We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“13th - 20th May 2012” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Antico Borgo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Antico Borgo to your Saves list
Hotel Antico Borgo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via A Diaz 15, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 61 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence 2014
norwich uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“13th - 20th May 2012”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stayed here last Sept 23rd and gave it five stars.
Pillows still thin and uncomfortable. Towels a bit sandpaperish.
Room excellent and clean. TV in Italian with 2 German channels and I French channel and BBC world news. We Brits are always short changed on that front. Maid cleaned every day to a high standard.
Manager reception staff very good.
Restaurant staff friendly and helpful.
Great location in central part of old town.
This is a boutique hotel and not beachside poole sunbathing location. Although are some sun beds on roof. This a great base for the ferry and walking around lake and touring around lake Garda. Feels more Italian than Limone or Malcesene.
Reason for 4 stars rather than 5 is the food has gone down hill a bit.
There is an anti pasto buffet that was great last year. This year cold peas, cold broccoli etc didnt cut it. There were grilled courgettes and aubergines but not up to last years standard. They are probably cutting back like every body else and saving money
A few main course were poor and inedible.
A few meals were excellent. Overall not 4 Star dining.
Breakfast ok but scrambled eggs every morning? Plenty of cereals fruits bread croissants etc.
Went with Newmarket holidays again and spoke to other people in hotels in Riva del Garda.
Stick clear of the Centrale on square!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    92
    31
    6
    1
See reviews for
38
153
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Location - stunning at tip of huge lake and surrounded by mountains in the centre with quaint side streets and buildings. Close to all amenities i.e. variety of shops; bars & restaurants; ferry service.
We got an all day ferry ticket for zone B which cost slightly more than going to just 1 place (20.50 euros each). It took 1 hour to get to Malcesine which is the 3rd stop en route and where to get cable car from (19 euros each).
The clock tower and bastion are worth a visit as the view from both is stunning. There is a cafe & bar at the bastion. It took us 1 hour to walk to Torbole 1 way which is a lovely scenic walk and has lots of stop offs & picnic & bathing areas along the way. Walks for all levels and abilities in the area.

Hotel - We found all the staff at the hotel friendly, approcable, relaxed and helpful. We had a room with a small balcony next to roof terrace which was a bonus. The views from the terrace are great overlooking the roof tops, clock tower, lake and lit chapel & bastion on mountain side at night. Holiday makers could take their own drinks on roof terrace which during our stay was never abused. Our room was spotless and cleaned daily.
The only downside for us was some of the communal rooms. The lounge and bar are small and in the reception area but not a problem overall for us as we either went out or used the roof terrace, the weather was lovely. The dining room had a canteen feel, decor not to our taste at rear due to padded walls and tables are very close together so no chance of a romantic meal together. On the positive you get to meet all nationalities and compare sight seeing trips, tips and experiences.

Food - Vlaue for money, plentiful and varied daily, staff attentive. Some people did not realise how the courses are served at mealtimes in Italy and so were suprised when the main meal was served that the portion size was smaller than how it is presented in the UK. You get anti-pasti course (selection from cold buffet) / starter / main & pudding, very filling. Must admit though that our best evening meal was when we ate out due to getting back late from a trip at Leon D'Oro (in side street by hand made leather shop), food,service & atmosphere fab.

Transfer - we were lucky that we got picked up on time to & from hotel but did hear that other travellers from the UK had negative experiences especilly on night flights, we had mid-day times. The mini-bus on both journeys though was over-booked especially on return. We had 4 people sat on a 3 seater seat and on asking how we were supposed to fasten our seat belts driver replied"no matter"! It took 2 1/2hrs to hotel & 3 1/2hrs on return due to drop 0ffs & pick ups. We had to be ready @ 4.30am on return & our flight was not until 11.15hrs.Before we left I e-mailed hotel about concerns regarding transfer reviews and received prompt reply that it was nothing to do with them so I rang Holiday.com and was told that the issue had been resolved, clearly not the case for some.

Would revisit this location in a heartbeat and would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Hotel is beautifully situated in a quiet street just off the centre of town . The rooms are newly renovated , the bathrooms excellent. We went on the half board option and both meals were really good with excellent choice .Both the wine menu and bar menu are extensive and very good value. The staff are helpful and friendly - all round excellent hotel.

Room Tip: No swimming pool at the hotel but a very nice roof terrace to relax on
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolettaBarberi, Customer service at Hotel Antico Borgo, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear jill186346,
thank you for your very good review!
We are glad you appreciated the hotel and the services provided and we hope you will consider to choose our hotel again in case of a future stay in Riva del Garda.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Let me start by saying that this hotel does not deserve its 4 stars. Meals are just average, service is impersonal and rooms are very basic - nothing what they look like on their website. But the worst thing of all is their complete lack of comunication between the travel agent (holidaysbooked or hotelsbooked.com) and the hotel itself. We bought a deal on groupon that suggested that half board was with drinks inclussive, only to find out that drinks were in fact, extra, upon our arrival. The transfer was 2 hours from Bergamo airport (although I was told it would take around 45 min when I was booking it - always check google maps, don't trust tour operators!!!) and the worst part was that they only notify you of the waiting time (which could be up to 2 hours) after you had actually purchased the transfers. In fact, we had to wait over 2 hours upon our arrival and make numerous number of phone calls to the travel agent and the transfer provider before the driver finally showed up. Roaming charges+nerves are definitely so not worth it. As in a previous review, cold dodgy starters upon arrival did nothing to easy the pain. On the other note, hotel offers virtually no help if you are seeking a bit of advice as to where to go or what to do in the area, breakfast is very basic (scrambled eggs and dodgy sausages), you are also meant to get up very eary for it, as it is served between 7 and 9 am. Overall, not really a pleasant stay we were looking for.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolettaBarberi, customer service at Hotel Antico Borgo, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear Flyaway78,
thank you for spending time in writing a review about your stay.

