We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, Stylish and Friendly hotel in Riva del Garda” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort

Save Saved
You added Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Umberto Cattoni 5, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 61 hotels in Riva Del Garda
York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Small, Stylish and Friendly hotel in Riva del Garda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We recently visited as a family of 4 in May with our 6 year old twins and stayed in a junior suite.
Its our 5th visit to Lake Garda and 3rd to Riva so well placed to compare hotels......
Room 8/10 - Found the room was comfortable, spacious and spotlessly clean.
Hotel Facilities 8/10 - Good with lovely indoor swimming pool
Service 9/10- Outstanding, The staff went out of their way to be pleasant with our children.
Particularly in the restaurant where nothing was too much trouble for the Maitre'd!!
Food 8/10- Good choice, Good portions and High quality
Location 6/10- The only slight down side, Located in a suburb on the edge of the town, but a 15 min stroll to the Old square/waterfront.
Overall a small, stylish and friendly hotel with good facilities that I would recommend as long as you have no walking difficulties.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Good morning and thank you so much for posting your review about your recent stay in our hotel.
We really appreciated your kind comments and were delighted to know that your family holiday has been so positive. We would also like to thank you for your visit and hope to welcome you back very soon again on your next visit to Riva del Garda.
Kind regards,
Villa Nicolli & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    100
    35
    11
    8
See reviews for
43
219
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 10 nights for our 39th wedding anniversary. Great location with wonderful views and very peaceful. More like 25mins from centre of Riva, not 10mins as per Inghams brochure. Doesn't live up to expectations on food -complimentary lunch is grated carrot & red cabbage, lettuce and usually left overs from night befores evening meal, breakfast is hot and cold buffet but same every day and again items from night before appear e.g Devil's food cake and strawberry bavarois - very strange and not particularly appetising. Evening meal promises much but fails to deliver and agree with earlier comment "more like school dinners" than fine dining. Was told there was no ice cream as one of dessert choices for two days as the freezer had broken down! I intend to post pictures of the food on you Tube to show they are not as represented on internet site - i think they must have scanned them from another website. when we spoke to the Inghams reps they admitted they had never eaten here so were not aware of the reality.
Worst thing is the charging for everything - at evening meal you have to buy bottled water. you have to sign for your purchases but there is nothing to tell you what the prices are so you dont realise what youre being charged. Luckily we went to pay agter three days and then found out we were being charged 3.5 euros for 1 litre bottle ( 1.5 litre bottle costs 0.49 Euros in local supermarket) 5 euros for beer (1 euro in supermarket) there's a fridge in bedroom but youre not allowed to use for your own purchases - threatened you will be charged for total cost of minibar items if you do! No coffee with evening meal - again you have to buy from bar 2.60 euros for lukewarm latte. Asked for kettle in bedroom to make our own but told there was local law against this. Have to buy a swimming cap (3 Euros) to go in pool or indoor pool! We've spent a fortune here on nothing . Never been anywhere that wouldn't give you a drink of cold water. Such a shame as this has spoiled our holiday - we don't come away to get ripped off. We'll stick to cruises after this - so much better VFM! We paid over £800 per person for this holiday! Villa Nicolli ? Villa rip off!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Buongiorno from Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort.
We have received your review and we are really very upset and sorry if you did not appreciate your holiday on lake Garda.
Otherwise your review is too hard and we are going inform tripadvisor check center. The information you reported are false and very offensive..
We will not stop to clarify to you why a bottle of water in a hotel or in a restaurant has a different price in comparison to a bottle of water bought in a supermarket but, as you know, all the drink prices, as massages or treatments prices are available at the Bar and at the Restaurant on the lists.
What is needed to be clear is the difference between a minibar or a fridge use.
MInibar, as the world suggest, is a bar service in the room where you find drinks of the hotel.
The fridge in the room is a service usually provided by Residence where you pay the rent of a fridge where keeping your own drinks: WE PROVIDE A MINIBAR.
All the pictures and information on our website are our property and true.
At least, to be short, we are honest worker people: do not be free to write on internet rude insults please.
Once again we are sorry if you did not enjoy your holiday: we sometimes receive complains and criticism that can help us to improve our service: offensive and false declarations as yours are not acceptable
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abergavenny
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We recently returned from a week in the Hotel Villa Nicolli ,it was our first time to Italy and we were not disappointed!! The location is great, a short walk to the town centre, very peaceful with stunning views of the mountains and vineyards to the rear or the lake at the front.
The staff went out their way to ensure the guests stay was comfortable. The reception staff were especially helpful ( many thanks to Sylvia).
The food was varied and we enjoyed our evening meals. We were never at the hotel to dine at lunchtime,
We could recommend this hotel to all family and friends, the only British company going to this hotel is Inghams, who provided a fabulous service, and the reps, Becky, Danni and Martyn who constantly went out of their way to provide an excellent service, are a credit to the company,
Thanks to all the staff for a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear or the hotel, which had fantastic views of the vineyards and mountains,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Good morning and thank you very much for sharing your comments about your stay in our hotel!
We are more than happy that your first visit to Italy went so well and that you loved our beautiful Riva del Garda. It's a pleasure to know that you had a wonderful holiday in our Resort and that you appreciated the kindness of the whole team. Thanks a lot for your visit and we hope to see you again in the future. Best wishes from Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We spent a lovely week at the Hotel Villa Nicolli on an Inghams holiday.
The hotel was very good, in a quiet position a few minutes pleasant walk from the lakefront and close to the local bus stops.
The staff were all very helpful and friendly as were the Inghams reps Dani and Becky.
We enjoyed our meals in the hotel restaurant and found the room fairly large with a lovely view from the balcony overlooking the vineyard and mountains.
We were very lucky with the weather the week we were there (25May-1st June) so found lots of lovely walks in the area and made use of the ferries to Malcesine (where we took the cable car up Monte Baldo for wonderful mountain scenery) and Limone. We took the local bus to Arco where we climbed up to the castle and the Varone waterfall walking back to Riva via the cycle track.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Good morning from Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort!
We would like to thank you for your kind review about your experience in our hotel.
It's wonderful to hear that your holiday was so successful and that you enjoyed so much exploring our surroundings. We are happy that we were part of all this and hope to welcome you again on your next visit to Riva del Garda. Best regards, Family Nicolli & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A week May 15 - 22 on an Inghams holiday. Hotel was spacious, clean and generally well equipped, staff were friendly and efficient. Food excellent and generous. Only slight downside was the room (108) which, whilst clean and comfortable, had a balcony let into a very wide tin roof over the kitchen which interfered with the view. When it rained (which was often!) the water collected in the bottom and since there was no drain, just stayed there. Also, the bathroom waste bin was broken and the sink waste defective. The pool outside was great but the weather only allowed us an hour or two beside it. Indoor pool and other facilities were very good and popular during our week. Location, as advertised, was very quiet.

