We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xray Hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Ristorante Ancora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo Ristorante Ancora to your Saves list
Albergo Ristorante Ancora
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Via Montanara 2, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 27 Riva Del Garda B&B and Inns
London
1 review
“Xray Hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I spended a couple of days in Hotel Ancora... it is nice, but this year i've heard there's a new giant antenna tower on its roof.. I'm worried for the welness of my person and of my childs... Next Year I'll Prefer To Change Hotel... Maybe with WELLNESS

Room Tip: Stay away from the highest floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    14
    9
    16
See reviews for
10
22
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

The hotel is situated in a great area and they rely and make you pay for that only.
No ac, rooms with no windows, bath with no ventilation, breakfast shameless.
Worst part is that all Of that in an area that excells in tourist services.
Why we got there? Local tourist guy told me to go there.
Take my advice, stay few yards away from center but do not spoil you vacation in this great land

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Canyon National Park, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We ate dinner on the upstairs terrace which had a partial view of the mountains. The food was fine. Also, it was quiet up there. The night before we ate at a restaurant outside on the pedestrian street, which was spoiled by some very loud people at the next table. We recommend terrace restaurants!

Room Tip: We did not stay here, just ate dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stumbled across the Ancora and are glad we did. The location is perfect--built right into the old city wall and above the pedestrian only street Via Dante Aligheri. Our room was right above the upper terrace of the restaurant, but even on Saturday night the party sounds (which were quite pleasant, mostly) were over by 10 or so. The room was fine, but the big selling point is that it was one of two with a balcony overlooking the town, where so much of the daily life is in the streets. It's convenient to the lakeshore (though the swimming beach is a 10-15 minute walk away), close to the ferry dock, and about 1 km away from the bus station. Close to many restaurants and sidewalk cafes. Service wasn't great, and we were a little concerned that there was rarely anyone at the front desk--leaving all our room keys at risk of being used by someone else.

Room Tip: 11 and 12 have the balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Stayed here two nights on walking trip, management difficult booked a twin room got double didn't help change it. Smelt on 3rd floor. Dinner awful, breakfast ordinary. Guests not allowed to sit at tables to have drink and do internet. Couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soenderborg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Did not stay in the hotel but ate in the restaurant. Food was nice BUT service was totally unacceptable! We are a family of four and we ordered our meal - some had pasta with a side salad and some had a main course salad. We asked for all dishes to be served together. Well first one main course salad and the side salad arrived. After having clarified that we ordered two main course salads the second arrived and then nothing.... after about 20 min and with the salads long finished we asked for our pasta. it took another 20 minutes or so before this arrived and we certainly did not feel that we had received teh experience that we had expected i.e. to enjoy a meal together. Waiting staff and owner were apologetic, but I did not feel that I got value for money even though they took 10 percent off the bill (only after being asked for compensation several times). I would never eat there again as I really feel that staff and management were indifferent and inefficient.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

I loved the location of this Hotel. It was right in the middle of the historical centre and everything was on the door step. It was good value - nothing too fancy but everything you needed. The biggest disappointment was some of the staff. The yound girl doing breakfast - Kate i think, was lovely but the other young girl on the dinner shift and young guy were very unfriendly and rude at times. The owner has a gorgeous Jack Russell dog called Marly who made the stay a little more pleasant. It was the end of the season but no excuse to be rude and unfriendly.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Ristorante Ancora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Ristorante Ancora

Address: Via Montanara 2, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergo Ristorante Ancora 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tiny butmost valuable details,intense and fascinating atmospheres,still functioning and active settlements have maintained the ancient characteristics of medieval city.The Hotel Ancora lies discreet on the pedestrian precint inside the ancient walls of Riva,just 150 metres away from the banks of the lake garda and a few minutes from Congress Centre.Rooms teeming with history and conforts are furnished to recreate the old magnificence in pursuit of suspending the time.Typical italian cuisine,gastronomical varieties from seafood to meat assortment,to the traditional Pizza everything accompanied by excellent local wines in its inviting and cosy restaurant "Ancora" or in its splendid terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Albergo Ristorante Ancora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Ristorante Ancora Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Ristorante Ancora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.