We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Liberty

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Liberty to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Liberty
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Carducci 3 / 5, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 61 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
cumbria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I would definitely recommend this hotel. We stayed here for a week in September and we were spoilt. Whilst we were there we celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary. Everyone was very attentive. Ideally situated and a lovely hotel to stay in. On a downside the transfer did take a long time but the scenery was amazing. We willbe definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Good evening,

thanks for your review !
Really appreciate to read that and will give the message to all Staff.

We are waiting to see you again in the near future !

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    242
    109
    44
    23
See reviews for
65
329
25
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I had a very pleasant stay here as part of a The Travel Department tour. Hotel is very charming wind situatied in a handy locaction in Riva del Garda, close to supermarkets, pharmacy, restaurants, cafes and shopping district. It is also a 5 min walk from the shore of the beautiful lake. So very handy for popping in and out of.
Hotel team very cherry, helpful and friendly. Waiters in the restaurant typically Italian, chatty and create some banter at dinner time which is great.
The only negative to the hotel is that the bedrooms decor is very dated along with the bed clothes, could do with a bit of a refreshing up.
Overall excellent, would definitely return again when visiting the lake.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Good evening,

thanks a lot for your review !
See you soon in spring, we are always open !

Have a nice 2013 begin !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Visited the Grand Hotel August 2011. A beautiful hotel located in an ideal location with friendly staff. The room was small and maybe a little dated but efficient. While I did hear of one complaint about accommodation that was dealt with immediately and to the guest's satisfaction. Both the breakfast and evening meal were of high quality. A charming period hotel placed in the cente of Riva literally yards from Lake Garda.

A stunning location matched by excellent accommodatin

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Good evening,

thanks a lot for your comment !

Yes you are right, we always hear Guests and try to do the
best to make their holiday fanstatic !

I hope to see you again next season
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I first visited Grand Hotel Liberty with The Travel Dept in October with my sister. I loved it so much I returned on my own for the Christmas and New holidays. It most certainly did not disappoint. My room, with a lovely balcony with a view to the majestic Alps, was a dream. The Staff could not do enough for me and as a fledgling solo trip; I am totally smitten.I am going back in April as during the season, Riva is ideally situated to explore this immense lake with its beautiiful villages, and up into the medieaval villages in the mountains (not operating as well during the Christmas/New Year) The Ferry and Bus services are a short walk from the hotel. Walking/cycling,water-sports/magnificent sightseeing readily available. I would alwaysstay at Grand Liberty for the staff and excellent facilities

Room Tip: Just ask the staff as to wha tyou require and they will facilitate
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Good evening,

thanks a lot for your review ! Really appreciate all your comments !
Will pass this tomorrow to the staff and they will be very happy !

See you soon or in April and if you need something, don't exitate
to contact the staff or me directly.

Thanks again and enjoy your 2013 begin !
Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed in this lovely old hotel from the 17th to the 22nd November last and I had a very enjoyable experience. Yes it is old fashioned, as some reviewers have said, but that is the essence of its charm. The staff are wonderful without exception, friendly, helpful and nothing fazes them. My room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The food was excellent, the portions somewhat over generous. On gala night there was a five course dinner! I must not forget to mention the star of the dining room, the delightful George, the man with the big smile for everyone, and faultless courtesy. The hotel is perfectly situated,close to the lake and the shopping area, the old town is a ten minute walk from the hotel, with a medieval fortress and a beautiful old square with lots of pavement cafes where you can relax with a coffee or Prosecco before a short stroll to the lake.I had a wonderful time and will be back to the charming Grand Hotel Liberty for a longer stay in 2013.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Good evening,

thanks a lot for your review !
I will give your comment to all staff in the hotel,
and hope to see you longer for 2013 !

Thanks again for your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

.Hotel was full of character and charm. The bedroom was a little worn and not 4 star but it was lovely and warm at all times and kept clean .Location of hotel was a few minutes walk to lake and beside the old town
The staff at main desk were , helpful and kind with great english , nothing was too much trouble for them. The food in the hotel was first class but not always hot . The dining staff were exceptional willing to change dinner if guest did not like what was on the menu this was done in a courteous manner our waiter was Bruno and he was excellent especially in his knowledge of the wine list "George" should be very proud of his waiters they were definitely 4 star I would have be delighted to visit this hotel again and would recommend it to my family and friends when next we go to the christmas markets

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Good evening,

thanks a lot for your review !
We are receiving many many reviews for this winter holidays
and are all wonderful ! Hope to see you again before next
Christmas markets, we are always open !
I will give your message to George and all Hotel's Staff

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I travelled with The Travel Department to this hotel for Christmas 2012, and enjoyed a lovely holiday, visiting Verona, Venice, the lake and a wonderful optional trip to the nearby alps. The hotel has beautiful architecture, plenty of character and friendly staff. The spa area is just beautiful. My bedroom was perfectly adequate and pleasant, but one person on the trip had a rather compact room. The food was good in parts, eg. a magnificent turbot dish, but sometimes too salty or stodgy; a mixed bag really. Christmas dinner main course was rolled turkey slices with a cheesy sauce. Mostly there were options, but sometimes a set dinner. The location of the hotel is just perfect. A few minutes walk to the beautiful town centre, or the lakeside lido and shingle beach. I enjoyed a quick swim in the cool lake on Christmas day! There are lovely walks from Riva, a flat two mile walk by the lake to Torbole or further inland to Arco. The tours to various places were well organised and conducted and overall it was an excellent holiday and a lovely place to come any time of year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bit of room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Good afternoon and thanks for your review !

We appreciate that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again !

The menu sometine is set depending on the contract we do with the tour operator,
and most of them are asking a gala dinner with set menu each week, and then there
was the Christmas Lunch with set menu, but you could always ask for a change.

Thanks a lot and Happy New Year !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Liberty

Address: Viale Carducci 3 / 5, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#15 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#15 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Liberty 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated at only 200 meters from town center and lake side. We provide for our Guest, free parking, free Wi-Fi in lounge area and all rooms, free access to pools,fitness room,sauna, turkish bath, kneipp and relax zone. We have 94 rooms but we are still a family hotel. We serve lunch on our terrace overlooking the pool and garden.We also provide half board/full board accomodation, and we can also manage for a wonderful wedding if you wish to marry in Riva del Garda ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Liberty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Riva Del Garda
Grand Hotel Liberty Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Liberty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.