We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of a let down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Campagnola

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Campagnola to your Saves list
Hotel Campagnola
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Tomaso 11, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 61 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Wigan, Lancashire
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
“A bit of a let down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

This hotel was too far out of Riva to be close to anything of interest or a good restaurant. The food in the hotel was a bit like school dinners and there appeared to be a lot of workers staying there. It was a noisy hotel with karaoke that we could hear from our room and we had an attic room. The room was very dingy with very low beams that were covered with a bit of carpet to try and prevent you from banging your head!
Thet did not produce toiletries only hand wash and a shower cap.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    59
    14
    1
    3
See reviews for
55
34
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2009

We stayed here for 6 nights with our youth brass band for our summer concert tour. It is a popular choice for school/youth music groups, but each group is given its own floor so as not to disturb other guests. It was also notable that when we stayed earlier in the year (on an inspection trip) we were not disturbed by the group which was staying here at the same time, as the rooms seem well sound-proofed.

The hotel is located a couple of miles north of Riva del Garda; you will need transport to get to the centre. However, this does mean that the surrounding area is much more impressive than from the centre of town - the views to the mountains and vineyards are superb, especially from the pool area. To get a room with a view ask for one on the garden/pool side rather than road side.

The rooms were good, modern and clean with minibars and hairdryers. The bathrooms were fairly standard but clean - some were more recently refurbished than others, but all were fine. The air-conditioning worked brilliantly in some rooms and not at all in others, and the management seemed unable to do anything about this. However, I had one of the rooms in which it wasn't working and yet the room cooled down well at night anyway (keeping the shutters down in the day helps).

Facilities here were excellent, especially for groups. There was a bar with a pleasant seating area in the garden. There are also swings, slides and games rooms located in the garden, along with a basketball hoop and table tennis. There's also a large playing field amongst the vines at the back of the hotel, with goal posts and a badminton/volleyball net. The pool is excellent, a good size, not too deep, and in a beautiful setting with the mountains around. Staff were all excellent and accommodated all our requests. On a couple of evenings guests in the bar were provided with platters of local meats, cheese and bread, which were excellent!

Food was OK, we noticed that our group was given inferior evening meals to the adult group with which we shared a dining room, but I think that depends on the price you pay. However it was of a reasonable quality, there was lots of it and a good salad buffet to help fill up - even our hungriest blokes were over-faced! Note however that vegetarians are poorly catered for - a lump of cheese for the main course most nights! However, there was always a vegetarian pasta option before that, which was very filling. Breakfast was good, and included meats and cheeses, cakes, pastries, yoghurts, bread etc. Ask for a cappucino rather than having coffee from the machine - much better!

Tip - there is an excellent pizzeria called Rolly's only a minute's walk from the hotel. Go out of the gate at the back of the hotel and turn right. We ate here several times on our inspection trip and took the whole group there on the last night!

If you don't mind staying outside the centre this is a very good choice of hotel, and we would particularly recommend it to groups and families.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

A very clean and comfortable hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was limited, but plentiful. Nice pool area with lovely views of the mountains. Although a little out of town, the hotel has cycles and it is a 10 minute easy ride into the centre. The hotel is on a main road, so road side rooms slightly noisier. Altogether pretty good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

i came to campagnola with the school music tour, the sixth form stayed elsewhere, while we stayed here. the staff were excellent, didnt even flinch when they saw around 170 rough london kids with around 14 exhausted looking teachers stomp through the bright and clean lobby. our rooms were opened by key cards, with a bell to see if anyone's in. the rooms were great with a fridge, safe, clean beds and a nice tv and balcony, with a wardrobe with blankets if it gets a bit chilly. the bathroome was superior, with a bidet, loads of toiletries, huge shower sink and toilet with a hairdryer installed. rooms are air conditioned too, the only problem is there is no tea or coffee facilities, if theyre were the rooms would have been delightful, and theyre still were excellent without the tea/coffee. food was pleasant, the breakfast was a large selection of continental items plus fruit salad, boiled eggs, tea/coffee and ham cheese and rolls. dinners were great too, although we didnt get to choose because the teachers chose. the bar was bright and the bar was plentiful. the outside area was brilliant with the great pool with midnight lights, a ping pong and a games room. overall excellent, location was good too. yes i would stay here again.

  • Liked — Almost Everyhting
  • Disliked — no tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham Kent
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2006

The hotel is a little far from the lake, you need transport if you are staying in this hotel. It is nice and clean, nice pool and friendly staff. Fine for a few days.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2005

The hotel would benefit from a refurbishment but we found it clean and tidy. Service is good and rooms are of a good size. It has a nice pool and some children's play equipment. Location is good - within a short drive or cycle ride of the lake and has plenty of parking. Meals are good but the menu choice was extremely limited. For a good restaurant turn left out of the hotel and you will find a new restaurant about 1 km on the right which serves excellent food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Campagnola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Campagnola

Address: Via San Tomaso 11, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#13 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Campagnola 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Campagnola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Campagnola Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Campagnola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.