We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our holiday 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Liberty

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Liberty to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Liberty
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Carducci 3 / 5, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“our holiday 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here for 1 week with the travel department on a half board basis , first week in June . Food on the whole was good ,esp the Ravioli , breakfast was the same everyday . We had room 306 on the third floor with 2 amazing views . 1 of the lake and 1 of the mountains The bedroom was very big .The staff were very friendly . The pool was very cold , only for the hardy . You are a 5 minute walk from town and the lake .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Good evening,

thanks a lot for your nice comments about food, breakfast
and our rooms ! I really appreciate you enjoyed your holiday with us !

Have a nice summer
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    314
    133
    55
    29
See reviews for
76
430
28
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Just spent a week at the Liberty and cannot wait to make a return visit. Nothing was too much trouble for the lovely staff. Our room (207) was fine - good size and nice and quiet with lovely mountain views. We loved the style and position of the hotel - shades of National Trust (Italian style) and so convenient for the lovely town of Riva and the ferries etc.

The food was delicious and always entertainingly served by the wonderful George and Maurice.

Thank you so much for making our holiday superb.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra and reserve a superior room. 2nd floor overlooking the pool is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Good evening,

thanks for your review !

I will give your message like always to our Staff and I am sure
they will also wait for your next holiday in the Liberty !

Thanks a lot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Have just spent a week in the Liberty and enjoyed every minute of it. Had a great week, the staff were very friendly and helpful especially in the dining room, the food was excellent with a great choice of food in the evenings (always served with a smile and joke by the waiters). Breakfast was buffet with choice of hot or cold food. We stayed in one of the attic rooms (302) very roomy and comfortable although a bit dull because of the tiny window we soon got used to it. The only thing missing in the bedroom was a full length mirror, there was a mirror on the door of the bathroom (inside the bathroom) this isn't always convenient when someone is using the bathroom! The Liberty is in a ideal location convenient to shops, restaurants and a ten minute walk to Lake Guarda and boats. Will definitely go back again and would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel can be noisy with traffic when booking again I would request pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Good evening,

thanks a lot for your wonderful review !
Hope to see you again with us, the room you stayed is a standard
on the main building, the attic rooms are only in the back side of the hotel.

You can also ask rooms in the main building ( standard or superior ),
not facing the front.

Thanks a lot and enjoy the summer !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just spent a week and enjoyed my stay. The reception staff were very helpful but were unable to resolve my problem of getting a wi-fi connection in my room No 222 despite their advertisement stating that it had wi-fi connection in every room. It was no problem as we just went down to the bar and had drink and used the wi-fi connection there, it just annoyed me that they know the wi-fi does not reach all rooms but still advertise the opposite.
Lake Garda is a great place with good shops and a nice lake front with no shortage of coffee or ice cream stops.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Good afternoon,

thanks a lot for your review,
we honestly had a big trouble on the wifi system during that days,
I am really sorry for the trouble and now we finally have fixed all.

Hope to see you again in our hotel in the future

Thanks a lot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Just back from a week in hotel Liberty,with travel dept.this hotel is full of character and the staff members are all so polite and quite witty. Every night at dinner was a ball the waiters kept us entertained and we were constantly having a laugh with them.the food in the evening was sooooooon good ,I miss it already. Would have liked to see melon and strawberries etc at breakfast thou a great selection of cereals and breads.yes the rooms are a bit dated ,we stayed on the 3rd floor in an attic type room no 301 it was a bit dark as the windows were small,thou rest of hotel was fabulous and so were the staff, loved every minute of it.would definitely return to this charming hotel and its charming staff.hope to see you soon!

Room Tip: Ask to see the room some had baths ours didn't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Good afternoon,

thanks a lot for your wonderful review !

I will pass your message to all Staff and sure they will be happy.

I hope to see you again in the future with us and I wish you a nice summer !

