only it could be moved to a different country!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gran Baita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Baita

Address: Via Villaggio Alpino 21, 10050 Sauze d'Oulx, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sauze d'Oulx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Gran Baita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gran Baita Italy/Province Of Turin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gran Baita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.