We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced but tasty” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Il Capricorno Hotel Restaurant

Chalet Il Capricorno Hotel Restaurant
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chalet Il Capricorno Hotel Restaurant to your Saves list
Chalet Il Capricorno Hotel Restaurant
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Case Sparse 21, 10050 Sauze d'Oulx, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Sauze d'Oulx
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Overpriced but tasty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

A heavy snow day forced us in and we entered here though the menu nearly put us off for starters at 18 euros!!
A very welcoming entrance with all staff taking our costs and ski wear things were looking good!!
My friends choose the seasoned which came in a burger format - well presented yes but serious lack of flavour left them leaving half each!! I had the shredded veal which was nice but severely over priced - the best stater was the soup of the day asparagus soup which was lovely thick and creamy and was also the cheapest starter at 13 euros!! Before the starters where eaten a bottle of red wine was ordered which didn't get poured until just before our mains around 30 minutes and from here the service went severely down hill!! Beers where ordered and not received for the entire meal despite asking numerous members of staff!! The main meals where tasty but lacked size and depth we all had fillet steak though the meal was very well cooked!!
We continued with coffee with no milk being out on the table this was also asked for 3-4 times before it was given to us!!
The bill was then given to us during coffee without us asking for it and numerous mistakes with extra waters being added to the bill!!
Wouldn't head back in a hurry for an overpriced poorly waitored establishment

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    11
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
9
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Devon, uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Amazing hotel, a real home from home with great ski in and out facility. Staff were all lovely and attentive. One if the best hotels we have stayed in. We stayed In the 'Virgin' room which we found noisy due to it housing the main hotel security server in a cupboard within the room. Apart from that the room was more than adequate, warm, clean and well stocked with water. This place was a fantastic find and would totally recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, England
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed inFeb 2013 with the wife. I wanted a hotel with a sauna, she wanted exclusivity. She won. Needless to say no relaxation facilities available. But food and service are outstanding. Chalet manager superb. Personally fou d it a little claustrophobic but wifey loved it. Probably wouldn't go again, but worth it as a one off. Guiseppe the manager made the stay supremely pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Had dinner twice in this wonderfully appointed restaurant on the slopes. In the summer try and get there early to enjoy drinks on the terrace with great mountain (and sunset) view. Staff is extremely friendly and makes sure all your needs are met. We went with 3 children and they were made feel at home from the start. Food is probably the best in the whole valley, service great and decor unique. Have booked a room for next winter as we can't wait to try breakfast and the ski in ski out facilities. Would definitely recommend this hotel/restaurant to anyone looking for a real treat!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellieha, Malta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a weeks skiing, staying at the chalet Capricorno Hotel. Perfect location for ski in ski out facilities, with the chairlift being only about 50 metres ski away, with very little queuing..!! It is situated roughly two km up in the mountain away from the main resort area where majority of restaurants and nightlife are. A skidoo "taxi" was always available if you wanted to visit. Roberto was a superb driver....:))
Food and wine good, rooms clean, cosy and always very warm. Beds were turned down every night, which was welcoming for a good nights sleep after a hard days skiing.
We arrived as total strangers yet left feeling we had made friends as the staff were very friendly and attentive from the minute we arrived and for the whole of our stay!!
Would definitely stay again if visiting the resort....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Let's start off by saying that this hotel is literally ski-in, ski-out, unless you are getting to the hotel before 8am or after 5pm. At that time a snowmobile can pick you up. But, there is no driving, or parking. Once you understand this, the rest is a breeze!
My wife and I stayed at the Chalet for 4 nights, and each was wonderful. After being picked up in town by Mauricio (who is awesome), we put our bags on the snowmobile and skied up to the chalet. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a courteous staff, ready to take care of each and every detail. We were guided to our room, "El Toro" Room, where we found a nice, relaxing room, much like a relaxed lodge, with a cozy bedroom, easy-to-manuver bathroom, and a patio with a large deck (though, it was cold).
After washing up, we were treated to cocktails and snacks. After this was an amazing meal, which is made and prepared in the kitchen.
The breakfast each day was amazing. Good eggs, bacon, oj, coffee, you name it. It was wonderful. The staff brought us into town (5 minute ride from the Chalet), and we were able to rent cheap skis and buy reasonable ski-lift passes.
Fast-Forward
The meals were wonderful. We had breakfast and dinners at the Chalet. The staff is courteous. Each member has his/her place, and the routine is set. Two stick to serving, one sticks to ordering and directing, one sticks to the front desk, and so forth. It's like a little family. After a day-or-so, it really makes you feel at home.
At the end of the day, you can ski in and have some drinks and snacks while watching the lifts close, and the people ski away. The staff takes your equipment, and stores it for the night. The mountain view is beautiful. The Chalet is so cozy.
If you want to go into town, the staff will snowmobile you down. My wife and I loved it because of how awesome Mauricio was. "you good?!" But, the town offers some wonderful restaurants, with A+ service. Plus, the staff/owners of the restaurants/bars love English speaking people, especially Americans (which sounds a little funny). Many of the owners of the restaurants are English, and cater to English and Irish visitors.
If you are patient with the experience at the Chalet, it completely pays back ten-fold. The staff really takes care of you. As long as you enjoy the experience, they are happy.
I'm telling you, my wife and I would do this trip 50x, if we could. We loved it.
When we left on the final day, we got a little irritated because our plans weren't going exactly the way that we planned. But, all the while, the Chalet tried its hardest to make sure we were comfortable. They made us breakfast an hour early, called for a taxi to meet us at the bottom of the hill, and had certain members of the staff wake-up to help us out.
My advice with leaving, make sure you have a later am train ride, not first thing in the morning. The Chalet moves slow in the morning, which is nice when you don't have anywhere to be.
Take our advice, stay here! Stay here, often! It's so worth it!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Loved this place, a little gem full of the authentic character that most hotels lack!
Located right on the slopes, this is a very charming old chalet, very well appointed with great rustic woodden furniture, old beams and a magnificent old woodden staircase.
Staff is great, food is excellent. A lot of details well looked after, welcome amenities, complimentary water, etc... very appreciated.

The only disappointment is the uneccessary excess of little ceramic dolls that decorate the restaurant and some cheap stuff on the walls.
The chalet is so authentic that these are out of place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Il Capricorno Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Il Capricorno Hotel Restaurant

Address: Via Case Sparse 21, 10050 Sauze d'Oulx, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sauze d'Oulx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalet Il Capricorno Hotel Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Chalet Il Capricorno Hotel Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Il Capricorno Hotel Restaurant Italy/Province Of Turin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Il Capricorno Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.