We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Italian Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels to your Saves list
Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Longa, 10, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First Italian Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We've just returned from 8 days holiday (Half-Board) and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Savoy Palace. We stayed in a Lake View Room and enjoyed the little touches of the bowl of fruit, refreshment facilities and bottle of bubbly on arrival. The friendly service of the staff, lovely food and wide variety of menu choices each day added to the enjoyment of the holiday. The hotel facilities of the indoor and outdoor swimming pools were lovely. This hotel has staff who go that extra mile to ensure your stay is made as enjoyable as possible. Well Done Hotel Savoy Palace! Cleanliness of the rooms was excellent. The bathroom was a little dated, the hair dryer was not adequate and positioned in the bathroom and only had one setting. The scenery on Lake Garda is just beautiful. A holiday full of fantastic memories!

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room with a good view of the lake, ours was limited. Also our room had a sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    239
    55
    12
    9
See reviews for
287
394
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We have just returned after a week at the Savoy Palace Hotel, Riva. It was a super experience. The staff could not do enough to make our stay brilliant. This included, even the owner, (Pietro) who welcomed all new visitors and thanked guests for using the hotel and saying bye on departure. The food was good with a nice selection and if there was nothing on the menu which appealed they would ensure that we were accommodated willingly and happily. Nightly entertainment enhanced our stay with good company. The room was good, although perhaps this is the reason I can't give 5. Perhaps a little modernisation would benefit but linen and towels changed every day and cleaned to high standard as well. I would definitely recommend the hotel and would return at some stage in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Just returned from a week's stay (B&B) at the Savoy Palace, having booked family room directly with hotel and would happily return in a heartbeat without a moment's hesitation. Relative to other Lake Garda area accommodation, it's at the mid point price range and in terms of quality and value for money, punches well above its weight in that category. Located on the outer fringes of Riva but with plenty of restaurants etc in the vicinity and the town is a pleasant walk (10 - 15 mins) along the lakeside, even quicker if you avail of the free bikes. The hotel with plenty of parking, is just off main road which is good for avoiding noise although that means its also a few hundred yards back from the lake itself. Shows all the signs (regular cleaning, well presented, friendly service etc) of being a well run ship, that's visited regularly by Mr. Tonelli, a justifiably proud captain/owner. Water in the outdoor pool(s) a little on the cool side but you get used to it, no problem with sun beds and there's an indoor pool too. Breakfast very good and the afternoon tea with pastries is a nice touch that in a way is indicative of how good the place is!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Just back from a lovely stay in the Savoy Palace and really enjoyed it.

Pros:
* Stunning jaw dropping views of the mountains from our room (203) and from the pool!
* Beautiful pool, very clean.
* Completely spotless everywhere.
* Great balcony with our room.
* Lovely location off the noisy main road near lake shore with beautiful walkways and activities nearby.
* Friendly staff, very accommodating, I can't remember the name of our waiter but he moved us into the conservatory on day two which made our stay!
* Breakfast was superb
* Half board included dinner,something different every night with an all you eat salad buffet before dinner
* Free bikes
* Cocktails in bar were lovely

Cons ( but just nit picking as we really enjoyed our stay!)
* It's a pity there isn't a separate children's pool (only a minor issue as it was very beautiful) but for couples it could get a bit annoying with children jumping in on top of you constantly. (Tip lunch time is a lovely quiet time to use it.)

* It's located a little out of the characterful old center of Riva in the newer part of the town. This wasn't a problem for us and we used their free bikes whenever we went into town. Anyways the lakeshore walkway is stunning when you do go into the center and was always a highlight going along it.

*The hotel did try to organise night time entertainment and in fairness it was one of only a few hotels offering entertainment at night but we felt it was more suited to the older guests but it was very relaxing to sit in the bar at night a listen to the music.
* twin beds instead of doubles (just a pet hate of mine)

All in all I'd recommend the hotel and we really enjoyed our stay we would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Our room (203) and the rooms directly above us were at the corner of the hotel so our balcony was sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed at the Savoy for a week following a very last-minute booking, and were not disappointed! The hotel itself is clean and spacious; the rooms (although we weren't in them very much due to lots of activity around Lake Garda!) were cleaned promptly every day by lovely staff who were always friendly and helpful and they were bright with balconies overlooking the mountains in Riva. The pools were both good (albeit a little cold at times!) and we very much enjoyed the games room on a wet day. The hotel also allows you to hire out bikes which we absolutely loved, and it was a wonderful bonus that this came within the price of our stay as normally this would not be the case with most.

The food is just fantastic - full of variety and different dishes that we had never tried before. There was never any scrimping on quality or quantity, and we always looked forward to our 4pm coffee break and evening meals. Breakfasts have something for everyone and the waiting staff are absolutely fantastic; so friendly and willing to help. Mr Tonelli was also in attendance on most days and made so much effort to come around and chat to everyone which is something I've certainly never seen before in a hotel. The staff are definitely one of the Savoy's best qualities!

After an extremely stressful few months we absolutely made the right decision in spontaneously booking the Savoy, and enjoyed a wonderful rest. Would recommend it to anyone of any age and if we return to Riva we will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed at the Savoy Palace on a Travelsphere holiday in July. The staff were very friendly and efficient, especially the waiting staff. The food was excellent, lots of choice and the waiter service was impeccable. Mr. Tonelli, the owner, visited the hotel every day and he obviously has a good relationship with his staff as well as the hotel guests. The rooms were well proportioned, very clean, and we had a balcony with lakeside views. We used the bicycles which were available free of charge to visit some of the local villages, all along cycle paths which were safe and had stunning views. The reception staff were happy to help with bus timeables to a variety of lakeside towns and local maps were available in reception. There was entertainment every night on the terrace with a good mix for all ages. The location of the hotel is good; about a 15 minute walk into Riva Del Garda along the lakeside or along the main road. We thoroughly enjoyed Riva Del Garda and Hotel savoy Palance in particular. We'd certainly go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Savoy Palace for one week in last month (June) on our Honeymoon. We had a fabulous room with a view of the lake. The room was spotless and the bathroom also. We stayed on a half board basis and the variety of menus every day and wine selection was perfect for us. The breakfast also catered for practically every taste. The staff and Mr Tonelli himself were all very attentive to ensure all their guests were looked after. We will be back one day.

Room Tip: To get a room with a view of the lake ask for a Mirolago room on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riva Del Garda
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels
Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels
#6 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Continental - TonelliHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Hotel Savoy Palace
Hotel Savoy Palace
#7 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
4.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
5.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#3 of 31 in Torbole
4.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels

Address: Via Longa, 10, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#4 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#5 Business Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#7 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy
Savoy Palace Riva Del Garda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.