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAngor NI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We chose the grand Hotel Liberty 4* over another 3*hotel located right in the heart of Riva on the assumption that the facilities would better suit my wife who is partially disabled. We have been to Riva a number of times before and knew exactly where it was located and as such just within her walking distance capability.
First impressions were that EU rules regarding disabled access did not apply as we were met with a flight of steps to the main entrance. I only discovered later in the week that there was a small wheelchair elevator tucked around the corner which was not operating.
As part of the Travel Department group we were allocated a room (228) on the second floor. Well, this was the tiniest room we have ever stayed in. There was a double bed, sliding door wardrobes and a lovely view into a back yard from the window which started at chin height!
There was so little space that my wife and I could barely pass each other.
Maybe it's my own fault for not raising the issue immediately as I had assumed that the hotel was fully occupied and the fact that we booked only 2 weeks before we arrived, that this was all that was available. My wife raised it several days later at reception and they could have changed our room on day 1. This should have been a single room.
There was a lack of power points in the room. Nowadays everyone has to recharge something, a phone, camera battery, laptop. I eventually found one beside the bed as part of a light switch. Surely one at the desk/dressing table would have been better.
Regarding the food, this was of a good standard. Early in the week the free WiFi was a bit flaky but eventually settled and was good.
Considering the age of the hotel, its condition was good, nice bar, dining room and pool area. Never got to visit the Spa. Too many steps!

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before moving in and get it changed immediately if not suitable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Good afternoon and thanks a lot

I am really sorry to read about your room problem, of course if you report
immediately that you like to change room, we can provide you the same day
or the day after if was ful another room.
Another better situation is to report in advance that you need a room for wheel chair,
we have 4 proper rooms for disable people that are larger and more suitable.

The elevator on the side of the hotel is always working, but normally is a reception staff
that come to let you go up and down for safety

Thanks a lot again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

s a single traveller I have become used to paying extra for having a room to myself. I travelled to this hotel with The Travel Department from Edinburgh and was very disappointed with both the room provided and with aspects of the service. I was allocated an 'attic' room on the third floor and paid dearly for the privilege of having a small double room. The room was airless, oppressively hot at night and to complete the claustrophobia, the tiny window even had bars on it! The bathroom was modern and the room was kept spotless with daily cleaning. Having travelled throughout Europe whilst the public areas of the hotel were undoubtedly opulent and of 4* standard, other aspects fell below standard. Food was only just OK - should a 4* hotel really offer sweetened and thin fruit juice, and for an Italian hotel to offer tinned fruit at breakfast is really beyond the pale! My final experience was an early morning departure from the hotel for an airport transfer and, despite having been told that an early breakfast had been arranged, the dining room remained closed and in darkness until my transfer arrived! Lack of breakfast before a 3.5hr trip was no joke!

Room Tip: Avoid 3rd floor rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Good afternoon, thanks for your report,

really sorry to read your disappointing about some part of your holiday
Our hotel is a 1910 buildings, so everyroom is a different size, when
people are paying a supplement for a double use single, we give always
a double room, of course bigger rooms ( but we are talking about some meters )
are given to couples or anyway 2 people.
We never give attic rooms to The Travel Department, so you had a standard room
on the third floor that is a big difference.

Regarding the food of course everyone have an own opinion, and many many people,
we can say 95% are extremely happy with our food and service.

Thanks a lot and have a nice summer
Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0.5 mi away
Astoria Park Hotel
Astoria Park Hotel
#29 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 stars 354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
5.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort
Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort
#14 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 stars 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Gardesana
Hotel Gardesana
#43 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parc Hotel Flora
Parc Hotel Flora
#12 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 stars 289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luise
Hotel Luise
#10 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 stars 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Liberty

Address: Viale Carducci 3 / 5, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#16 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#21 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#30 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Liberty 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated at only 200 meters from town center and lake side. We provide for our Guest, free parking, free Wi-Fi in lounge area and all rooms, free access to pools,fitness room,sauna, turkish bath, kneipp and relax zone. We have 94 rooms but we are still a family hotel. We serve lunch on our terrace overlooking the pool and garden.We also provide half board/full board accomodation, and we can also manage for a wonderful wedding if you wish to marry in Riva del Garda ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Liberty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Riva Del Garda
Grand Hotel Liberty Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Liberty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.