We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful attic rooms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Liberty

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Liberty to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Liberty
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Carducci 3 / 5, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 61 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Cork, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awful attic rooms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The attic rooms that I and my friends were given in this Hotel were like prison cells - This is a 4 star hotel - and was sold to us as such. The window was way above our heads and all we could see was the sky! We had no idea what it was like outside.......... These rooms may have been acceptable in the past, but should no longer be sold as 4 star quality. The shower screen was about a foot wide which meant that, we the lucky ones who could stand up in our bath!!! sprayed water all over the bathroom. Whoever showered second waded through an inch of water - all our toiletries were soaked the first day.
The saving grace was the wonderful dining room service - such really nice, helpful and amusing waiters.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Good afternoon,

thanks for your review, really sorry about that,
but like we reminded in other comments, attic rooms
are sold at a really lower price of standard or other rooms,
and online is written that there is not a view.
The furniture of the rooms is the same of a standard rooms
and for our view are recommended for a good price/quality of
all our services

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    243
    109
    44
    23
See reviews for
65
329
25
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

It was the best hotel we stayed in on the Garda lake. Everything was perfect. We had a standard double room, it was very warm, big and clean. Bathroom with bathtub is very nice, but it would be nice if there was a curtain or something not to wet all the floor. The bed was a king size and very comfortable, pillows a little bit stiff, but ok. The flat TV had plenty of channels in different languages.
The spa was very nice, and one of the highlights of this hotel. The inside pool with different kinds of water massages, the saunas and the hot and cold showers with massages, were perfect and definitely added a value to our stay in this hotel. When we checked in, we weren't told anything about the free use of the inside pool and the spa, but I've read about it in other comments, so I asked to use it, and we were even provided with bathrobes and additional towels for the spa.
The breakfast was very good, and we enjoyed it very much. We also had parking in front of the hotel, and good wi-fi in the room. There was also a fridge (mini bar) in the room, which was very useful for us.
The staff was very good and friendly, especially the staff we met during the breakfast. In the beginning we booked only one night, but we enjoyed the hotel very much and booked another one.
Our first night was booked via Hotels.com, and the second through the hotel itself. We were told that we will pay the same rate also for the second night. However, at the time of check-out, we were asked to pay a higher rate. It took a while, but finally we proved the staff on the reception that this is what we've been told, and showed the rate of our first night via Hotels.com. In the end we payed the same rate as for the first night, but it retarded us a little on the time of check out.
Overall experience was very good, and we would definitely recommend this place for everyone and will come back again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Good afternoon,

thanks a million for your review !
Cannot thank you enough !

Only hope to see you again with us and other friends or family !

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at liberty . The dining staff were excellent reception and room staff. Found the spa staff a bit unapproachable and the fact we had to pay 15 euros each to access the spa a bit greedy. Remarks from visitors with regards re room standards were relevant and I did not find it acceptable to respond by saying depending on economic status improvements re decor would be made. Holidays are not cheap we save for a year in the hope of an enjoyable break away and we trust and expect a good standard of accommodation and service. Overall good but improvements can be made. Especially when you have to leave early ie
4.30 am to get to the airport. Pots of coffee,tea, fruit juice,croissants and perhaps some cold meats should be available..not a lot of effort but would be so appreciated considering there is a 3 and a half hour coach journey ahead. Take away breakfast consisting of thrown together dried bread and meats and apple could then be avoided. We could make our own.all said would return

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Good afternoon and thanks a lot,

I will pass the message to all inside the hotel, and sorry about
the not renovating right now some rooms, I understand that is not
acceptable from you, but it is also not acceptable how is going the economy
here, so we can keep open, pay our staff, but not hearn enough to refurbish the rooms.

I hope to see you again in our wonderful town and hotel
Thanks a lot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We have just returned from a week's stay at this hotel. We were in a group who had flown from Edinburgh with the Travel Department. We had looked at previous reviews of the hotel and had high expectations and we were not disappointed. The staff were amazing, could not do enough for you. The food was really good with 4 choices for each course. Some evenings I just wanted a light starter and was assured this was no problem and I had melon. The food was also beautifully presented. The staff are so professional and obviously enjoy what they do. If we are able to visit this area again then we will definitely stay at this hotel again. It certainly was a "Grand Experience"

Room Tip: We were in Room 132 on first floor. Very quiet at night. Super king sized bed. Only one fault - t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Good afternoon,

thanks a million for your holiday with us !
We cannot wait to see you again in our hotel,
so please go and book your next holiday !

We have package together with Travel Department every time !

Thanks a lot !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Outside of hotel is lovely. Inside is nice lobby and great coffee bar with friendly staff and comfortable seating.

The location is great for a walk around the town with lots to see and do within walking distance

Food is great

The spa and swimming pool are very relaxing with an exclusive feel.

Room was a bit dark and gloomy had the feel like it was an old convent

Fridge in room was handy to keep drinks cool

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Good afternoon,

thanks a lot for your stay and your words !

I wish you a nice autumn and winter, and remeber that
we are always open so come to see us also in low season !

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Spent a relaxing week at Grand Hotel Liberty and we were very happy with the hotel and the facilities. Our room was a split level room in an annex at the rear of the main building. There was a spacious lounge with a comfortable seating area, mini bar & large T.V. The bedroom and bathroom were on a mezzanine level above, reached by a small staircase. The bed was very comfortable, and there was an additional T.V. on the upper level. The bathroom had a Jacuzzi type bath we had a laugh trying. The room could use a make over but all in all it was o.k. Staff were always courteous and polite. Recommend the first class indoor pool and spa area. Limited menu for evening meals but the food was excellent. Nice bar area for drinks, teas, coffees and snacks. Hotel is very handy for the town centre or the lake side promenade.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Good afternoon,

thanks a lot for your review !

I will give your message to our Staff and we all hope
to see you again in our wonderful city and hotel !

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballincollig, Cork, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just back from a trip to beautiful Lake Garda and a stay at Hotel Liberty. While this hotel is generally a nice hotel our group of 13 were accommodated on the 3rd floor attic rooms. These rooms are absolutely awful. The furnishings are outdated and rooms have small windows up high so no view of the beautiful scenery. Comparable to a prison cell. Bathrooms are a disaster some had to take showers on all fours!!. These were constantly flooding with water and we had to cover the floor with towels every day to avoid falling.We were lead to believe this was 4 star accommodation but I wouldn't give it 2 stars for these rooms. So beware if you are staying in this hotel and make sure before you check in that you are not on the 3rd floor attic rooms. Also extra charge to use indoor pool!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Good afternoon,

thanks a lot anyway for your comment also if you didn't like our rooms.

I remember your group and also the time of booking, not directly with the hotel.

We always offer to our Guest, groups, package or private different kind of rooms,
attic, standard, superior and suites depending on our avalaibility.

At the time of your request, the hotel was fully booked, we had only attic rooms
available and also the budget for the rooms was not high enough anyway to offer
other type of rooms.


I suggest you next time to contact us directly and manage booking with us

Thanks a lot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Liberty

Address: Viale Carducci 3 / 5, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#15 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#15 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Liberty 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated at only 200 meters from town center and lake side. We provide for our Guest, free parking, free Wi-Fi in lounge area and all rooms, free access to pools,fitness room,sauna, turkish bath, kneipp and relax zone. We have 94 rooms but we are still a family hotel. We serve lunch on our terrace overlooking the pool and garden.We also provide half board/full board accomodation, and we can also manage for a wonderful wedding if you wish to marry in Riva del Garda ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Liberty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Riva Del Garda
Grand Hotel Liberty Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Liberty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.