We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Liberty

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Liberty to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Liberty
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Carducci 3 / 5, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 61 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

Nice Hotel, great staff, zero problems, stay a week on package during new year.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    244
    110
    44
    23
See reviews for
65
332
25
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

The hotel was lovely and the staff could not have been more pleasant but our stay was let down by our bedroom which was one of the older and smaller ones. The bed was over firm (for us) and having only one bedside table was not convenient. The room was clean but 'tired' with chips out of the furniture and the bathroom likewise. The shower glass of some 8" was ludicrously small and it could not stop water going onto the floor. The breakfast was superb though and the dining room well run. We would stay there again if given one of the rooms in the new block.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

Staff were very pleasant, nothing was too much trouble
Free Internet (we had the laptop) but hotel mainframe was very slow - no internet access in bedrooms.
5 minutes from centre and harbour convenient for all classes of shops local supermarket turn right and across the road - cheapest souvenirs found in street beside hotel Via de Chiesa
Food was acceptable though by choice we ate out 2 nights
entertainment downstairs but not heard in bedroom
Smoking area a covered veranda

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

This hotel COULD be fantastic with a bit more time and effort invested in it - but it isn't. The lobby and the dining room are grand enough - but the hotel is let down by its rooms & restaurant service. Our room was a 'standard' room' at the back of the hotel (booked thorugh a well known Lakes & Mountains tour operator). It was quite small & old fashioned -dark wooden furniture, dark red carpet, floral bedspread. The shower in the en-suite was an attachment above the bath with a TINY fixed shower screen. This meant water everywhere whenever you took a shower. which must cause them problems. The best way to get around this is to hold the shower attachment in your hand and hose yourself down! On the plus side - the room & bathroom were kept very clean on a daily basis- with fresh towels & sheets provided!
Now for the restaurant -a beautiful room with grand chandeliers. Breakfast was pleasant enough - operating a self service buffet with a reasonable choice. Dinner however was a much stricter , hurried affair. Your choice of starter & mains had to be made in the morning at breakfast from a changing daily menu that offered roughly three choices per course. Dessert was usually some variation on ice cream or from the freezer. The meals themselves were ok but nothing special. Dinner service was from 7.30pm until 9pm but essentially they wanted you there as soon after 7.30 as possible as at 9pm they were obviously clearing up! The waiters are pleasant and friendly enough but are sadly set in their ways.They are at your table as soon as you finish to clear up & bring the next course. We advise, if you're on half board, to eat out a couple of nights for a more relaxed experience. If you tell the waiters the night before or on the morning that you'll be 'away' for dinner (say you're going on a late trip) - they'll offer you a 'packet lunch' to take away instead - which is actually very good -3 filled rolls & some fruit & water! A good thing - any water or wine you don't drink they will cork & return to your table the following evening.
Overall experience - not a disaster but could do much better!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Quiet location but only 10 minutes walk from centre of resort, Good food and very helpful and pleasant staff. If anyone looking for a relaxing holiday this is the hotel to stay at. Rooms could benefit from upgrading but very comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

We don't normally spend quite so long in one place on holiday, but for once 8 nights wasn't enough. The hotel was very plush, especially the pool areas - yes there are two pools - one inside and one outside. We nearly missed the inside pool but spent a rainy day relaxing there, helped by three steam rooms at different temperatures. The outside pool area has plenty of room for lounging about in the sun, and was extremely clean with superb views.

Our room was very spacious, with a very high ceiling. Our only complaint was the bathroom's decor, which was a slight let down - cracked tiles and a shower that leaked everywhere. But I'm happy to turn a blind eye to that, given the rest of the positives.

Breakfast was top-notch (we stayed on B&B basis), with the option of sitting inside or outside on a veranda, overlooking the pool.

Location very good - 8-10 minutes walk into the heart of things in the centre. Parking excellent, although getting in/out can perhaps be a little tight on occasion.

The staff were outstanding - there was a genuine buzz across the staff, which gave a positive atmosphere. Nothing was too much for them. Thoroughly professional and friendly. Excellent job.

All in all, no hesitation in recommending this place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

We arrived at about 10.30pm after a long day and and were checked in within 5 minutes even though there was over 40 in our group.We had upgraded to a superiour room as i had heard that Italian hotel rooms are generally small.I was very pleased when i saw the size of our room it was number 203.The biggest in the hotel and what a view!The lake and mountians just go on forever beautifull.The room was very clean and looked on to the main road the windows have electric shutters to put over the windows at night so no problems with light or noise.As we arrived late at night and missed our evening meal we were offered a lunch the next day,a nice touch.The hotel is about 3 minutes walk from the town center which has shops cafes by the dozen ladies can shop shop shop.
The breakfast was well presented and good selection of scrambled eggs,bacon,fruit and a large selection of breads.The evening meals were superb with a selection of three diferent meals,\you have to pick your meal from a list at your breakfast sitting we agreed that this was a good idea and saves wasting food.The waiters were great ours was Bruino he selected our wines every night and we enjoyed every one.None cost us more than 18euros.The hotel has a wellbeing pool it costs 20euro deposit and 8 euros for towel/gown.The pool has no changing facilities so you get changed in your room.This facility is well worth the cost you can use it all week, The pool has 5 diferent jacusi jets and steam rooms at the rear all very relaxing and enjoible it also has a beauty clinic for the ladies to have a pamper one day it had a special cholate masage!
All staff in the hotel were very helpfull and spoke good english.The reception staff helped with directions and bus timetables.The only downside was the shower in our room didnt have a shower it was a bath with a low level showerhead.Not a big problem.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Liberty

Address: Viale Carducci 3 / 5, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#15 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#15 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Liberty 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated at only 200 meters from town center and lake side. We provide for our Guest, free parking, free Wi-Fi in lounge area and all rooms, free access to pools,fitness room,sauna, turkish bath, kneipp and relax zone. We have 94 rooms but we are still a family hotel. We serve lunch on our terrace overlooking the pool and garden.We also provide half board/full board accomodation, and we can also manage for a wonderful wedding if you wish to marry in Riva del Garda ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Liberty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Riva Del Garda
Grand Hotel Liberty Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Liberty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.