We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable, clean, pleasant hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Campagnola

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Campagnola to your Saves list
Hotel Campagnola
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Tomaso 11, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, clean, pleasant hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Hotel Campagnola was a pleasant suprise - we stayed here as part of a group for a music festival, and were very comfortable indeed. Our room was large and well maintained,with comfy firm beds, and extremely clean. There was a large wardrobe, and safe - but no drawers, just shelves. It was perfectly quiet, and opened onto a very large (shared) balcony overlooking the gardens, with a nice view of fields and mountains beyond. We were at the back of the hotel - I understand the rooms on the roadside might be noisier, but though busy the road is only single carriageway. The bathroom was new or recently re-furbished with a good strong hot shower, a helpful stool, and hooks, oh joy! There was table tennis and various children's play facilities in the garden, as well as a pool, though we did not use these ourselves. The dining area, lobby and bar were all attractive, spacious and inviting.

The food we had in this hotel was very good on the whole - breakfast was an ample and varied continental style buffet, with different types of bread (earlybirds got the best choice!) some fresh fruit, juices, eggs, cheese, ham, salami and hot drinks... We also had an excellent lunch one day, well-cooked and very good value. Our suppers (we were half-board) were mostly good, at least for the numbers, and they were very helpful in catering for my special diet. There was a nice fresh salad counter, and also a variety of vegetables though these were sometimes tinned. The most disappointing thing about the food (though not so suprising to me, in Italy, land of carnivores!) was the lack of fish and vegetarian options - they did cook a delicious local mushroom omelette, but a bit of research into vegetarian alternatives would be helpful, I think.

The location of this hotel a little way outside Riva was a bit of a problem for those with mobility issues; there is a regular bus service which passes the road right in front of the hotel for getting into Riva, or out to villages and towns beyond. The hotel also has free bike hire which is a brilliant idea! There are many cycle tracks and paths both within Riva itself (the centre and lakeside are mostly pedestrianised anyway) and in the surrounding countryside. The small church a short way along the road past the hotel is called San Tomaso di Canterbury - to make English visitors feel at home.

All the staff at this hotel were very helpful and obliging, and worked hard to make our stay enjoyable and to accomodate all the various requirements of our group.... even when they were extremely busy. The reception staff provided maps and lots of useful information. There is free Wi-Fi in the rooms which seemed to work well, and a computer for guest use in the lobby which didn't work quite so well! (but I was offered the use of another one..)

Riva itself has a lovely old centre with several fine buildings, churches, a convent with frescoes which is being restored, an interesting musem, many little alleyways, a beautiful lakeside and several other parks, and of course numerous shops, cafes, restaurants and bars (and a good bookshop). We also visited Limone and Malcesine (by boat - a delightful trip); amazing waterfalls known as the Cascate di Varone; and Arco, a smaller town inland with a historic old part, a castle perched on a huge rock, and an enormous church with a fine bell tower.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back, away from the road are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    70
    19
    2
    5
See reviews for
67
46
5
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is a well run, clean and pleasant hotel, well suited for families with (young) children. The family rooms are not very spacious (standard double with two extra beds put in), but when you ask for the garden side, you'll get a balcony with great view on the mountains and won't be bothered by street noise. The AC functions perfectly and is very welcome on hot summer days. The restaurant was so-so, and the breakfast is good. It is a mix of Italian and continental style (lots of sweet stuff) but lacks variety a bit. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and the general atmosphere is very welcoming. The location is away from the centre so you'll need a car to get around although the hotel offers free bikes to its guests.
The pool is not very big but perfect for children. Also, the garden has a ping-pong table, a basketball hoop and inflatable toys ...
All in all I would certainly recommend this.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the garden side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The hotel is located on a high-traffic road, some ways from the city centre. The location is excellent if you have a car and plan to do day trips along the countryside, otherwise it is less perfect. There are services like restaurants, Eurospar market and a gas station nearby but no sights or attractions to see within a walking distance.

As mentioned by others, there weren't too many parking spots available but just across the street there's a large open area where to park your car (or a caravan/bus). Both areas are free to use.

As to the hotel itself, I think it was exactly what we needed and with little to no faults. Rooms were clean and nice, AC was working and in the bathroom they had a good selection of toiletries, even a 2-blade guest shaving kit and a toothbrush! Room also had a mini-bar with very reasonable prices, as far as I know (checked only the soda/water selection).

View from our balcony was top-notch, overlooking the mountains and with a view of the pool and playground as well. Both the pool and the playground were unusually quiet for long periods of time and then for few hours there were a lot of young kids hanging around, I suspect school groups. A lot of times it was just our family and maybe 2-3 other people at the pool, so never was there a fight for the sun chairs like in other hotels.

For some of the negatives, which I must emphasize were very minor, I should say the bouncy castles were only up on one evening and deflated the rest of the time. Also breakfast was full of sweet pastries and very little actual food. If you prefer salty food or fresh fruits, you may want to find some other place or grab something from the nearby store.

Staff was helpful and even called us right away when we forgot a kids' plush toy in the room upon checkout. Definitely a pleasant 4-night stay.

Room Tip: Pick the garden side and you'll get a stunning view of the mountains and very little traffic noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

-very near to road heavy traffic
-A little bit noisy on the big road side, don't forget to ask the garden side. Garden is small but quiet.
-No parking place after 21:00 last WE.... (success story hotel??). Parking neither closed nor guarded.
-far from center
-french not spoken

+Perfect for the other points (breakfast,beds,hygiene...)
+bycycles with baby seats included
+german, english spoken

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

A very nice little hotel with a stunning view. Great for family with children. We stayed here for two days in july and we were very surprised because of the very nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

The service makes a hotel. A welcome meal had been booked for 9 pm, but when we all turned up at 10pm the helpful staff had waited and the meal was really good. We had no problems but one or two others mentioned things to the staff and were dealt with courteously and promptly. A group of disabled people were well catered for at the same time as our group. We were given suggestions of things to do, in English if necessary and lots of our group made use of their bikes.
It is 30 minutes walk from the town, so if you are not happy walking or cycling, you do need transport. The nearby pizzeria did a superb meal for our group, much more than just pizza.
However, it would be advisable to check up if they are going to have a school party before booking as they have such fantastic facilities for school parties - pool, games, playing field, basement disco etc - that a large group may be distracting for individual travellers. No problems if the groups are adults and I would just like to thank the hotel staff for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, Lancashire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

This hotel was too far out of Riva to be close to anything of interest or a good restaurant. The food in the hotel was a bit like school dinners and there appeared to be a lot of workers staying there. It was a noisy hotel with karaoke that we could hear from our room and we had an attic room. The room was very dingy with very low beams that were covered with a bit of carpet to try and prevent you from banging your head!
Thet did not produce toiletries only hand wash and a shower cap.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Liberty
Grand Hotel Liberty
#34 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 stars 750 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#10 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
5.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ambassador Suite Aparthotel
Ambassador Suite Aparthotel
#22 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rudy
Hotel Rudy
#30 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Gardesana
Hotel Gardesana
#41 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Campagnola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Campagnola

Address: Via San Tomaso 11, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#23 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Campagnola 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Campagnola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Campagnola Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Campagnola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.