We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mirage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mirage to your Saves list
Hotel Mirage
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Rovereto 97/99, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
€5 off room rate
Ranked #36 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

we stayed at this hotel in May, food good, staff friendly, rooms very clean, but noisy as they had thin walls. The corner room seems to be the best choice as you have 2 balconies. The hotel has its own guide who will bring you on guided walks and cycles of the surrounding lake and mountains, the guide is brilliant, he made our holiday.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    56
    30
    6
    2
See reviews for
23
68
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed for a week in the lovely hotel Mirage. It is a modern hotel, a 15 minute walk into the centre of Riva. There is a spacious reception, which has comfy seating, tables with chairs, a bar, exercise bikes and a reading area to the side. The breakfast is a buffet, with a mixture of cold meats, cereal, bread, sweet breads, toast, boiled eggs and hot food. I never ate any of the hot food, as it always looked either over or under cooked. For dinner you have a cold buffet, followed by a 3 course meal. The food was fair at best, however I did not starve. The food does not match a four star hotel's restaurant. Unfortunately we incurred the wrath of a waiter and the maître d when we asked for tap water and an ice bucket for a bottle of wine. The waiter was very rude and aggressive. We were told that if you want water with your meal, you HAVE to buy the bottled water from the restaurant. A wine cooler and a tray of ice were slammed down on our table! She was very aggressive and rude, neither she or the maître d apologised. We only asked for two items, this response was unacceptable. The other staff however were very friendly and helpful. The food was quiet often cold, due to the way it was dished out. The restaurant as well as the food needs to be updated. The rooms are nice, they are cleaned thoroughly every day. Unfortunately you can hear the people in the next room. I would recommend the hotel, but do not expect too much from the food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I arrived on 5th September with a group of 84 persons, the Hotel was great. The service excellant.
The Catering staff , waiters and watresses were first class and I would have no hesitation in returning to this Hotel which I hope to soon

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Lake Garda are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the centre of Riva, either along the main road or a lakeside path.

The rooms are quite small and minimalistic but comfortable and fairly well equipped. The air conditioning was quiet and not intrusive if left on through the night.

The dining room was good and there was a reasonable selection from the dinner menu every evening. Breakfast was buffet style and more than adequate.

The hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff were polite and very helpful.

There was a free safe in the room, free wifi, freeWII, free tea and cake every afternoon and free use of 'city' bicycles. If you had your own bicycle free safe storage was available as well as free access to bicycle washing and repair facilities.

The pool area was nice but it was by a fairly busy road and as such a bit noisy at times.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We booked to go here as the hotel we wanted to stay at was fully booked, we also read some bad reviews on the food which I think is unfair... Its not michelin star but it's adequate, I never not wanted to eat there and i can be a bit picky. The staff in restaurant especially our waiter was absolutely lovely, so friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a great position opposite the lake, i slept brilliantly for the 4 days we were there, I agree the rooms aren't huge but you don't spend a lot of time in there when riva and the surrounding area is so beautiful.
I wouldn't hesitate going back here, it's lovely and clean with friendly staff who make you feel welcome. It's a great base to explore without being in one of the smaller more crowded resorts.
With the pool all i can say is the road noise is noticeable BUT it's private and easy to get a bed, if you don't like it you can always find a spot by the lake of which there are plenty.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Lovely hotel in Riga, about 12 mins walk from the centre, across the road from the marina and Lake Garda. Food good, rooms small but perfectly adequate, good shower, and plenty storage space, Very friendly and helpful staff. We rented bikes from 'garda on bike', for a week and also purchased a gardaonbike card for 10 euros each which allowed us to join their mountain bike guided rides which were excellent. The guides were great, and the shop staff were lovely. Plenty good restaurants around also.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Just back from a lovely holiday in Riva, in Lake Garda and a very pleasant stay in the Hotel Mirage. I had read a few negative reviews on Trip Advisor which was far from our experience.
The hotel seems to have been recently refurbished and is quite contemporary in style. Our room wasn't huge but was perfectly adequate and was very clean and comfortable. It was fitted with air conditioning which worked well in the mid 30s temperatures all week and kept us comfortable at night.The bathroom was a good size and we had a small balcony.

I had read reviews saying that the sound proofing between rooms was poor, but I don't agree. There was a young baby in the room next door to us all week, and we even didn't realise until the last day!! Similarly, although the hotel is next to the main route into Riva, once our door was closed at night we never heard the traffic.

The hotel location was good for us. It is on the outskirts of Riva and is a pleasant 20 min stroll along the lakeside path to the old town (or 5 minutes on the bicycles which the hotel provides for free). There is a marina and a bar immediately opposite, and shops a few minutes walk away, and the grass and pebble beach areas for lying at by the lake are just minutes away. The hotel has a moderate sized pool and provides free pool towels every day. We did feel that the noise of the road side traffic did spoil the pool a little, and so tended to lie down by the lake front. In my opinion nothing beats swimming in the fantastic waters of Lake Garda anyway.

Staff in the hotel were very professional and efficient. The food was perhaps the only slight downside. The breakfast buffet was lovely, but I would describe the evening meals as average. We did tend to go for dinner towards the end of the dinner "window" and perhaps for that reason we tended to find that the main courses were a bit over cooked. But there was a choice, a different menu every day and we never went hungry with the 4 courses.

Finally a lovely added bonus for us was that we stayed during the Ferragosta festival. There was a special 5 course menu that night, with the main course marched in by the kitchen team to music played on the baby grand piano, lights down and flames burning. And when we arrived back in our room there was a lovely little gift of a bottle of hand cream wrapped up with a bow and a message of good wishes.

All in all I would definitely recommend this hotel and would go back if I have the pleasure of returning to Riva.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riva Del Garda
1.1 mi away
Astoria Park Hotel
Astoria Park Hotel
#29 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels
Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels
#6 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Liberty
Grand Hotel Liberty
#34 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 stars 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#3 of 31 in Torbole
4.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
5.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirage

Address: Viale Rovereto 97/99, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#18 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mirage 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An active holiday with views over the lake The Hotel Mirage in Riva del Garda is the best location for an active, sporty holiday, as it is situated in the large arena for outdoor activities named "North Lake Garda". This modern 4-star Hotel is located opposite the sailing harbour of Riva del Garda, just minutes away from the beach and about 1 km from the town centre, and offers a striking view over Lake Garda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirage Hotel Riva Del Garda
Hotel Mirage Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mirage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.