Inghams arrangements and reps were excellent, but if you take the comfortable public bus to Verona, you get half the lake tour, all down one side, plus a trip to Verona, for the return fare about 24 euros, as opposed to the high costs of the two separate tours which they want to sell you. (Sorry, Becky and Dani!!). Get on at the bus station to get the best seats (right hand side of the bus). But we were very grateful for Becky's tip to buy Monte Baldo cable car tickets at the travel agent by the ferry point in Malcesine. This enables you to sail past the long queues at the cable car itself and costs no more.

Room Tip: Second and third floors better than first floor for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Proprietario at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Buongiorno!
Thank you so much for your kind review.
We really apreciate it.
We ar sorry you did not have nice weather during your stay on Lake Garda: we are having now a warm sun, a nice breeze and really nice days.
We hope you are having a nice weather too and to see you another time.
Maybe next time you will book a Deluxe or a Junior Suite which have nice balconies and great view!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Second visit in two years, this time early season. Hotel facilities are excellent as is food each evening. Service is professional but with a smile. Staff are excellent and you can tell its family run. Rooms are spotless and reception staff-what can I say; Sylvia should be given a medal-a pure delight. As was the waitress (blonde hair and youngest of all the staff), a real delight!!!

Would go again and use Inghams-great travel company.

Only criticisms are they are minor-receptionist (daughter of owner) was quite rude, TV too quiet (even on maximum allowable volume) and no UK or English speaking channels.

Room Tip: Upper floors facing vineyard. Air conditioning did not cool room but might reflect early season
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Proprietario at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Grazie, thank you for your very nice review.
It is Alessia writing, the "owner daughter".
I would like to thank you for the nice words you spent for us: really happy you enjoyed the holiday, the food and the staff and thank you to come back for your second visit on Lake Garda.
I am sorry you think I have been rude to you and if it is so I apologize.
It would be great to know who you are and know if I met you because I was not at the Reception this week a part one day but if I am been rude to you in this occasion, once again, sorry.
Be polite, at work and in life in general is very important to me and you made me really upset in writing so but I am happy you found the staff helpfull and friendlly.
I hope to have the pleasure to meet you next time you will come to us and to Lake Garda and have the opportunity to be nice and friendly to you.
Grazie

Alessia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

I found the hotel to be very average! Its nit conveniently located either. It has a nice spa but does not let you go in & out of it directly from outdoor pool which is bizarre as they make you trapse through the hotel between the indoor pool & spa & outdoor pool!
The rooms are twins but you can ask to have them zip & link which we did not find out until half way through our trip!
I would not stay dinner bed & breakfast the food at dinner is poor like having italian school dinners!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Buongiorno from Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort and thanks for your post on Tripadvisor.
Certainly it’s sad for us to receive such a comment because we consider our cuisine very good and tasty, but we know that is something subjective. Anyway we are sorry to know that you didn’t enjoy our food at dinner time and we hope that you appreciated everything else during your stay.
Kind regards from Lake Garda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort

Address: Viale Umberto Cattoni 5, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#8 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#9 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#13 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, a Kingdom of harmonies, peace and wellbeing in Riva del Garda. Discover the thousand relaxation opportunities of Lake Garda: enjoy a spa treatment, taste delicious food in the restaurant Perla di Lago or stroll around Riva del Garda and the sorrounding area. An unique and exciting experience to fall in love with this small ancient world... Click on the video and make the trip start! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nicolli Hotel Riva Del Garda
Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.