We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel experince ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Royal to your Saves list
Hotel Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Longa 8, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 61 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
BEDFORD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worst hotel experince ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

Booked holoiday with Travel sphere who are a reputable travel company. Should have checked with Tripadviser before booking where there are many negative reports but in view of reputation of travel company we did not bother.
Hotel location is good, just a short walk from the shores of the lake. But the Hotel is very poor, paricularily as regards food.
We upgraded to this Hotel to give ourselves a treat. How this can be classed as 4 star is beyond belief. More like a down grade to 2 star.
There was an evening meal main course selection each day which you had to pre-book. This was always Fish or Pork. No gravy. One day an option was given as a roast. We selected this thinking roast beef but guess what? Roast pork.There was only one vegetable each day which was potato.
My wife tried the fish on day but could not eat it. Dry, with very strong flavour.
Wednesday was a theme day when we had 2 veg, potatos and peas (approx 6 peas).
Cold breakfast buffet was very basic and bland. It improved considerably however when a coach load of noisy and beligerant Germans arrived.
There was no comfortable area to relax in after the meal.
There was only one downstars loo which was outside, along side the swimming pool. It had no lock on the door, there was no bulb in the actual toilet area and the first aid box was empty.
Air conditioning is advertised in the brochure but they stated it was not availaqble until 1st June.After protesting about the heat they switched it on but it did not work. Slepped with balcony door open.
If you are tempted by this holiday then do not under any circumstance up grade to the Royal. The Brione Hotel is a much better bet. We spent a little time there and the facilities are much better, also food is more varied.
We wrote to the travel Company highlighting these anomolies.
It beggers belief that In the latest brochure which we have just received they are still advertising the Royal as a 4 star upgrade.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    21
    20
    6
    9
See reviews for
10
36
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

I went on a Leger tour to this hotel recently. Staff were friendly and helpful, but the hotel room was quite basic and had very little space. There was too little choice of evening meal, and I was forced to eat outside the hotel on one occasion. On one evening there were three fish courses, and very little alternative choice. The packed lunches provided were very poor, and there was no free WIFI access at the hotel; which is something people increasingly expect these days.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

I don't understand the bad reviews. Room wasn't huge, but it was big enough. Wardrobe, chair, bed, desk and safe.
Really liked the balcony with mountain views.

The staff were very friendly and all spoke great English. The rooms were cleaned well daily.

The food was fine. Buffet style except for the Thursday night, but there were so many restaurants to eat in, it didn't make sense to eat there every night, and as the hotel was so cheap anyway, you don't really loose money by not eating there.

The one day that we did need to stay in the Hotel, there was enough to keep us occupied. The pool and hot-tub were empty during the day, and the bar was open. Very quiet and relaxing. It's not a hotel for staying in all day, it's a base for sleeping in-between days out! It really is two minutes walk to the Lake, it is quite a walk into Riva, so don't stay there if you can't walk far, but if you can, it's a very nice walk.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

2 friends and I stayed at this hotel with Leger Holidays. Their brochure described the hotel as 3*, this we think is over generous and would suggest a 2* or even 1* would be more appropriate. The staff were very friendly, the hotel was clean but the rooms we were allocated were very small and shabby. I had a single occupancy room and had to make a conscious effort not to stub my toes when moving around the bedroom. The double room shared by my friends was a little better space wise but not much. The furniture in both rooms was very tired and basic. The air conditioning in our rooms was so weak it made absolutely no difference and as a result very uncomfortable to be in and sleeping at night was a real struggle. The air conditioning in the dining room also was totally ineffective - no chance of lingering over a meal. The food was edible but of poor quality and lacking in variety. Only on a couple of occasions were we served what could be considered Italian dishes and even then the pizza was almost inedible. Deserts appeared to be made from packet mixes. Apart from melon no fresh fruit was served. Tinned fruit was served at breakfast.

I wrote to Leger with our comments after the holiday in July and, apart from an acknowledgement and promise of a response within 28 days, am still waiting almost 3 months later.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston-s-Mare
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

Have just returned from a Leger holiday at the Royal, and can not fault the place. Staff were friendly very helpful and hard working. Our only gripe was the air con needs seeing to.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

no air conditioning we went with leger because we trusted them to use a good hotel but the room was that hot one night we slept as close to balcony as possible spoilt holiday shower door wouldnt shut, bedrooms a bit grotty but food ok

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

Just home from a pleasant stay at this hotel. We were A,O,A in Verona booked a month earlier, travelled up the Brenner motorway arriving 3hrs later, delayed by an accident/roadworks other tourists etc.
Most of the previous negative reviews have a valid point, e,g, rating etc, but this did`nt stop us from having a good time!!
The food was adequate, afternoon coffee and cakes. Staff very helpfull.
The rooms could do with a good refurbish. Not a 4* (had to settle bar bill with cash as cards not accepted) No pool towels provided so take your own!!
The hotel is situated about a 2 min walk fom the lake edge and 20 mins to ferry point in the old town.
" You get what you pay for"

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Address: Via Longa 8, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Riva Del Garda
Hotel Royal Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.