We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot to stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Campagnola

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Campagnola to your Saves list
Hotel Campagnola
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Tomaso 11, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 61 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great spot to stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Stayed for four nights after arriving late.
Good food, good rooms, quiet nights and very well maintained and serviced.
Good and helpful staff. Nice bar and excellent spritz.
Free push bikes if you want to get into Riva del Garda.
Will go again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    59
    14
    1
    3
See reviews for
55
34
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lavallette, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

When we arrived at the hotel we did not like the location. About a 10 minute bike ride to beach and on a main road. However, the rooms were large and clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. My kids really enjoyed the inflatables and trampolines in the backyard. If you are not looking for fancy, but friendly, clean and fun, this is a good place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed for an 8 day stay in the beginning of August at Campagnola hotel Riva Del Garda. the party consisted of 3 adults and a teenager. We arrived at 9,30pm after a three hour journey driving from Malpensa Airport with our hired car and were very pleased when we arrived to find free ample parking space available for hotel residents. We were greeted by Roberto the receptionist and he gave us free brochures to help us explore Riva del Garda.

Our hotel room which was medium size had all the necessary amenities with amazing views of vine yards and the surrounding mountains, the hotel is spotless and very clean. The hotel staff were very helpful and the food was great.

The hotel is situated about 25 min walking distance from the centre and is ideal if you want to stay in a peaceful area.

If we will be at Riva again we will surely book again. 100% recommended.

Joe

Room Tip: Rooms on the poolside area, because they offer amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orsett, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

A lovely clean modern hotel. All beautifully appointed with excellent decor. Sabrina the lady that registered us and also served us in the bar was wonderful. Nothing too much trouble and super friendly - good English too. The buffet breakfast was well set out and all fresh as a daisy, and as with all the decor in the hotel the dining room was beautifully and tastefully furnished. No meals served other than breakfast, but right next door to the hotel is a first class restaurant/pizzeria owned by the proprietors of the hotel. Excellent food and not expensive. Tea, coffee and alcohol available from the reception/bar until about 11 at night. Our room was spotless with really comfortable beds, just enough wardrobe/cupboard space (no drawers at all) and, as is not always the case in even the most expensive hotels, all the light fittings and sockets worked. The bathroom, as with the bedroom, was spotlessly clean. Nice modern tiling, no bath, but a very large shower. So powerful you couldn't have it on full blast, and endless hot water. Clean sheets and towels every day. Safe in the wardrobe. Worth the money and we would stay here again. Poolside and public areas very clean and with more than enough sun beds and seating. Pool not heated, but Malcesine in the season is so hot it doesn't need heating.
The irritations. The hotel instruction manual was translated in Italian or German, no English. The telephone had no instructions at all, in any language. No tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Only one mirror in the whole room/bathroom area, and that in the bathroom over the wash basin, so not full length. One very small shelf in the bathroom with no other cupboard or storage space, no work surface either side the wash basin, so nowhere to lay out sponge bag items. No shelf or basket in the shower so the soap and shampoo etc had to sit on the ledge round the shower tray, and consequently fell off continually while the shower was being used. Poor maintenance. Although the room and bathroom was thoroughly cleaned each day, along with the lavatory, the lavatory seat was hanging loose on it's fittings. I tried to tighten it but fingers were not enough, although a long reach socket would have fixed it in minutes. The bathroom extractor fan didn't work.
Without "the annoying irritations" it would have earned 5 stars not 4

Room Tip: Rooms at the front will give you a wonderful view of Lake Garda, rooms at the back will offer a love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Hotel Campagnola was a pleasant suprise - we stayed here as part of a group for a music festival, and were very comfortable indeed. Our room was large and well maintained,with comfy firm beds, and extremely clean. There was a large wardrobe, and safe - but no drawers, just shelves. It was perfectly quiet, and opened onto a very large (shared) balcony overlooking the gardens, with a nice view of fields and mountains beyond. We were at the back of the hotel - I understand the rooms on the roadside might be noisier, but though busy the road is only single carriageway. The bathroom was new or recently re-furbished with a good strong hot shower, a helpful stool, and hooks, oh joy! There was table tennis and various children's play facilities in the garden, as well as a pool, though we did not use these ourselves. The dining area, lobby and bar were all attractive, spacious and inviting.

