We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Savoy Palace

Save Saved
You added Hotel Savoy Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Savoy Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Longa, 10, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 61 hotels in Riva Del Garda
Sligo, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My friend and I have just returned from a 2 week stay in the Savoy Palace and from the moment we arrived until our departure it was most enjoyable. The reception staff were both friendly and helpful and the staff in the dining area too were very friendly and met us at each meal with a genuine smile and greeting no matter how busy they were and the food was delicious and nicely presented with a good choice of menu. The room on the 3rd floor with a view of the swimming pool and mountains was spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Each evening there was entertainment on the terrace and the owner Mr Tonelli was in attendance to speak to the guests.
Location was good too, just a short stroll to the lake and lakeside promenade walk to the town which was always a very pleasant walk. Would we stay there again? Definitely!

Room Tip: A corner room gives you 2 pleasant views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    346
    168
    44
    12
    8
See reviews for
167
277
15
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

From the moment we arrived we knew this was a good hotel. The reception staff were helpful, friendly and efficient. The room was clean, comfortable, and came with a king sized bed. The waiting staff were always ready to help, and the food was delicious. The hotel itself is a short walk from the lake promenade in Riva, with plenty a shops and restaurants nearby. There are also many sightseeing, and boat trips that can be arranged from Riva del Garda. There was evening entertainment every night at the hotel with a very pleasant outside seating area and bar. I can only find praise for this hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Some rooms come with lakeside views, but don't worry to much as other rooms have good views of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We as a family of 4 adults spent Christmas 2012 at the Savoy Palace Hotel in Riva Italy
The Hotel is very well appointed in traditional style.
The hotel reception was at all times helpful and friendly
and maid service spotless..
The restaurant service was excellent overseen by the charismatic and very professional Maitre.D ...Daniel
with special thanks to Emiliano and Nabil, our waiters
Barr staff courteous , prompt and excellent cocktail makers.........

Although quite grand and spacious , the Hotel was decorated and designed to give an intimate family Christmas atmosphere, with Xmas trees arranged in sections around the Hotel and restaurant which gave family intimacy as well as neighbourly communal discourse


Our room , although not a suite, was spacious , well appointed and with beautiful views of the Dolomites.
Everything is relative, and we come from a lovely part of the country in England , have travelled widely and enjoy a good environment
But we can thoroughly recommend the Savoy Palace Hotel

Carole Barr and family

Room Tip: South facing rooms open out to the quiet location of the front of the Hotel which has views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed here in early June. The hotel is not exceptional in either looks(modern concrete) or location (down a side street 50 yards off the main road). However all this can be overlooked when you consider where the hotel is situated - a short stroll down to the lake and a fabulous 15 minute stroll lakeside to Riva. The hotel itself has all the facilities one would wish for, pools, terrace etc and our room was twice the size of some hotel rooms that we have stayed in recently. The restaurant served a very good breakfast and we had absolutely no complaints about the evening meals. During the evening there was live music - ok, not to my taste, one guy tinkling away on an electric piano and trying to sing - but hey, you are on holiday so who cares! The bar staff waiters were extremely efficient , and to top it all the owner of the hotel - a Mr Tonelli - was in constant attendance ensuring everything went smoothly. Would we return? - certainly if only to see if we can get a ride in the owners' Ferrari!!

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking either the pool or the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altea, Spain
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The service and facilities were excellent. The staff in the dining room were ready to help at all times. Our room was overlooking the pool with a beautiful view of the lake. The bar man was very good. After our first evening drink, he remembered what we drank and brought us our drinks on veranda each evening. In all it was a very relaxing week.

Room Tip: Te pool was attended by a pair of residents ducks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I think we probably expected too much for a 4 star hotel but we always select a hotel that has air conditioning and to be told that the owner would not allow it on until the middle of June as it wasn't warm enough yet was not acceptable. It was at least 26C when we were there early June 2013 and we were unable to sleep due to the heat.
The hotel was nice, no lake views but pleasant enough looking at mountains. The food was ok, beautifully presented but the taste was often a little bland. Buffet salad starter every night but the content never varied and does not always suit the british palette with cold brocolli, cold cauliflower and cold cooked carrots! The rooms were very clean and comfortable but the hotel looked as if it needed freshening up and modernising a bit. Quite old fashioned really. The staff were very friendly and helpful. You won't go wrong with this hotel but it needs smartening up a bit and should allow the customer the choice of whether or not to have air conditioning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing towards the lake and overlooking the mountains near the town of Riva.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We have just returned from our second holiday in this hotel. The fact that we went back for the second time is recommendation enough as we dont usually do this.
The staff and the food were the usual excellent quality. Great selection of food at both breakfast and dinner time. The waiters were so friendly and attentive and some even took the time to welcome us back as they had recognised us from a previous visit. The pool area is so clean and weel maintained and never too busy. There were always available sunloungers.
However we have a couple of reasons why we would consider a different hotel if we were to return to Lake Garda. Firstly, the day we arrived it was quite warm and naturally I turned on the air conditioning but to find that it was not working. I went to reception to report this but was told that there was nothing wrong with it, but that the air con was not turned on until 15th June! We were not offered a fan or any other comfort measure. Considering it was 29 degrees, the room was very hot and stuffy, even with the balcony door open. And considering we had paid for 4 star accomodation to have the luxury of air con, I do not think it is acceptable to have guests be uncomfortably hot just because it is not yet 15th June. If we had been content enough to have no air conditioning, we would have stayed in a 3 star hotel as we had previously. One of the main reasons we chose to pay 4 star rate was because of the availability of air con. We were also very disgruntled that our travel agent had not highlighted this to us when we were booking. If they have not been made aware of this by the hotel I think they need to know as I'm sure other guests will complain.
The rooms and bathrooms also need a bit of a revamp as they are starting to look a bit shabby and old fashioned. If this hotel is to maintain its good reputation, I think they need to have a look at these points. The evening entertainment is also less than entertaining - a man playing a piano and attempting to sing on occasions!
I would like to stay at this hotel again because the good points far outweigh the bad but I would ensure that air con was definitely in operation and re-decoration had been done before we would consider it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Savoy Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Palace

Address: Via Longa, 10, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#3 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#4 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#5 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Palace 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Savoy Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Palace Riva Del Garda
Hotel Savoy Palace Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Savoy Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.