We are very sorry about the dissatisfaction expressed towards the travel agent you have booked with. We have indeed other troubles for the same reason with clients who booked with this operator and we have to underline that the deal advertised on Groupon.uk was not directly made by our hotel, but by this operator and Groupon itself. We have already informed them about the mistake they did in saying drinks were included, since they are always excluded and have to be paid as extras regardless of the accomodation chosen (bb - hb). After our clarification, the deal has been corrected accordingly, but this matter has damaged our company image as well.
We also have to say that our hotel does not organize transfers and does not provide this service. Therefore, the one included in the deal advertised by Groupon has nothing to do with the hotel.
Our rooms are all characterised by warm coloured furniture and modern details and the staff is always at disposal when clients ask for suggestions and information about the area; moreover, every room is provided with a leaflet with the hotel services and some tourist interesting suggestions.
We hope you will come back again in the future, we would be glad to reserve you a special welcome next time!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

The Hotel is very well situated in the town. The rooms were clean and provided everything you needed. The food was also very good, okay not fantastic but more than adequte for the price you pay. We did consider eating out on some nights but frankly the food was fine and didn't warrant the extra expense of dining out (I wish they could have heated the plates when serving hot food) and the breakfast was also plentiful with lots of choice. We hired a car, so didn't have any problems with transfers. It's a shame that so many reviews seem to blight the hotel over the transfers, even though in most cases this is nothing to do with the hotel. Whilst at the time of year we visited, the area is just starting the season, there is still plenty to do. The views alone around the area are breathtaking. I notice some people mention the lack of view. Frankly, at the prices they charge you wouldn't expect a view from your room and in any case, the sun terrace on the rooftop, which we enjoyed using, gave plenty of views of the lake. Plus the hotel is situated right bang in the town centre, ideal for exploring the town. I would say overall we really enjoyed our 7 night stay and would certainly consider going back to the hotel and the area again some time in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolettaBarberi, Customer Service at Hotel Antico Borgo, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear Terry D,

Thanks for your positive feedback!
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the view from the rooftop terrace. As you point out, our location right in the centre of Riva del Garda is ideal for visiting the town but there are many other beautiful cities and villages to see nearby, so we hope you will come back soon to our hotel and enjoy them all!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I purchased a 5 night stay here through a Groupon Deal. Riva Del Garda basically shuts down this time of year, but due to the huge take up of this Groupon deal, there were many Brits here. It was very cold and there was little to do, although on our last day, one of the ferry companies put on a ferry service for the higher than expected tourist presence on the lake.

The hotel was very clean and the staff friendly. There is no language barrier if Italian is a problem; the staff all speak great English. The rooms were very comfortable and were serviced well every day. The service staff were as good as invisible. The deal we had was all inclusive and the standard of the food on offer was good, however it was let down by being consistently too cold. The salad buffet was very good and was fresh and food levels were replenished regularly. There is Wifi in the hotel lobby, but is not free. This is is not a big issue as rates are very cheap, a few euros per hour. You don't have to use all the time purchased at one time; only what you want at the time and keep the balance until later.

We never had a view over the lake and I do not think there are any rooms with a view, but I cannot confirm this.

I would not return this early in the year, due to the lack of activities, owing to the heavy reliance on tourism for survival. The additional tourist presence from the Groupon deal may mean that the locals may expect next year to be as popular and open the tourist activities earlier.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Lovely hotel in super location. We loved the food. I think those that complain are just fussy eaters. We had planned to eat out some nights but didn't feel the need to. We did find the cold buffet selection of starters a bit strange. It would have been rather nice to have had some more hot ones. My only small complaint that, as over 60's, we found the trek to our room rather difficult (several short flights of stairs with a lift journey in between). To give them their due they did offer to move us but we had unpacked by then.

Transfers a nightmare. We had to wait 4 hrs at airport to be collected so we missed dinner. (The hotel did provide a cold buffet but it wasn't really adequate when you hadn't eaten properly all day.) We were told to be ready far to early, therefore missing breakfast, for our return journey and had to endure a 3 and a half hr round trip, dropping some people off 5hrs too early for their flight from Verona. We arrived at Milan Bergamo (picking up some people who had been waiting for almost 4 hrs) so late that some of them only caught their flight by the skin of their teeth. We were lucky, we had half an hour to spare! On top of that the driver spent most of his time on his mobile (sometimes to his mama), holding it in one hand and waving the other in the air! Never again will I use Holidaysbooked.com or Hotelsbooked.com.

Room Tip: Didn't see any of the other rooms so can't really say. Despite the trek to our room it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Antico Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antico Borgo

Address: via A Diaz 15, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#18 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#22 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Antico Borgo 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Antico Borgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Borgo Hotel
Hotel Antico Borgo Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Antico Borgo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.