The food we had in this hotel was very good on the whole - breakfast was an ample and varied continental style buffet, with different types of bread (earlybirds got the best choice!) some fresh fruit, juices, eggs, cheese, ham, salami and hot drinks... We also had an excellent lunch one day, well-cooked and very good value. Our suppers (we were half-board) were mostly good, at least for the numbers, and they were very helpful in catering for my special diet. There was a nice fresh salad counter, and also a variety of vegetables though these were sometimes tinned. The most disappointing thing about the food (though not so suprising to me, in Italy, land of carnivores!) was the lack of fish and vegetarian options - they did cook a delicious local mushroom omelette, but a bit of research into vegetarian alternatives would be helpful, I think.

The location of this hotel a little way outside Riva was a bit of a problem for those with mobility issues; there is a regular bus service which passes the road right in front of the hotel for getting into Riva, or out to villages and towns beyond. The hotel also has free bike hire which is a brilliant idea! There are many cycle tracks and paths both within Riva itself (the centre and lakeside are mostly pedestrianised anyway) and in the surrounding countryside. The small church a short way along the road past the hotel is called San Tomaso di Canterbury - to make English visitors feel at home.

All the staff at this hotel were very helpful and obliging, and worked hard to make our stay enjoyable and to accomodate all the various requirements of our group.... even when they were extremely busy. The reception staff provided maps and lots of useful information. There is free Wi-Fi in the rooms which seemed to work well, and a computer for guest use in the lobby which didn't work quite so well! (but I was offered the use of another one..)

Riva itself has a lovely old centre with several fine buildings, churches, a convent with frescoes which is being restored, an interesting musem, many little alleyways, a beautiful lakeside and several other parks, and of course numerous shops, cafes, restaurants and bars (and a good bookshop). We also visited Limone and Malcesine (by boat - a delightful trip); amazing waterfalls known as the Cascate di Varone; and Arco, a smaller town inland with a historic old part, a castle perched on a huge rock, and an enormous church with a fine bell tower.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back, away from the road are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is a well run, clean and pleasant hotel, well suited for families with (young) children. The family rooms are not very spacious (standard double with two extra beds put in), but when you ask for the garden side, you'll get a balcony with great view on the mountains and won't be bothered by street noise. The AC functions perfectly and is very welcome on hot summer days. The restaurant was so-so, and the breakfast is good. It is a mix of Italian and continental style (lots of sweet stuff) but lacks variety a bit. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and the general atmosphere is very welcoming. The location is away from the centre so you'll need a car to get around although the hotel offers free bikes to its guests.
The pool is not very big but perfect for children. Also, the garden has a ping-pong table, a basketball hoop and inflatable toys ...
All in all I would certainly recommend this.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the garden side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The hotel is located on a high-traffic road, some ways from the city centre. The location is excellent if you have a car and plan to do day trips along the countryside, otherwise it is less perfect. There are services like restaurants, Eurospar market and a gas station nearby but no sights or attractions to see within a walking distance.

As mentioned by others, there weren't too many parking spots available but just across the street there's a large open area where to park your car (or a caravan/bus). Both areas are free to use.

As to the hotel itself, I think it was exactly what we needed and with little to no faults. Rooms were clean and nice, AC was working and in the bathroom they had a good selection of toiletries, even a 2-blade guest shaving kit and a toothbrush! Room also had a mini-bar with very reasonable prices, as far as I know (checked only the soda/water selection).

View from our balcony was top-notch, overlooking the mountains and with a view of the pool and playground as well. Both the pool and the playground were unusually quiet for long periods of time and then for few hours there were a lot of young kids hanging around, I suspect school groups. A lot of times it was just our family and maybe 2-3 other people at the pool, so never was there a fight for the sun chairs like in other hotels.

For some of the negatives, which I must emphasize were very minor, I should say the bouncy castles were only up on one evening and deflated the rest of the time. Also breakfast was full of sweet pastries and very little actual food. If you prefer salty food or fresh fruits, you may want to find some other place or grab something from the nearby store.

Staff was helpful and even called us right away when we forgot a kids' plush toy in the room upon checkout. Definitely a pleasant 4-night stay.

Room Tip: Pick the garden side and you'll get a stunning view of the mountains and very little traffic noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Campagnola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Campagnola

Address: Via San Tomaso 11, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#13 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Campagnola 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Campagnola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Campagnola Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Campagnola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.