We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel, a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels to your Saves list
Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Rovereto 71, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lovely hotel, a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

We got this holiday on a last minute website and didn't know what to expect. I think we were very lucky to get such a great hotel. The room was lovely, with a great view of the mountains. You are about a 2-3 min walk from the lakeside with a main road inbetween, though the hotel is set back from the road so we couldn't hear any noise at all from it.
A great location from which to explore Riva and the nearby towns on the lake!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    124
    24
    0
    1
See reviews for
95
266
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

We throughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Garda, this excellent hotel offers wonderful food, very friendly staff and spotlessly clean rooms. The drinks were cheaper than we paid in Menorca earlier this year only 5 euros for half a litre of wine. Lovley and quite at night, comfatable beds and rooms cleaned every day. A couple of nights there was an excellent piano player. Only 20 mins walk into Riva which is very nice. All in all a very relaxing week in beautiful setttings.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Leonards on sea
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

The Hotel is situated near the Lake on the outskirts of Riva del Garda about a 20min walk along the Lake shore. The swimming pool is at the front which is near a busy road but is screened of by palm trees. The room we had was at the back of the Hotel which overlooked an "allotment" and apartments with Mountain views as a back drop, but it was quiet. We found the staff helpful and attentive, they even went out of their way to get us a meal when we arrived back late from a trip to Venice. Now for the down side, the meals were a repetitive, they served us pork as the meat option 4 nights in a row and as I do not eat fish or vegetarian which where the other options this put a dampner on what overall was an ejoyable break

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two weeks August 29th-September 12th 2009. We booked the hotel just one month before departure via Thomson website and we got an excellent price of £815 per person for Half board (free lunch is available if you wish-we never ate lunch at the hotel) which we thought was outstanding value considering the star rating of the hotel and being in the Lake Garda area.


Location

The Hotel location for us was ideal-20/25 minutes from the centre of Riva, depending which route you took- main road or lake. The journey via the lake took longer than the main road, both were pleasant walks. The hotel was set back from the lake some 500m- situated on the main road (be careful when crossing the road, numerous zebra crossings -Zebras in Italy are different than in the UK-drivers only stop when the pedestrian is on the Zebra) We could easily walk into Torbole in the other direction via the Lake, took about 30 minutes for us, people with walking difficulties may find it too far.
Being located on the main road it had good links with buses which stop near the hotel -we travelled to Bardolino, Malcesine, Verona and Rovereto (where we caught the train) you can get the bus to Arco which is only a few miles away-we didn’t. One day we walked the 8 mile round trip and then another day used the Hotel bicycles for the same journey.
Ferry terminal for getting around the lake located at the far end of Riva and is about a 30 minute walk from the hotel.


The room

Was the only major disappointment - small room and very small en-suite (no bath) uncomfortable bed, limited clothes/drawer space -small TV(CNN & BBC news)no fridge, only a mini bar that you couldn’t put your own drinks in! I’d previously sent an e-mail asking for a high floor with lake view & luckily we received just that, which did help to compensate for the small room-there was a small balcony which had a fantastic view, even though the balcony was a bit hair-raising! At a guess only 10 or so rooms have a lake view -4th floor and higher. The cleaning and servicing of the rooms was exceptional. It was our anniversary whilst on holiday and one night waiting in our room was an ice bucket with a bottle of Prosecco and a lovely card wishing us a happy anniversary-nice touch.


Outside area/pool

Small size pool with no children’s section - limited number of sun beds, which some guests reserved by placing their towel on (even happens here!!) -no need, there were always free beds available. The pool area is very confined and close to the main road so not that relaxing listening to traffic noise! In two weeks we stayed around the pool 5/6 hours because there’s so much else to do. Other outside areas include a patio with table and chairs which has a bar service. Also a table tennis section. Overall very limited outside space with no views.


Food/restaurant

On entering the restaurant you are allocated a table which is yours for your entire stay.

The food quality and choice at breakfast was very good, everything available that you come to expect from a quality 4 star hotel. One criticism, at breakfast no waiter was available for clearing dirty crockery from tables- lots of tables left with uneaten food and dirty cups and plates from early risers tables- not a big issue but could easily be rectified.

Never ate Lunch at the restaurant - I did check it out - there is a small choice, a few dishes, can’t complain with it being free!

At Dinner the hotel tried to make it a special occasion which we really appreciated. Some nights there’d be aperitifs and canapés or an added course, some nights there was a live pianist playing throughout dinner -one night a week it would be a Gala night, when a fantastic buffet was presented which included a massive cake the chef had prepared. All this supplemented a four course meal which was chosen from a menu whilst at breakfast …The first course was always a salad from the buffet the second course was either soup or pasta. With three choices for the main course, one of the choices was always a vegetarian dish. For dessert there was another three choices. The food in general was of a good standard apart from the main course which we thought was poor -small portions and poor quality of meat /fish/chicken etc cheap cuts -in our opinion this penny pinching let the hotel restaurant down. The service during dinner was very good, slightly let down sometimes by not having enough staff to cope with drink orders (wine/beer/water) and the service of food.
Another lovely touch from the hotel was free cake and coffee every afternoon at 16.00.

Overall very good but could be superb if a little tweaking was implemented to the main course.


Entertainment/Bars

Some nights there was entertainment downstairs in the bar area-a solo guy singing and playing the piano- very talented. The bar service left a lot to be desired even though the bar girl come waitress was exceptional. She was just so overworked at busy periods and in desperate need of help, poor management not seeing this. The drinks when you did receive them were of a good quality and very reasonably priced (in some cases) For some reason in Italy beer is expensive -the beer at the hotel was cheaper (still expensive by UK..) than most places in Riva.. Wine was 5e for half a litre. -Unbelievably Remy Martin was the same price as a Cola at 3e -you figure out that mark up!


