We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wi-FI” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Liberty

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Liberty to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Liberty
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Carducci 3 / 5, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 61 hotels in Riva Del Garda
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wi-FI”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just spent a week and enjoyed my stay. The reception staff were very helpful but were unable to resolve my problem of getting a wi-fi connection in my room No 222 despite their advertisement stating that it had wi-fi connection in every room. It was no problem as we just went down to the bar and had drink and used the wi-fi connection there, it just annoyed me that they know the wi-fi does not reach all rooms but still advertise the opposite.
Lake Garda is a great place with good shops and a nice lake front with no shortage of coffee or ice cream stops.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Good afternoon,

thanks a lot for your review,
we honestly had a big trouble on the wifi system during that days,
I am really sorry for the trouble and now we finally have fixed all.

Hope to see you again in our hotel in the future

Thanks a lot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    205
    96
    43
    19
See reviews for
57
283
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Just back from a week in hotel Liberty,with travel dept.this hotel is full of character and the staff members are all so polite and quite witty. Every night at dinner was a ball the waiters kept us entertained and we were constantly having a laugh with them.the food in the evening was sooooooon good ,I miss it already. Would have liked to see melon and strawberries etc at breakfast thou a great selection of cereals and breads.yes the rooms are a bit dated ,we stayed on the 3rd floor in an attic type room no 301 it was a bit dark as the windows were small,thou rest of hotel was fabulous and so were the staff, loved every minute of it.would definitely return to this charming hotel and its charming staff.hope to see you soon!

Room Tip: Ask to see the room some had baths ours didn't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Good afternoon,

thanks a lot for your wonderful review !

I will pass your message to all Staff and sure they will be happy.

I hope to see you again in the future with us and I wish you a nice summer !

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAngor NI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We chose the grand Hotel Liberty 4* over another 3*hotel located right in the heart of Riva on the assumption that the facilities would better suit my wife who is partially disabled. We have been to Riva a number of times before and knew exactly where it was located and as such just within her walking distance capability.
First impressions were that EU rules regarding disabled access did not apply as we were met with a flight of steps to the main entrance. I only discovered later in the week that there was a small wheelchair elevator tucked around the corner which was not operating.
As part of the Travel Department group we were allocated a room (228) on the second floor. Well, this was the tiniest room we have ever stayed in. There was a double bed, sliding door wardrobes and a lovely view into a back yard from the window which started at chin height!
There was so little space that my wife and I could barely pass each other.
Maybe it's my own fault for not raising the issue immediately as I had assumed that the hotel was fully occupied and the fact that we booked only 2 weeks before we arrived, that this was all that was available. My wife raised it several days later at reception and they could have changed our room on day 1. This should have been a single room.
There was a lack of power points in the room. Nowadays everyone has to recharge something, a phone, camera battery, laptop. I eventually found one beside the bed as part of a light switch. Surely one at the desk/dressing table would have been better.
Regarding the food, this was of a good standard. Early in the week the free WiFi was a bit flaky but eventually settled and was good.
Considering the age of the hotel, its condition was good, nice bar, dining room and pool area. Never got to visit the Spa. Too many steps!

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before moving in and get it changed immediately if not suitable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Good afternoon and thanks a lot

I am really sorry to read about your room problem, of course if you report
immediately that you like to change room, we can provide you the same day
or the day after if was ful another room.
Another better situation is to report in advance that you need a room for wheel chair,
we have 4 proper rooms for disable people that are larger and more suitable.

The elevator on the side of the hotel is always working, but normally is a reception staff
that come to let you go up and down for safety

Thanks a lot again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

s a single traveller I have become used to paying extra for having a room to myself. I travelled to this hotel with The Travel Department from Edinburgh and was very disappointed with both the room provided and with aspects of the service. I was allocated an 'attic' room on the third floor and paid dearly for the privilege of having a small double room. The room was airless, oppressively hot at night and to complete the claustrophobia, the tiny window even had bars on it! The bathroom was modern and the room was kept spotless with daily cleaning. Having travelled throughout Europe whilst the public areas of the hotel were undoubtedly opulent and of 4* standard, other aspects fell below standard. Food was only just OK - should a 4* hotel really offer sweetened and thin fruit juice, and for an Italian hotel to offer tinned fruit at breakfast is really beyond the pale! My final experience was an early morning departure from the hotel for an airport transfer and, despite having been told that an early breakfast had been arranged, the dining room remained closed and in darkness until my transfer arrived! Lack of breakfast before a 3.5hr trip was no joke!

