We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places to stay in Riva del Garda as long as it is not tourist season” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Portici

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Portici to your Saves list
Hotel Portici
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza III Novembre 19, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 61 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of the best places to stay in Riva del Garda as long as it is not tourist season”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Great location just a few steps away from the lake. Helpful staff, secure and convenient parking for Eur7 extra and decent hotel bicycles at no extra cost. It might be noisy weekends and in high season, but midweek, off-season, it can't be beat.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    70
    27
    7
    2
See reviews for
15
81
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, N.Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in this very welcoming hotel. It is situated in a lovely little piazza a stone's throw from the beautiful waterfront. It was relaxing to sit outside with a glass of vino and watch the world go by.The room and bathroom were spotless and A/C was very welcome. It has been completely refurbished and has added a Wellness Spa which will surely get it a 4 star rating. The standard of food was excellent and catered for various tastes. Staff were really helpful, pleasant and obliging. A delightful hotel with a personal touch on service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We travel a lot and this was our first visit to Lake Garda. The hotel is in a great location in the corner of a Piazza, just back form the water's edge. There are numerous restaurants all within an easy walk. The hotel is refurbished and the rooms, although a bit small (we only had one chair at the desk - no space for another one) are very clean. The 'double bed' was 2 singles pushed together. The bathrooms are well equipped with plenty of space for toiletries. I liked the fact that we had a walk in shower, rather than one over the bath (although the bathroom was small - so no space for a bath in any event). I would have liked a mirror over the desk, where there was a plug point for hair straighteners - but no mirror! The breakfasts were the usual fare. The sweet stuff (croissants, cakes etc) were very good quality. One disappointment was the fact that there were two bottles of water in the room on our arrival. We were staying in this hotel for 5 nights and on day 3 I asked for the water to be replenished. I was told (very politely) that if I wanted more water I would need to purchase from the bar - they only supplied water on the first day of any stay. A small thing - but definitely not 4 star. Also the bar/lounge area was not really very comfortable - it reminded us of a railway station waiting room. I have read reviews about the parking. Yes - the hotel is tricky to find - but once we had done that and then made our way to the car park, it was fine. The car park is I suspect, a good addition to Riva. Most hotels use it and it means that more visitors will stay there! The transfer of our cases (and us) from the car park to the hotel was a nice touch. Overall, given the size of the rooms and the level of service, I think this was a good value 3 star hotel

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the square are a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Just returned from a 7 day holiday in the Portici Hotel. Room was fantastic, overlooking the Square, lovely to sit and watch out from our bedroom window. Large room, very comfortable beds and seriously good shower! AC in room was very muchg appreciated. Couldn't ask for more, 4 star standard. We were half board, breakfast was either continental or hot scrambled eggs and bacon, plenty of variables with fresh fruits and choice of types of bread rolls and sweet bread. Dinner was varied with a choice of four courses each evening.Staff were friendly and very willing especially Ivono, maître de of the restaurant and Giulia on reception who could not have been more helpful. A wonderful experience, we will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Square are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derry
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I was in this in this hotel 3years ago when it was just about 3star quality. Now that it has been refurbished and air conditioning fitted its as good as any 4star hotel. The food was good, with a good selection of local wines at a reasonable price. The staff are very friendly and helpful. My twin room was huge, with plenty of wardrobe space and kept spotless throughout the holiday. Being close to the lake ferry and the shops its very handy for lake travel and for the ladies to do their shopping.

Room Tip: The front rooms have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Our room was upgraded, but judging by the quality of the hotel as a whole, we're sure any room will be great here. Comfortable beds, good showers, very very clean. The little spa was a welcome extra that we didn't know the hotel had when booking.
The breakfast was very very generous and had a wide selection. The kind and courtious staff made it all the more lovely to stay here.

Room Tip: You'll probably be safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Didn't stay at the hotel, went to Riva for the day and just stopped here for lunch. Had a quick look at the menu before we sat down and it seemed to tick all the boxes and it did! Great pasta and our friends had a lovely salad. A good find. Toilets were spotless.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Portici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portici

Address: Piazza III Novembre 19, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#11 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#22 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Portici 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Portici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portici Hotel Riva Del Garda
Hotel Portici Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Portici, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.