Facilities

Not many, table tennis & free bikes -I believe you could use the sister hotels (Savoy Palace Hotel) facilities a few minutes walk away which included a spa.


Summary

We are well travelled and have seen some fantastic places- Lake Garda and the surrounding area is one of the best places we’ve ever been too -we had some fantastic days out which included a day trip to the Dolomites, Venice, Verona, Bardolino and Garda. We also had a fantastic day at Malcesine taking the cable car up to Mount Baldo followed by lunch in the beautiful waterfront town. Cycling /walking to Arco via vineyards and river valleys is a memory to savour.

We’ll definitely go back to Lake Garda, most likely staying in a different hotel.
That’s no slight on the hotel because we really enjoyed our stay as the hotel is well run perhaps penny pinching on the main course for dinner being it’s only flaw. -oops nearly forgot to mention that the staff, like everyone says, are exceptional.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

We spent a week in Hotel Garda at the beginning of September and had a most enjoyable holiday. Our room overlooked the swimming pool and so, we benefited from the morning and evening sun when in the hotel. The room was not very spacious, partly due to a large sofa, which could presumably accommodate another guest. Cleanliness and service were top notch. Safe and internet access were free, underlining the generosity of the hotel. Food was very good, with plenty local dishes served. The cost of dinner and bar drinks was very reasonable. Pre dinner drinks served in the garden and reception area some nights helped guests socialise and made for a very friendly atmosphere. Staff in all parts of the hotel were unfailingly courteous and helpful. I celebrated a birthday while at Garda - not something I make a song and dance about at this stage in my life. However, when we returned to the hotel that evening, a bottle of chilled Proseccho was delivered to the room and a handwritten greeting card from the hotel owners and staff. A gesture which was appreciated far beyond its monetary value. The hotel is a good 20 minutes walk from the boat terminal, but, since one can go along the lake, it is no great hardship except in the heat of the day. Taxis can be booked at the hotel desk but there are no cruising taxis, as in many resorts.
Hotel Garda provides excellent value for money and many personal touches.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

Just returned from a week at the Hotel Garda with my husband and 82 yr old mother. The weather was extremely hot - between 32 and 37 C all week! However this was made bearable by the cool mid day breeze (more of a wind down by the lake!) and the shady hotel garden. I must say that the hotel is much further from Riva than I had expected, a good half hour stroll for me and more like 45 mins for Mum, but the walk along the lake is so lovely and there are lots of benches to rest on.
The hotel itsef is friendly and welcoming and the staff are so helpful, from the owner to the chambermaids. I was in a refurbished room at the back which did not catch the sun - quite an advantage! - and mum had a single overlooking the pool. Both rooms were clean and comfortable with large comfortable beds. I agree with others that the air conditioning is not very good, but it wasn't a problem. Everywhere in the hotel is spotless.

The food is very good - a good choice at breakfast, including bacon and egg, a free buffet lunch with hot food as well as salad, tea, coffee and cake at 4pm and a 4 course evening meal. This started with a salad buffet and we soon learned not to help ourselves to too much as there are three more courses to go! Often there would be extras like apperatifs or extra dessert. The menu is in Italian, German and English and you choose your evening meal at breakfast. Drinks are charged to your room - so keep some money back to pay your bill!

We travelled on the ferries, taking a day ticket for the Northern Lake, and on the buses, visiting the falls of Varone(90c bus trip from outside the hotel and 5 Euros entry) and Malcesine. Verona is well worth a visit too. I swam in the pool, and in the lake which was no colder and more fun and borrowed one of the free hotel bikes to explore along the cycle paths around the lake.
Overall a great holiday, made special by a great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

We have just returned from the garda hotel and loved everey minute of it. We were welcomed by the staff and had a beautiful room , 406 ,looking out over the shops opposite to the lake and you could see the mountains at the side view. We were in one of the refurbished rooms with a modern en suite but talking to other people the rooms with older suites were still spotless. We loved the 4th floor because of the views.Yes it did get hot in the afternoons, at the front of the hotel, it was 32degrees at least all last week, but we didn't go in the room much at that time of day. We went to sit in the small garden or to the pool to cool off.There was a lot of mosquitos last week in the evenings, not the hotels fault, which meant everybody except my husband got bitten. We have been to different resorts all round lake garda for 5 years and this was our best hotel and deal for august yet. The staff are so friendly and hard working nothing is too much trouble. As well as the lovely choice at breakfast and 4 or 5 course dinners, you could have a free lunch if you wanted. We did once but were out most days at that time. It's easy to get about on the local buses that are so cheap. Across the road you can get the bus to Arco which is very pretty for 90 cents. We also went to malcesine from the bus stop by Hotel du lac...2 minutes down the road towards Riva. It took us about 20 minutes to walk along the lake to town but 15 along the main road, We are slowish walkers.This didn't bother us but you could get the bus if you wanted but don't get off at the bus station that was a long way out of town for some reason , get off the stop before. We were pleasantly surprised when we got our drinks bill. It was very reasonable...5 euros for a carafe of wine, 3 euros for medium beer. This was a lot less than we've paid in the past. I would recommend this hotel to anybody who likes to be in a smaller hotel with good service and excellent fresh italian food...not european bland food!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels

Address: Viale Rovereto 71, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#4 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#5 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garda Hotel Riva Del
Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.