We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY HOLIDAY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Virgilio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Virgilio to your Saves list
Hotel Virgilio
Via Virgilio 21, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 61 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hudds
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“LOVELY HOLIDAY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

Went on a National Coaches Holiday, travelled throughout France with an overnight stay at the Kyraid Hotel in Metz France. Then the following day continued with our journey to Riva Del Gardi on Lake Gardi staying at Hotel Virgilio about a 15/20 minute walk away from the lakeshore/town. The hotel was very clean friendly and the food/drink really good. We met some really nice people on the coach and ages varied from forties upto eighties and we all got along great. Met two couple Linda and Ian and Margaret and Mike from Hull who made our trip. As you can imagine the trip is quite long so take a book to read to help pass the time althought the scenery is quite beautiful. We passed through France, Switzerland, Germany, and Austria throughtout the trip and also included was a trip to Venice which is well worth a visit. Great holiday.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    50
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
31
74
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

Riva is a lovely town at the Northern tip of Lake Garda. However, the hotel cannot be recommended for people with walking difficulties - it is a good half hour's walk if you use a stick into Riva town. There are no bars or cafes nearby and the local bus service into town is not reliable. The hotel cannnot be faulted though on its cleanliness and friendliness, its meal provision is second to non but meal times are too regimented. Rooms are small as is the shower room and shower. Balcony only had two chairs and air concditioning not available.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
na
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

very good holiday with national. they were quick to try and resolve the problem when the air con on the bus broke. the hotel was nice and food was amazing, especially on thursday when it was garla nite. it was nice to sit out in a morning and have breakfast. it was a good walk into town but there was everything you would want around the hotel. the bus drives were very good and made the holiday better with there general banter and jokes. it was annoying when whe were told at the last minute that we were moving buses at the service station. in all the comotion we lost our bags and after a rushing aroung to find it, we found it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthEngland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2008

Great holiday with National Holiday.Everyone was so friendly and the atmosphere brilliant.food excellent .Only one problem was the time past too quickly .

  • Liked — everything
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

went by National holidays, to celebrate our Wedding anniversary.
The staff bent over backwards to make our day special.,including a free bottle of wine and a cake made for us.
The hotel its self was very clean and comfortable, and speaking for myself as a chef the food was excellent. we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyonyone

Stan & Eileen Stephenson.....Hull Yorkshire

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2008

Stayed at this hotel in October. It was a brill hotel and a fantastic holiday all round with National Holidays. Hotel lovely and very clean, good food which was beautifully cooked, staff very friendly it was like staying in your own home, nothing was too much trouble for them. I would definately go on this holiday again and to this same hotel. As mentioned iin a previous review it was a little walk into the centre of town (20 mins) but it was all on the flat and elderly people could do it no problem, my elderly mother did it anyway. It is a beautiful resort with lots of sightseeing to be had and an easy base to get around. I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Very friendly hotel
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

just arrived home after a fantastic holiday with National Holidays staying at the Hotel Vigillio absolutely nothing to complain about .Hotel service brilliant ,the staff were brilliant food was exceptional .This is a very caring and friendly hotel beautifuly clean and hmely .Many 5 star hotels could take a leaf out of their book.Everyone on our tour was raving about the service .Kevin the bar manager was brilliant.Absolutely no complaints at all

  • Liked — service cleanliness friendliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Virgilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Virgilio

Address: Via Virgilio 21, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#4 Business Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#12 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#15 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Virgilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virgilio Hotel Riva Del Garda
Hotel Virgilio Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Virgilio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.