We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we hoped for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels to your Saves list
Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Longa, 10, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 61 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
lincs
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Everything we hoped for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

Just returned from a week at the Savoy Palace in Riva. The hotel was everything we had hoped for and more. The room was spotless and well decorated. The hotel is light and airy with large restaurant and bar area. Drinks are waiter service and are reasonably priced. Staff are friendly and helpful and clearly work very hard to keep up standards. Pool (the outside one) was in a lovely area which was kept very clean and tidy. Food was plentiful to say the least with plenty of choice every night. We would not hesitate to return to this hotel and would recommend it to anybody. It was a quiet area but close to everything you might need - a shop, bank, restaurants etc. The hotel is a few mins walk from the lakeside and about 20 mins into Riva itself either by the lake or or on the main road. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    222
    49
    12
    10
See reviews for
235
361
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

We have recently returned from a weeks stay at the Savoy Palace hotel in Riva, Lake Garda. This hotel was excellent value for money. We stayed in a standard room which was comfortable and spotlessly clean. The food was exceptional. The Staff are delightful giving friendly service at all times. Drink prices were very reasonable and live music played every evening. An added bonus was afternoon tea, cakes and fruit salad which we did not expect as well as gala evenings. The Tonelli family who own the hotel are "hands on" ensuring standards do not drop. They know all the staff by name and this reflects in the service and ambience given to clients.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

Overall, had a very good week at the hotel. Food and choices were very good, to suit all tastes and the restaurant staff were the best there. Lovely pool outside (didn't use indoor pool) and well kept gardens. Within short walk of lakeside and pleasant walks, a bit further into the town centre. Gala nights were enjoyable but once/twice a week is probably enough really!

What was gained by the restaurant staff was dashed by the reception staff who were surly, unhelpful and dismissive unfortunately. Housekeeping/cleaning was a bit lax too - no soap, stained carpet, not carefully cleaned, burns on furniture and holey sheets one night - not expected in 4 star hotel. 'Musician' (who played most nights) had a repeatitive repetoire for his electric keyboard.

Suggest a ferry trip to Limone - lovely village/town and a trip to Verona (about 2 hrs drive) which I found less frenetic than Venice (about 3 hrs drive).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

we stayed in this hotel for one week .during our stay in this family run hotel we enjoyed
a tour of a vineyard and a trip to the dolemite mountains. the hotel is in a good position,
a fifeteen minute walk along the promenade to the centre of riva. the hotel itself has large
clean rooms. the airy dining room has wonderful food with lots of choice. the bar area
is large using both inside and outside space with entertainment every night. all the staff are very friendly and only to willing to help with directions, bus timetables etc,, this is our second stay at this hotel, and are due to go back on 2nd june 2010

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

We arrived at this more than comfortable family run Hotel, situated and the top of Lake Garda in Riva. Riva is a slendid part of the lake with beautiful views, fantastic scenery, and good walking. All this and really only the smallest distance from this great hotel. The Hotel is clean and tidy with flowers surrounding the premises, which were
all well kept neat and watered by the gardeners. The hotel is very welcoming with the family members always at hand. Every evening hotel provided entertainment, all outside when the weather was so good. Hotel is situated also just a short walk from a very small town area on the edge of the lake' and a good central spot for visiting other areas of Lake Garda, with ferry, boat trips up and across the lake from Riva.
Also as last year the weather had turned really hot for May the hotel turned up the air conditioning, so we were all very comfortable throughout.
We came to Italy in a coach party and during this week we made many friends, we would certainly return the this area of Garda, and without doubt or hesitation, again go to the Savoy Palace.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

We stayed for two weeks in The Savoy Palace Hotel in Riva. Couldn't praise the hotel enough. Location is fantastic. Facilities are wonderful. Food is magnificient. We thought we should eat out to introduce variety to the holiday but we soon discovered that we were staying in the hotel with the best food in Riva. We have gone back now three years in a row at the request of our daughters. The indoor pool is a great bonus as teenagers do not feel the need to rest during the day. The reception staff are so friendly and helpful. We look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

We stayed here for one week on a package holiday in June 2009.

Delighted with our room and the service that we received from the hotel. Great entertainment, with close involvement from the Hotel manager who ensured that everything went smoothly. Great staff, superb meals and certainly a hotel to go back to.

It was my wife's birthday during the week and the Hotel did a great job in making it a special day.

Good central location between Riva and Torbole - both within 30 mins stroll along the lakeside.

Nil negative comments at all - a really great hotel

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels

Address: Via Longa, 10, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#4 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#5 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#5 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy
Savoy Palace Riva Del Garda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.