We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“G Roberts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Liberty

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Liberty to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Liberty
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Carducci 3 / 5, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Wexford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“G Roberts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Just back from a weeks holiday in Riva del Garda with my husband. This hotel has an excellent location and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. Our room on the pool side of the hotel was bright, spacious and spotlessly clean. The food was quite good-for a fussy eater like me -the choice was adequate. We travelled with the Travel Dept and found our guide Renata to be more than competent. Her knowledge and sense of humour made our trips very enjoyable and she also proved to be very kind. Highly recommend this trip with Travel Dept.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior room to ensure comfort and a good night's sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, November 22, 2014
Good afternoon,

thanks for your stay and review !
I will give the message to all Staff

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    315
    134
    55
    30
See reviews for
76
433
28
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Very beautiful hotel. Excellent location at the city center. The staff is helpful and friendly. They are ready to solve any issue. Free private parking.
- Poor breakfast and Centralized AC. You need to call to the reception and ask to switch it on or off.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, November 22, 2014
Good afternoon,

thanks a lot for your stay !
Hope to see you again and we will take notes about your comments

Have a nice day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I travelled with the Travel Department and was very happy with the organisation of this trip. The Guide, Annalisa was most informative and helpful.
My friend and I had single rooms on the ground floor and they really should not be used for guests at this hotel. They are small, dark and overlook a car park.The corridor carpet leading to these rooms should be replaced as it is threadbare, I spent as little time as possible in the room as it was so depressing. We were offered a double room to share when we complained but no single rooms were on offer. I would love to return to this hotel but would not consider returning unless I could be assured of a better room. I feel people who request a single room in many hotels are treated as second class citizens.
Apart from the bedroom, the other facilities in this hotel are good. The staff are very pleasant and the food quite imaginative. The Hotel is in a good central position in Riva and although near a busy main road, is quiet. The outdoor and indoor pool are lovely and very clean.and the public areas well kept and most attractive. I would reiterate what some other people have said about the price of bath robes to hire for use at the pool. When we were there many people were using the pool without hiring robes.
It was also necessry to contact reception every time you wanted air conditioning put on. This was done without complaint but seemed a little strange for a 4 star hotel.
I hope the management pay some attention to the comments made about their single rooms on
the ground floor and do not offer them.to future guests.

Room Tip: Avoid single rooms on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, November 22, 2014
Good afternoon,

thanks a lot for your stay !
Regarding the rooms we are going to refurbish them
in the next years, will update you all trough website or newsletter

Thanks !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My daughter-in-law and I had a girl's night away to Riva del Garda. The hotel boasts a very large indoor pool with sauna and steam room; which was perfect for a cold two days in January. Our room was on the East side with a grand view of the mountains. Buffet breakfast was expansive and tasty. The hotel's location is perfect to walk to into town and see the beauty of the lake. It was a beautiful Italian hotel with old-world charm.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, November 22, 2014
Good afternoon,

thanks a lot for your stay !
Hope to see you again

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We have just returned from Lake Garda staying at this hotel with the Travel Dept. We really enjoyed it - lovely staff in the dining room guided by "George Clooney" Old fashioned "silver service" - great attention to detail without being intrusive.
only drawback was we too were in the "attic" rooms but luckily we had 2 windows so room was quite airy.
shame we had to hire the bathrobes & towels for the pool - for a 4 star it should have been there automatically.
would like to have seen a waiter service at the pool. We will return again to Lake Garda but not sure if back to the Liberty - maybe they may take note of the "concerns" their patrons have expressed & address them accordingly

Room Tip: Avoid the Attic Room with one window at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, November 22, 2014
Good afternoon,

same with another review, TD Guest are not allocated in attic rooms.
You were allocated on the main building at the third floor.
Rooms there are new and with a small window, anyway not attic

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

OK hotel from the front the location was good, but on a noisy round-a-bout. We traveled with the travel department and despite being told that the hotel does not rent out attic rooms, we were left in exactly that, a very dark room small room and with very little ventilation. After complaining we were offered another terrible room which was not much better.

On the plus side the staff were very nice and the pool area was lovely.

Room Tip: Make it quite clear that you will not except being put in an attic room, honestly, you'll thank...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, November 22, 2014
Good afternoon,

sorry to read that but I confirm you that we never put TD Guest in the attic rooms.
You were allocated in the main building in front of the hotel on a third floor rooms,
but not attic. Sorry about that anyway, hope to see you again with us and remember that
there are also upgrade rooms, or ask for a non third floor room

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Dock, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Lovely hotel with good standard of cleanliness. Our room was more of a salon with a huge balcony overlooking the street with the mountains to the right. Quiet at night with steel shutters electronically controlled to keep out the light in the mornings. Hotel was beautifully furnished in a grand style with a modern bar area. Staff were friendly and helpful - thought that it was a bit much to have to pay 30 euros, non-returnable, to hire bathrobes and towels in order to use the outdoor pool. Pool was a relaxed, well maintained area, not really suitable for young children as there was no children's pool, but this suited us; however the water was freezing and could have done with a mild heating to take the chill off! Breakfast was fine - have had better in German hotels - but there was enough to feel reasonably satisfied. An excellent location, behind the main drag but within easy reach of harbour and bar/restaurant areas. Would recommend hotel to anyone - never ate there at night as there was so much choice in the town.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a sea or pool view and though the sea was not visible, the view over the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, November 22, 2014
Good afternoon,

thanks a lot for all ! Nice review and see you
Have a nice winter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0.5 mi away
Astoria Park Hotel
Astoria Park Hotel
#29 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 stars 360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
5.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort
Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort
#14 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Gardesana
Hotel Gardesana
#43 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luise
Hotel Luise
#10 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Riva
Grand Hotel Riva
#47 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
3.5 of 5 stars 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Liberty

Address: Viale Carducci 3 / 5, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#16 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#21 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#30 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Liberty 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated at only 200 meters from town center and lake side. We provide for our Guest, free parking, free Wi-Fi in lounge area and all rooms, free access to pools,fitness room,sauna, turkish bath, kneipp and relax zone. We have 94 rooms but we are still a family hotel. We serve lunch on our terrace overlooking the pool and garden.We also provide half board/full board accomodation, and we can also manage for a wonderful wedding if you wish to marry in Riva del Garda ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Grand Hotel Liberty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Riva Del Garda
Grand Hotel Liberty Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Liberty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.