We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with friendly staff. Perfect for families.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Campagnola

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Campagnola to your Saves list
Hotel Campagnola
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Tomaso 11, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 61 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with friendly staff. Perfect for families.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is a well run, clean and pleasant hotel, well suited for families with (young) children. The family rooms are not very spacious (standard double with two extra beds put in), but when you ask for the garden side, you'll get a balcony with great view on the mountains and won't be bothered by street noise. The AC functions perfectly and is very welcome on hot summer days. The restaurant was so-so, and the breakfast is good. It is a mix of Italian and continental style (lots of sweet stuff) but lacks variety a bit. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and the general atmosphere is very welcoming. The location is away from the centre so you'll need a car to get around although the hotel offers free bikes to its guests.
The pool is not very big but perfect for children. Also, the garden has a ping-pong table, a basketball hoop and inflatable toys ...
All in all I would certainly recommend this.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the garden side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    55
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
51
30
5
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The hotel is located on a high-traffic road, some ways from the city centre. The location is excellent if you have a car and plan to do day trips along the countryside, otherwise it is less perfect. There are services like restaurants, Eurospar market and a gas station nearby but no sights or attractions to see within a walking distance.

As mentioned by others, there weren't too many parking spots available but just across the street there's a large open area where to park your car (or a caravan/bus). Both areas are free to use.

As to the hotel itself, I think it was exactly what we needed and with little to no faults. Rooms were clean and nice, AC was working and in the bathroom they had a good selection of toiletries, even a 2-blade guest shaving kit and a toothbrush! Room also had a mini-bar with very reasonable prices, as far as I know (checked only the soda/water selection).

View from our balcony was top-notch, overlooking the mountains and with a view of the pool and playground as well. Both the pool and the playground were unusually quiet for long periods of time and then for few hours there were a lot of young kids hanging around, I suspect school groups. A lot of times it was just our family and maybe 2-3 other people at the pool, so never was there a fight for the sun chairs like in other hotels.

For some of the negatives, which I must emphasize were very minor, I should say the bouncy castles were only up on one evening and deflated the rest of the time. Also breakfast was full of sweet pastries and very little actual food. If you prefer salty food or fresh fruits, you may want to find some other place or grab something from the nearby store.

Staff was helpful and even called us right away when we forgot a kids' plush toy in the room upon checkout. Definitely a pleasant 4-night stay.

Room Tip: Pick the garden side and you'll get a stunning view of the mountains and very little traffic noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

-very near to road heavy traffic
-A little bit noisy on the big road side, don't forget to ask the garden side. Garden is small but quiet.
-No parking place after 21:00 last WE.... (success story hotel??). Parking neither closed nor guarded.
-far from center
-french not spoken

+Perfect for the other points (breakfast,beds,hygiene...)
+bycycles with baby seats included
+german, english spoken

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011 via mobile

A very nice little hotel with a stunning view. Great for family with children. We stayed here for two days in july and we were very surprised because of the very nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

The service makes a hotel. A welcome meal had been booked for 9 pm, but when we all turned up at 10pm the helpful staff had waited and the meal was really good. We had no problems but one or two others mentioned things to the staff and were dealt with courteously and promptly. A group of disabled people were well catered for at the same time as our group. We were given suggestions of things to do, in English if necessary and lots of our group made use of their bikes.
It is 30 minutes walk from the town, so if you are not happy walking or cycling, you do need transport. The nearby pizzeria did a superb meal for our group, much more than just pizza.
However, it would be advisable to check up if they are going to have a school party before booking as they have such fantastic facilities for school parties - pool, games, playing field, basement disco etc - that a large group may be distracting for individual travellers. No problems if the groups are adults and I would just like to thank the hotel staff for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, Lancashire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

This hotel was too far out of Riva to be close to anything of interest or a good restaurant. The food in the hotel was a bit like school dinners and there appeared to be a lot of workers staying there. It was a noisy hotel with karaoke that we could hear from our room and we had an attic room. The room was very dingy with very low beams that were covered with a bit of carpet to try and prevent you from banging your head!
Thet did not produce toiletries only hand wash and a shower cap.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2009

We stayed here for 6 nights with our youth brass band for our summer concert tour. It is a popular choice for school/youth music groups, but each group is given its own floor so as not to disturb other guests. It was also notable that when we stayed earlier in the year (on an inspection trip) we were not disturbed by the group which was staying here at the same time, as the rooms seem well sound-proofed.

The hotel is located a couple of miles north of Riva del Garda; you will need transport to get to the centre. However, this does mean that the surrounding area is much more impressive than from the centre of town - the views to the mountains and vineyards are superb, especially from the pool area. To get a room with a view ask for one on the garden/pool side rather than road side.

The rooms were good, modern and clean with minibars and hairdryers. The bathrooms were fairly standard but clean - some were more recently refurbished than others, but all were fine. The air-conditioning worked brilliantly in some rooms and not at all in others, and the management seemed unable to do anything about this. However, I had one of the rooms in which it wasn't working and yet the room cooled down well at night anyway (keeping the shutters down in the day helps).

Facilities here were excellent, especially for groups. There was a bar with a pleasant seating area in the garden. There are also swings, slides and games rooms located in the garden, along with a basketball hoop and table tennis. There's also a large playing field amongst the vines at the back of the hotel, with goal posts and a badminton/volleyball net. The pool is excellent, a good size, not too deep, and in a beautiful setting with the mountains around. Staff were all excellent and accommodated all our requests. On a couple of evenings guests in the bar were provided with platters of local meats, cheese and bread, which were excellent!

Food was OK, we noticed that our group was given inferior evening meals to the adult group with which we shared a dining room, but I think that depends on the price you pay. However it was of a reasonable quality, there was lots of it and a good salad buffet to help fill up - even our hungriest blokes were over-faced! Note however that vegetarians are poorly catered for - a lump of cheese for the main course most nights! However, there was always a vegetarian pasta option before that, which was very filling. Breakfast was good, and included meats and cheeses, cakes, pastries, yoghurts, bread etc. Ask for a cappucino rather than having coffee from the machine - much better!

Tip - there is an excellent pizzeria called Rolly's only a minute's walk from the hotel. Go out of the gate at the back of the hotel and turn right. We ate here several times on our inspection trip and took the whole group there on the last night!

If you don't mind staying outside the centre this is a very good choice of hotel, and we would particularly recommend it to groups and families.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Campagnola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Campagnola

Address: Via San Tomaso 11, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#12 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#18 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Campagnola 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Campagnola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Campagnola Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Campagnola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.