Room Tip: Avoid 3rd floor rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Good afternoon, thanks for your report,

really sorry to read your disappointing about some part of your holiday
Our hotel is a 1910 buildings, so everyroom is a different size, when
people are paying a supplement for a double use single, we give always
a double room, of course bigger rooms ( but we are talking about some meters )
are given to couples or anyway 2 people.
We never give attic rooms to The Travel Department, so you had a standard room
on the third floor that is a big difference.

Regarding the food of course everyone have an own opinion, and many many people,
we can say 95% are extremely happy with our food and service.

Thanks a lot and have a nice summer
Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n.ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

spent 7 nights here,15-22 may.a beautiful building built in 1910,has much more charm than a new build..lovely reception area and the staff were very helpful and friendly,as you walk to the lift the restrauant is on your right a good size well kept,on the left there are sets of settes and comfy chairs to relax on,there are also chairs and tables in an outside area.the bar is on the left down steps then you enter a room as you approach the lift,there is a room to the right which is used as a kids play room,there is also a paino in the first room ,and antique furniture and vases in the corridor and here. we were in room 219 ,it was a good size clean, but a bit dated who cares your holiday is outside.we had a nice view of the mountains from the left and right check my pics.we would have liked coffee making facilities in the room we asked but they don't supply them I think the manager could look into.the breakfast is continental style,plenty of fresh fruit,peaches,prunes pinapple,apples..etc.also scrambled egg and bacon,bot sometimes cold.you were given a dinner card to choose your meal for that night,i think this was a very good idea.four starts,three mains,and then after you had finished your meal they give you a sweet menu.the food was excellent.room was kept clean,and plenty of fresh towels.the hotel is close to town centre and lake.my mother in law was put in a small room but because there was a double bed init plus a table she could not get down both sides of the bed.there should have been a single bed in the room number229.never used wellness centre so cant comment,and the outside pool looked lovely.overall a very good hotel would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Good afternoon,

thanks a lot for your review !

I appreciate that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel
and our city, lake and mountains !

Hope to see you again soon and if you like, remember
you can upgrade any time to a superior room if available

Have a nice day
Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We have just returned from a week at Hotel Liberty booked through Thomas Cook.. The hotel is wonderful and is central to all the attractions of Riva. The food was absolutely delicious with a good selection of dishes each day. The staff in the dining room very attentive and in fact all of the staff were very friendly,making our stay memorable. We had a very comfortable and spacious bedroom on the first floor with a balcony overlooking the garden. We would not hesitate to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Good afternoon,

thanks a lor for your reply !

I really appreciate your comment and will give your message to all Staff,
we all hope to see you again in our hotel, summer, winter or when you like,
we are always open

Thanks a lot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife and I recently spent 7 nights at this hotel in early April when we traveled with The Travel Department. We looked at the literature in the hotel brochure in our room and the following was stated. "In order to preserve the tranquil atmosphere of the "Beauty and wellness Spa" children are permitted only between the hours of 9.00am and 12.00 noon and only if accompanied by a parent or guardian". Having used this facility on three separate days at 4pm, 5.15pm and 5pm and had to put up with very young children being taught how to swim with a lot of screaming going on, we decided to report this to the Main Reception desk upstairs only to be informed that they no longer enforce this policy. The relaxation aspect of the pool was completely lost and we were told that they forgot to remove this policy from the hotel bedroom brochure. We generally found the Reception staff to be totally lacking in customer care skills.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Good afternoon,

thanks a lot for your review, I remember this situation
because the Staff tell me about your complaint,
you are true we forgot to take away from our info that
children can go in the pool if together with parents.

We would like to give possibility to all, also family, to relax
and enjoy our SPA.

Thanks a lot anyway for your stay and hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Liberty

Address: Viale Carducci 3 / 5, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#16 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#16 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Liberty 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated at only 200 meters from town center and lake side. We provide for our Guest, free parking, free Wi-Fi in lounge area and all rooms, free access to pools,fitness room,sauna, turkish bath, kneipp and relax zone. We have 94 rooms but we are still a family hotel. We serve lunch on our terrace overlooking the pool and garden.We also provide half board/full board accomodation, and we can also manage for a wonderful wedding if you wish to marry in Riva del Garda ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Grand Hotel Liberty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Riva Del Garda
Grand Hotel Liberty Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Liberty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.