We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Maria Hotel Garni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Maria Hotel Garni to your Saves list
Villa Maria Hotel Garni
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale del Tigli, 19, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 61 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
northampton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“fabulous in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

What a lovely place to stay. Small and very friendly it made me want to buy a place on the same street to holiday. 5 mins stroll outside the old walled town just away from the ridiculously priced hotels. Great value for money. The rooms were spotlessly clean. Small but perfectly formed. All white with beautiful bed linen and very comfy beds. Scandinavian style. I highly recommend this place to anyone. While you're there try the food at the vatican in the old town as recommended by the hotel, the best salmon i've ever had - in pink pepper sauce. Riva del Garda is a place for everyone, very very beautiful and clean and finished! Ski in the winter, mountain bike, sail, windsurf, stroll in the summer.

Room Tip: The staircase is a hard floor surface so for less disturbance take a room at the top (2nd floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    33
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
55
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Situated 10 minutes easy walk from the old town and lake. Easy to find when coming to the town, easy to park at the Hotel. Storage in garage for skis/ bikes etc. The owners manage the Hotel and are obliging helpful and very pleasant people

Lift to the upper floors. The rooms are superbly designed and equipped. Spotlessly clean and everything works beautifully. It was a really pleasant place to be. Balcony with views of the mountains. We loved staying here for the three days and will definitely return when we next visit Riva del Garda.

Breakfast was fresh and tasty and again we felt Marco would have provided anything we wanted. Although are breakfast need are simple.

Unreservedly recommended for everyone.

Room Tip: We were upgraded without asking to a 2 room apartment and it was very nice to have the sitting room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I shared a fully furnished serviced two bed apartment, with another couple, locate at the back of the hotel.We stayed there for one week and we were very happy with the whole set up. Two large bedroom both with double or Queen size bed, very comfortable and clean rooms. Two large, clean and modern bathrooms, two balconies with nice view overlooking the mountains nearby. Very neat kitchen with lounge combine, overhaul a very nice and clean apartment.
Now regarding the breakfast !!! it was fantastic, with lots of variety of continental small-goods,eggs, cooked to your liking,lots of different bread, great coffee or tea, different juices, yogurt, etc......Marco and Francesca, could not do enough for they guests !!! Wow I call this hospitality with a capital H.....Location wise it is close to everything, only a short stroll to shops, boutiques, restaurants cafes, supermarket and wharf....Great place and great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

we stayed at this hotel in sept 2012 for 3 nights, the hotel staff were very friendly, we arrived very late on the first night without prior notice and was given our key and advise as to where we might get something to eat before closing time, without delaying us with checked in details which we did the next morning.
room were lovely, very modern design and spotlessly clean, bathroom very spacious with great showers
breakfast was good, good selection of dishes
location is not far from centre of town, walking time approx 10 mins and parking spaces available at hotel
really enjoyed this hotel stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Really lovely hotel in a great location , lovely short stroll to the center of everything. The decor is gorgeous & the rooms are just spotless with new towels & a clean room daily. Lovely continental breakfast with a great variety of everything along with eggs done however you'd like them.Marco can not do enough to help you & there is a real personal touch there.The bus station is 3 minutes from the hotel which is so a real bonus for travelling. We booked it based on tripadvisor reviews & weren't disappointed. Highly recommend & would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: Back rooms have fabulous views & a balcony is always a nice extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed here in August 2012, and had a wonderful stay, the hotel exceeded our expectations. The location was good, just a few minutes pleasant stroll from the centre, our room was located at the front of the hotel and had no problems with noise, although the rooms at the back may have a had a better view, there are plenty of views to be seen when out and about in the town! Our room was beautifully presented, and very clean, it was simple but had everything we needed (the fridge was a good addition) The bathroom was very modern, clean and spacious, with an excellent shower, fresh towels daily were appreciated. The breakfast was basic but there was more than enough for what I wanted, a good selection of cereals, juices, breads cheese, meat and fresh fruit. The staff were helpful, welcoming and very friendly. I would recommend staying here to anyone visiting Riva, and it was very affordable to those on a budget. I'm hoping to return there as Riva was so wonderful! Thank you Villa Maria!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Being situated just a 10 minute walk from the old center of Riva del Garda, close to shops and restaurants, this hotel comes to a really affordable price. Service is good and you feel personally taken care of. Baby cot was included in the price, breakfast was good and served until 10.30, the room was clean and big enough, the bathroom functional and fresh. I'd say you get more than you pay for. We were lucky to have a room with a terrace, which made the room feel like twice the size.

Before going, I read a review that said the pillows were to thin. I don't agree. We slept perfectly on the pillows, and besides, a too thick and fluffy pillow (that many hotels provide) is bad for your neck and back!

I strongly recommend this to anyone who's looking for a good base to explore Riva and it's surroundings from.

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the first floor with a terrace (I think there is only one of them in the whole h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Villa Maria Hotel Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maria Hotel Garni

Address: Viale del Tigli, 19, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#14 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#19 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Maria Hotel Garni 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Garni Villa Maria is located a pleasant 10-minute walk from Riva del Garda's charming historic centre. Relax on the hotel's peaceful rooftop terrace and enjoy lovely mountain views.Wake up to the smell of fresh Italian coffee and warm croissants, which you can enjoy out on your patio or in Garni Villa Maria's breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Maria Hotel Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maria Garni
Villa Maria Hotel Garni Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Maria Hotel Garni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.