We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort to your Saves list
Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Umberto Cattoni 5, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 61 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at Villa Nicolli in early July and had a wonderful experience. The Hotel is conveniently located only a few walking minutes away from the Town Center of Riva. We enjoyed spending time in the Spa and at the Pool, both of which are impeccable. The Food is very good and the Staff friendly, helpful and genuinely interested in providing a great experience for each Guest.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Buonasera and thank you very much for your lovely review.
We are very pleased about your kind comments regarding your recent stay in our hotel. It's great to know that you enjoyed it so much and had a wonderful experience with us.
We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Riva del Garda.
Best wishes from Villa Nicolli & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    109
    44
    12
    9
See reviews for
53
253
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newton Aycliffe, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was our first visit to the Hotel and Riva. Overall my wife and I were very happy with the service and amenities in the hotel. The staff were pleasant and helpful and the holiday reps from Inghams were great and extremely helpful and friendly.

The vegetarian options were excellent and the food was very good with lots of variety.

The only issue was my wife didn't realise that the spa, pool and Jacuzzi was on offer for free. She tried to get into the pool but it was locked a few times so she should have asked the staff.

The Hotel is in an ideal location close to Riva centre but quiet enough away from the traffic.
We would definitely recommend people to book this hotel and resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Mr Peter,
We really appreciate your kind comments about our hotel: thanks a lot!
We are honoured you chose to stay with us on your first visit to Riva del Garda and it's wonderful to hear that your impression was so positive. Such a pity that you haven't used our spa: it is really worth a visit. Good reason to come back in the future! ;)
Kind regards from Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed here for 11 nights at the start of June 2013 - half board with Inghams. We wanted somewhere where you could do some walking and cycling (with the reward of a nice spa experience at the end of the day) and also relaxing and strolling around a pleasant town - with good food and a quiet hotel. This was perfect. The hotel is at the end of a residential street in a very quiet area. It is a 10 minute walk to the "town" and 15 to the lake front with nice cafes and restaurants. The breakfast was adequate and the evening meal was surprisingly good. We eat out a lot so have a good benchmark to measure this against. The wine list was extensive and the Maitre D (one of 3 brothers running the hotel) was knowledgeable about wine and very helpful. His nephew offered a wine tasting experience twice during our stay - and this was a great free hour or so. A free lunch was offered every day - made up of fresh salads and anything from the evening before that could be served again. Some reviewers we note, think this is a terrible thing - we disagree and were glad to see food not being wasted.We're not sun worshippers so did not use the outside pool - but it was beautiful. We used the indoor pool and spa everyday with its sauna, steam room and various other rooms. This was a treat. The hotel is quiet. We were happy to read in the bar or outside on the terrace after dinner with a coffee and liqueur. If you want something more than this - head into town. Take no notice of those reviewers who seem to think the hotel should supply free bottled water, coffee and alcohol. We did not feel ripped off and fully expected to pay for all drinks we consumed! The hotel also supply free city bikes. They don't have gears but are absolutely fine to get you to nearby towns and attractions which is mostly flat or low incline. We paid for a standard room. It had plenty of storage and was fine. We had a noise issue from an adjoining room and the reception staff dealt with it very promptly. The balcony was small with room for two chairs - no table or outside light which was a pity - but not an issue. All in all - we really liked this place and would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Buonasera from Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort!
A warm thank you for your fantastic review. We are delighted to read that everything was just perfect for you, from our location, our food and wine suggestions, to our spa.
Thank you for your visit and hopefully we will welcome you back soon again.
Kind regards from Riva del Garda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Villa Nicolli with my husband and 17 year old daughter for ten days during July. Would highly recommend the hotel. Pool, spa, garden, bar, reception services, housekeeping, restaurant - all first class. The restaurant serves delicious food, the menus are exceptional, using local produce and presentation is excellent. Wine recommendations are also top notch. Dinner is 'an event' to be enjoyed so if you plan to do anything after dinner, go early. Occasionally the service was a little slow but it wasn't a problem - needed time to savour the five courses. Some rooms overlook the pool and some the mountains and vineyards. It is about a 10 - 15 minute walk to the centre of Riva and slightly less to the lake. Weather was around 30 degrees and sunny. We booked through Inghams, our first ever package deal. Representatives were thoroughly professional, pleasant and efficient. We were most impressed. Arrangements ran like clockwork. We only booked one excursion through Inghams, a day in the Dolomites, which was very enjoyable. Only one grumble with this trip. Coffee stop 'Tenz' hotel saw us coming and served coffee and disgusting strudel before we sat down. I suggested they use alternative stop and Inghams rep made a note. Would recommend sailing Du Lac for sailing, windsurfing etc. Use the ferries to get around to other places on the lake. Borrow bikes from the hotel and cycle along brilliant cycle paths around the lake to Tornole and Arco. Back to the hotel - it is in a quiet spot and enjoyed by older clients. There were a few younger couples, a couple of families with younger children but would probably recommend for the more mature client. All the staff were excellent. Hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Mrs Ann,
Your kind words are greatly appreciated, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review.
It's a pleasure for all of us to know how much you enjoyed your stay and your holiday overall.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Warm regards from Villa Nicolli & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The food is excellent.and beautifully presented and the wine recommendations were outstanding.
All the staff were very attentive. Our family enjoyed the relaxing spa and pools. It's a short walk to town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Mrs Barbara,
Thank you very much for your nice feedback about your recent stay in our hotel. It's really a big pleasure to read that you had a wonderful time in our hotel and that you enjoyed our cuisine and wine.
We hope to welcome you and your family soon again for many other relaxation moments.
Kind regards from Villa Nicolli & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Villa Nicolli earlier this summer and it was wonderful. The accommodations were excellent and the staff was very friendly. The food was delicious. I really enjoyed the beautiful pool and spa. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Mr Tom,
We are glad to receive your short and intense review. A big THANK YOU for staying with us and for your kind words - greatly appreciated. We hope you will come back and visit us once again in the near future. Best regards from Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

