We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Virgilio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Virgilio to your Saves list
Hotel Virgilio
Via Virgilio 21, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 61 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
yorkshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We have just returned from this hotel and have to say what a great place this is to stay we went with National Hoildays the hotel is just a 20 min stroll into the centre of the town. The hotel is very close to a supermarket if you wanted anything that you had forgot to bring, the rooms are clean and comfortable, we had requested a room with a view and we were not disappointed our room was on the 1st floor and overlooked the pool area we also had views of the mountains.The staff were absolute pleasure to meet nothing was to much trouble,the meals we had were very good 4 courses every night the last night being a gala night . My wife and I have both said we would return to this hotel again but stay longer next time.

Room Tip: ask for room 108 its on a corner it as the son on the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    47
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
28
71
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Great family runned hotel, nice spacious rooms with comfortable bathroom and private balcony.
Breakfast was superb and included next to the usual things also lots of delicious pastries.
The hotel offers private car-park and a swimming pool.
The hotel is a 10 min. walk from the centre of Riva.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Despite the other reviews the holiday with National Holidays to Lake Garda was lovely. The Journey was long but the schedule outlines this in the brochure! We had two coach drivers who were really down to earth, friendly, informative who knew their job and did it well. We arrived at Hotel Virgilio at 10pm and the hotel still provided a good friendly service of an evening meal including three good and tasty courses accompanied with bread and salad that you could help yourself. The food each night was beautiful and were very accommodating with other options if the food was not to your taste. The breakfast in the morning was equally as nice.
There were excursions most days and definitely value for money, we especially liked the visit to Venice and the one across the lake going to Garda town.
The only criticisms for this holiday would be the hotel Campinile in Metz where they did not have our name down on the list and the room we thought was dirty. The Hotel at Riva would have been better for my grandma if it had been closer to the lake but there is a bus stop close by and taxi's. There is a Lidl and other convenience shops close by. The Hotel was clean and very friendly and we had a great view from our balcony. We even took up the offer of free bike rental and i would recommend doing this as we were able to see so much more of Lake Garda.
I am in my early 20's and went with my Grandma and younger sister and thought this holiday was a good holiday especially for my Grandmas with walking difficulties. We went in July 2012 and would recommend people going here on their holidays!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We had a fantastic holiday in Lake Garda in July 2012 - travelling with National Holidays and a fun group of people - special thanks to Andy and Andy our drivers who went out of their way to make our holiday fantastic. We stayed 5 nights at the Hotel Virgilio in Riva Del Garda and I have nothing but praise and thank you for everyone who works there. The Hotel is lovely and friendly and extremely clean - breakfast and evening meals were very nice and portions more than you could actually eat. The Gala evening was extremely good and thoroughly enjoyed every minute - thank you for having us and hope to return in the future - keep up the good work.

Maxine & Wendie

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We have had our second holiday at this hotel in two years and enjoyed it very much,wouldn't hesitate to go back there with National Holidays. The family that run the hotel make you feel very welcome and Kevin is full of fun.The food is great and bedrooms are very clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We have just got back from this hotel this evening,We traveled by national holidays and the drivers LOUISA and GARY were very good and a good laugh .The hotel is kept well clean and the food spot on (Some bacon in the morning wouldent go a miss) Kevin and all the staff are all very good nothing is a problem to them .We will be back but not on a coach as the journey is too long.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We have just returned from a nine day holiday to Lake Garda with National Holidays, spending five nights at the Hotel Virgilio in Riva del Garda. The long journey was made great fun by our two drivers, Andy and Andy. The journey was long but we knew where Italy was so this didn't come as a great shock to us, although reading some reviews some people maybe need to look at an atlas first. The Hotel Virgilio is a family run hotel. The facilities were first class, the room was cleaned each morning with fresh towels daily. The selection of food available at breakfast was more than you would expect for a continental breakfast, including a selection of breads, tarts, cereals, ham, salami, cheese, scrambled eggs, yoghurt, fruit salad, fruit juice, tea and coffee. The evening meal consisted of four courses and was perfectly adequate. The Gala Dinner was particularly good, including the entertainment. We had no issues with the free bar, it seemed normal to return the glasses to the bar as we had finished, Kevin the barman offered a cheeky, friendly service and the banter carried on between him and us guests.
The inclusive excursions to Venice, the Dolomtes and Verona were excellent, as was the optional tour round Lake Garda.
Finally this holiday was great value for money. Thank you to all at the Virgilio, Andy and Andy, and all our crowd on the bus who made this a great holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Virgilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Virgilio

Address: Via Virgilio 21, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#4 Business Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#14 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#17 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Virgilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virgilio Hotel Riva Del Garda
Hotel Virgilio Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Virgilio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.