We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want somewhere to chill out - this place is it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gardesana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gardesana to your Saves list
Hotel Gardesana
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Brione 1, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 61 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Bray, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you want somewhere to chill out - this place is it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

My husband and I stayed in the Gardesana hotel last August on a 7 night holiday booked with The Travel Department. I had stayed in this hotel before, and would recommend it to anyone. The staff are very friendly and accommodating (I use a wheelchair but was given a room on the ground floor and helped up and down the steps every time I either entered or left the hotel), the food is lovely (I'm not a sea-food person, but everything else was gorgeous), they serve some of the nicest coffee I've ever had the pleasure to drink, and they are more than willing to recommend other places to try for food or leisure. My personal favourites are the Al Porto pizzeria next door to the hotel, and the Hotel Sole on the lake front. They are always willing to offer advice on what to do around the lake (kayaking, surfing etc) and were extremely pleasent to deal with. My only grumble is that the rooms could do with being updated a little, and having a slightly more wheelchair friendly entrance would also be a bonus, but the experience itself far exceeds any possible fault.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    62
    27
    9
    2
See reviews for
16
54
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

this is a beautiful part of italy,all the hotel bedrooms are very small,after all the walking around and touring it would be lovely to have a bath,but only showers available.the dinners are not nice,the portions are small,a lot of the food is cooked from frozen,the first day our 7pm dinner started at 7.30pm. last night our special 7.15 gala dinner started at 8pm.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

We have just returned from a weeks holiday with the Travel Department in Riva Del Garda and staying at the Hotel Gardesana. We were very impressed with the speed of the check in and the staff were very friendly. We were in a side room on the first floor which was very clean but fairly basic. If you would like a pool view you would need to ask for a room at the rear of the hotel as the view from our room was not too good.

The food was excellent with a choice of starters, mains and desserts all of which were superb. The starters were as big as the main course and were very filling!!

The bar man in the evening, named Alio, was very good company and always had a smile on his face. Nothing was too much trouble.

The walk to Riva is approximately 20 minutes walk but you can walk along the lakeside which is stunning.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for clean accommodation with friendly staff and excellent food.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

We have recently returned from holiday in Lake Garda. We stayed at the Hotel Gardesana. We travelled with the Travel Department and thought the holiday was extremely good value for money, especially as it included trips to Venice , Verona, and a triparound the lake. We were delayed on our return journey by the ash cloud but were well looked after by the tour company and spent two extra nights in Lake Como which was a nice unexpected add on to our holiday!
The rooms at the Hotel Gardesana although not large or luxurious were perfectly adequate and very clean. The staff were very helpful and always pleasant. The food was plentiful and there was plenty of choice.The hotel is situated just outside Riva but easily within walking distance and there is a lovely path along the side of the lake which leads to the town. There are plenty of ferries to take you to the other towns around the lake and for !5 euros (less if you are OAP) you can buy a pass for unlimited travel around the northern area of the Lake.The weather in April was variable and not warm enough to sit outside but the hotel does have a nice outside pool with plenty of loungers.
We enjoyed our stay and would be happy to return.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

The size of the room we where in was small and basic ,very clean, very noisy from the throng of traffic at the side of the hotel at all times day and night. Food was excellent beautifully presented and piping hot. Staff were warm and friendly. Entertainment on the Monday night was very good it was a way of guests getting together for a sing song shame it was on for only one night in the week. As our holiday was a split one we preferred Hotel Gardesana to the one at Lake Como even though it was larger and much grander.Hotel Gardesana had overall a more welcoming atsmophere.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

Travelled to Lake Garda with the Travel Department on 7th April for 7 nights. On arrival our group of 4 were ushered to our accommodation which was towards the back of the hotel. The two rooms we were allocated were in a very tired condition and badly in need of updating. On reflection this area of the hotel looked like it hadn't been used in ages. On our second night we noticed ants in the bathroom and the next morning informed the manager, who said the place would be sprayed while we were out that day. However, on returning to our rooms that night we were horrified to find the bathrooms infested with ants, crawling all up the walls and shelves. We had to emply and shake all our toiletries and even throw some away as ants were all over them. We also spotted some in the bedrooms. I have a serious phobia about ants and was not the better of this ordeal. We had to ring our rep the next morning and we were subsequently moved to rooms upstairs. We did not, however, receive any apology from the hotel management. I would certainly not recommend this hotel as apart from the ant experience the evening meals definitely left a lot to be desired also. Most of the dinners appeared to be cooked from frozen.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H_Gardesana_Staff, Owner at Hotel Gardesana, responded to this review, April 22, 2010
Good afternoon, we normally don’t reply to costumer review, because of course everyone
Have his own opinion about holiday, hotel, service and food.

In this case sorry I want to reply because I think your opinion is too much outside the true.

We allocate you in a ground floor room, because on the room request was written :
Both rooms large, nice and lowdown. Really important as ****** has asthma.
We decided to allocate you on 2 triple rooms, larger that all the other rooms in the hotel.
We understand that the hotel is not new, but we use always these rooms, for people asking ground floor room, family room or bigger rooms than normal, we was thinking of making something nice to you.
You also never reported that to us, maybe we can try to move you before of the problem of the ants.
We are sure that we made apologize of the problem when happened, and we do our best to move you to upper floor when the problem was not resolved.

We want to say also that the hotel is very clean, and could happen in a spring weather that some ants are coming in the room, maybe for some juice, maybe for something to eat that was in the rooms. But not for other reason.
It could happen also in private houses to find ants,maybe you are not used to this in your country, but sorry here could happen.

We are surprised to read about the meal, because I remember that someone of your group told me that apart of the ants problem, the food was good. All the group was happy about the food, we didn’t get any complain and weare also surprised that you wait to go back home to report this.
Yes some ingredient could be frozen at origin, more safer and clean for not having any problem with Guest, but not all the food, and anyway is not cooked from frozen.

We are really sorry for your holiday, but we always try to do our best for our Guest, we think that you can see other review before yours. Thanks a lot
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

I arrived home yesterday after a 7 day stay at the Hotel Gardesana in Riva arranged through the Travel Department. I am amazed at the negative comments here about this hotel and feel that they may have been made about a similarly named place elsewhere (there are two hotels named Gardesana on Lake Garda that I am aware of). I found the hotel to be of the highest standard with accommodation, facilities, service from and friendliness of staff - a special mention of Gabriella in the restaurant and the reception staff -and food all excellent. a most enjoyable stay and I will most certainly be back and would not hesitate to recommend it.

I was a solo traveller but with a large group who also booked through the Travel Department and all of my fellow travellers were of the same opinion about this hotel as myself.

A big thank you to all the staff!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Gardesana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gardesana

Address: Via Brione 1, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gardesana 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Gardesana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gardesana Hotel Riva Del Garda
Hotel Gardesana Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gardesana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.