It is a pleasure to report on Villa Nicolli for a second year - see our review from 2012. We visited (with Inghams) last year for a week and liked it so much we returned for a fortnight. If possible, the place has improved! The noisy air conditioning is fixed (we asked for the same room). Last year we said that the quality of dinner was variable but that this was no problem because it gave us a chance to eat out some evenings. Here, there has been the biggest improvement. The quality of dinner is now very good indeed - excellent dishes, great variety, well prepared and served with some style. The test would be if they did not repeat the same menus over the second week and they didn't - variety and quality remained high for two weeks. Villa Nicolli have even produced their own good, robust cuvee red wine, blended from five local producers. It was a challenge to resist for one evening to revisit our favourite restaurant, the Leon D'Ora in Via Fiume (book ahead to sit outside in the sloping alleyway) . Well done to all in family Nicolli, especially Allessia and Renato and the waiters, who work with a sense of civility - but not servility - and a dry sense of humour. It's worth getting to know them. Ignore the odd negative reviewer - whose comments tell you more about them than this gem of an hotel. For the life of me I can't see how you can spend as long as claimed walking to the lake and the town, both of which are a gentle stroll, giving this hotel a calm, quiet but accessible location. We will be back I hope.

Room Tip: The layout and size of standard Comfort rooms does vary. Ask for a move if you are not content as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Good evening and a big thank you for your kind words!
We really appreciate that you took the time to write a second review about our hotel. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your second visit even more than the first one. It's a great satisfaction to know that you also found some improvements in our service and in our cuisine. We hope that you will be visiting us for a third time soon again. Arrivederci from Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort

Address: Viale Umberto Cattoni 5, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#8 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#8 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#14 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, a Kingdom of harmonies, peace and wellbeing in Riva del Garda. Discover the thousand relaxation opportunities of Lake Garda: enjoy a spa treatment, taste delicious food in the restaurant Perla di Lago or stroll around Riva del Garda and the sorrounding area. An unique and exciting experience to fall in love with this small ancient world... Click on the video and make the trip start! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nicolli Hotel Riva Del Garda
Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.