We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel. lovely staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Portici

Save Saved
You added Hotel Portici to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Portici
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza III Novembre 19, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 61 hotels in Riva Del Garda
CO. TYRONE
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel. lovely staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and myself spent a wonderful week in Riva de Garda and stayed in Hotel Portici recently and I would have not hesitation in recomending this really lovely little hotel to anyone. The hotel in itself is very centrally located and only yards from the Lake. When we arrived the room we were allocated was on the 3rd floor and whilst it was a lovely room it was too far to climb for someone like me who will use elevators (claustrophobic). I asked the girl on reception if there was any chance of being shifted to another room and although the hotel was fully booked she rang me back within 10mins and offered us another room on the 2nd floor which was much more accessible. Within 10mins she herself arrived at our room and helped us move to the new room. The staff in the bar, restaurant and even the girl who cleaned our room were all very friendly and very very helpful. Hotel Portici overlooks a small square and has chairs and tables sitting outside the main front door. we spent most nights sipping cocktails, chatting and watching the other holidaymakers ambling round. Riva is a beautiful town with lots of quaint cobblestone streets and lots of little shops with plenty of variety. If your looking a nice relaxing holiday you wont go wrong with Riva and you certainly wont go wrong with Hotel Portici it was by far the best hotel we have stayed in when visiting Italy and we have been to Tuscany, Sorrento and Rome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    55
    25
    7
    2
See reviews for
12
66
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset East
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The hotel was just great! Meticulously clean, friendly and multilingual staff, it was a real pleasure staying there. We just loved the well equipped wellness centre, which was included in the tariff. When we return to Riva, we won't bother enquiring at other hotels - Portici was really everything one could ask for.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday at the Hotel Portici! We were part of a party with the Travel Department. The location of the hotel was in a small square, it was like a film location it was so beautiful. Our room was overlooking the square, and we were lucky enough to see a fantastic firework display when we were there. The room was lovely, spotlessly clean and a large ensuite. The double-glazed windows cut out all outside noise (which was minimal). The staff went out of their way to help us and everyone was so pleasant. We were on a half board basis; the breakfast had a good choice (buffet style). the evening meal had to be ordered the previous evening, with salad to start, pasta, main course and dessert. Choice were a bit limited, but we always got enough to keep us going, and the company was good as we shared the table with another couple each day. Outside the hotel was pedestrianized, so it would be good for small children etc. The walks are fantastic, and it is easy to hire a bike and explore (even if you are not that fit!), as there are many bike paths. The town of Riva is quaint and has all the shops that you would need.
We went to Verona, Venice and a lake tour which i recommend wholeheartedly. ur travel company was first class, and our guide Alessandro was really informative.
We will be going back to the Portici as soon as we have filled up our moneybox again.

Room Tip: We had room 303 which was also a disabled room, we would recommend it, just dont ask for it if you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Just returned from an excellent holiday in Riva Del Garda- staying at Hotel Portici. The hotel made a very comfortable and clean base for us.
The refurbishment which other reviewers have mentioned is superb- the room was spacious, beds comfortable, with air conditioning and incredibly clean. There was more than enough space for our luggage, and the bathroom was so clean and modern!! The room also comes with a fridge, which is handy for keeping bottles of water / wine nice and cold.
Our room was overlooking the main square, but since the windows were double-glazed and the room had air-con, noise wasn't an issue.

We particularly LOVED the hotel's food, and the service from the waiters was great. All the staff were so friendly and their English was very good, we had no problems with communication at all, and attempting a little 'tourist Italian' seems to be appreciated by the locals.
Like other reviewers have said, food service was a little slow occasionally, but the staff were working hard and their friendliness made up for it. Besides, dining in Italy is not a rushed experience and it was a pleasant change not to be rushed.
The food was simple but delicious, and there are options for those who don't particularly like pasta. My advice - if the hotel organise a gala evening during your stay, Don't miss it!!
The hotel is well located within Riva, with plenty of Cafes, bars, restaurants and shops nearby.

The town is so laid-back and picturesque, perfect for walking around, taking in the sights, and sampling some amazing Italian food. Check out Cafe Cristallo close to the bus stop for the best ice-cream, and we enjoyed a delicious lunch in Restaurant Leon D'Oro which is very close to the hotel.

We didn't get time to use the hotel's Wellness Suite, so I can't give an opinion, but if you are unlucky enough to get a rainy day, it would be worth checking out as the facilities sounded good.

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Portici and would not only recommend it, we would DEFINATELY visit again - it is worth every one of it's 4 stars.

Room Tip: You may want to ask for a room at the back of the hotel during high season if you really want to avo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I are just back from riva del garda 15-22 September - hotel excellent I would have rated it a 3/4 star - rooms fantastic, very clean, waiting staff v friendly and reception staff had a great command of the English language and very helpful and friendly. Would have no difficulty in reccommending it to a friend. Very well situated. Good walks and a great climb to Santa Barbara, very pleased at signing the book at the Grotto!!

Ballymena, Co Antrim

Room Tip: Our room/suite was to the back of the hotel (windows onto small lane Monaco I think). No noise but n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The location of this hotel is perfect being situated in the centre of the town, close to the lake. The rooms have been recently refurbished to a good standard with excellent bathrooms and plenty of storage space. The only downside was, for us, that the beds were too hard. The breakfast fine and there are so many restaurants within easy walking distance that it is not necessary to eat at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

perfect place to be in riva de garda ! friendly personal, perfect location,new rooms, good value for your money! greets to the very helpful receptionist. breakfast better than expected (usually italien breakfast is very simple ) . will Come back ! lovely hotel

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Portici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portici

Address: Piazza III Novembre 19, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#12 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#22 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Portici 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Portici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portici Hotel Riva Del Garda
Hotel Portici Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Portici, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.