We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Get What You Pay For.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Giuliana

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Giuliana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Villa Giuliana
via Belluno, 12, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 61 hotels in Riva Del Garda
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“You Get What You Pay For.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We staye at this hotel the same time as the lady and granddaughter who were upset.The rooms did vary considerably it was pot luck which you got.Breakfast was a barely adequate continental type the only warm thing was a boiled egg,apoor selection of cold meats/cheese,watered down fruit juice.Evening meal,the meat was the only pallatable part,people did go out to eat elsewhere for whatever reason.There were two people on our coach who spoke fluent Italian and picked up on the bad attitude of the hotel management toward us as a British coachparty.There was no entertainment in the evenings but the sociability of the tour party made up for this.Compared to other residents (none British) we were treated as second class holidaymakers for whatever reason.i.e.we got a cup of tea or coffee(two if lucky)others got a pot full,they got extra fruit with desserts and second helpings of starter course this may sound petty but is it necessary! The only plus side was the pool/sunbathing area,location.A typical you get what you pay for hotel,glad we did our homework before we went there were no suprises within our price range.Love Lake Garda but won,t use this hotel again will find one where the landlady at least smiles at you and thanks you for your custom.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    15
    9
    9
See reviews for
8
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
kent
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

My Granddaughter and i have just returned from this holiday in Lake Garda which is a beautiful place ,but the room we had in this hotel had a small window with a tree straight outside blocking out the light , when we opened the window insects flew in. I had springs coming up in the matress,a noise from the air conditioning went on all the time along with every time a tap was turned on in a nearby room we could here the noise.The room was all brown ,walls ,brown blankets,bathroom ,it was wthout doubt depressing ,my complaints fell on deaf ears as the owner claimed she did not understand English, but when we ask for a glass of tap water with a so called meal the request was refused as you had to buy a bottle from them ! so she understood when money was involved !.As a non meat eater i was given a few chips on a large plate for dinner or tomatoes with two bits cheese on top.I would rate this place as the worse i have ever stopped in and too top it all when i said we would sleep in the lounge rather than stay in the room i was threaten with the police! and told if we could sit around the pool for two hours away from the room.We were both in tears after a few nights in this place.Glad to be home.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed here as part of our first ever coach trip and first trip to Italy, Riva del garda is one of the most stunning places we have ever been. The hotel is in a great position , five minutes walk from the lake ,the rooms are basic but clean, the food however a different matter! bland ,tasteless terrible! great if you don"t want to eat Italian, I did"nt expect to find liver and onions on the menu and neither do I want pasta with boiled broccoli .Although we had payed for an evening meal we ate out most of the week, a vegetarian in our group was told to eat the salad buffet! The owner is a very very rude and angry person and the waiting staff very unfriendly, there are plenty of good value restaurants and a supermarket close by so eat out, Go to Riva but don"t stay here!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

we stayed in this hotel as part of a coach tour holiday.hotel and our room was spacious and clean although the shower cubicle was quite small but adequate.breakfast continental and vening meal mainly italian,soups very good,meats always tender and there was lots of fresh salad selection.the waitresses friendly and always busy.
location approx 15 mins walk into the old town of riva,overall a good value holiday.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

Was part of a coach tour which in itself was most enjoyable and very inexpensive. Happy to say the services of the coach driver and courier made up for the let down of this 3* Hotel. Our room was clean and on 2nd floor, however others in party expressed concerns about rooms on 3rd floor being damp and dusty with cobwebs.
Breakfast was ok but nothing to really look forward to. Thought the orange juice in the dispenser became more watery as the week progressed. Took until later in the week to find the eggs!
Evening meals were extremely poor, turkey roll and mashed potato from a packet with a film of water around the edges were served up one night. You have to choose the meal for the next night the evening before at dinner. Soup was ok but not much else. First night the dessert was tinned fruit. An omelette arrived one evening which looked as if it would be better used to scrubbing pots and pans rather than being eaten. There is basic and there is almost inedible.
Whilst staff were attentive and polite, there was no sense of pride in their job and looking at the management I can understand why. The evening meals became the subject of a majority of jokes for the week as it was the only way to take things.
We even cancelled our meal the last night and walked the distance into the centre of Riva De Garda for a decent meal, a problem for anyone who can't walk far as whilst it is just off the main road into the centre of the Town it is a good 20 minutes walk to the majority of shops and restaurants.
Have to say the pool area was lovely but in October a dip was not very enjoyable as the pool was unheated.
This whole Hotel appearred stuck in the 1970's from the brown blankets and candlewick bedspread in orange to the decor in the restaurant and bar/reception areas.
Would not return to this Hotel as enjoy food and would prefer to spend more money and get somewhere that give you food which is more like that which I would expect of Italy.
You get what you pay for but the quality of food was even below that of 3* accommodation. By having to go out and eat decent food at lunchtime, the holiday was far more expensive than it was imagined. Thank goodness for good weather and fantastic coach team in a wonderful country, they made it an enjoyable break.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

Very clean hotel of a very high standard. Rooms comfortable with all the usual and expected items included. Good size T.V. receiving some english programs. Good continental breakfast. Evening meal Italian style and taste. All food good quality and most of the fresh salad, grapes and eggs are from their own land adjacent to the hotel.
We were on package tour but the hotel was well used by the passing trade. Only 5 minuites walk to the lake, 15 to the old town but there is a bus service. Would use again.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

Lovely hotel which was very clean and tidy. Staff were very friendly and the owner was very pleasent however I would not like to cross swords with her. The food was to a very high standard and plenty of it. Plenty of sun chairs and tables around pool, which were all spotless. 10 minute walk to the lake and another 10 minutes walk to the ferrys. Shops and bank about 5 minute from hotel Overhaul a very nice stay and would go back again.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Giuliana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Giuliana

Address: via Belluno, 12, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 61 hotels in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Villa Giuliana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Giuliana Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Giuliana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.