We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exclusive Lake View Suite - will make your day!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels to your Saves list
Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Rovereto 71, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 61 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Erlangen, Germany
1 review
“Exclusive Lake View Suite - will make your day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed in the Exclusive Lake View suite situated on the fifth floor, the top floor of the hotel.

The room was breathtaking. Furnitures, floor and - oh my goodness, the bathroom - all super modern and with greatest taste arranged and decorated. Best hotel room we've ever stayed in on our holidays.

About bed and bathroom that always makes all the difference to our hotel stays: Superb large bed (you may even wake up at night and get the feeling you have lost your husband in bed because you cannot reach him) with a perfect mattress, just the right level of comfort and support (worked well for us, 198 and 150 lbs). Bathroom with top level of installation: top level Grohe fittings, splendid looking full glas shower with a huge rain shower head. All very roomy.

The stunning fifth floor view over the nothern part and cost line of the lake Garda contemplated an unforgettable stay at the ('posh') Garda hotel in Riva del Garda (just 15 minutes' walk away from Riva centre). Worth the price!!

Room Tip: Try to choose a room on the fifth floor. Not the cheapest but good value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    106
    24
    0
    0
See reviews for
83
224
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We have just returned from an 11 night stay in this lovely hotel. The rooms are great and the location is excellent. The staff go out of their way to help you and nothing is too much trouble. There is a real 'family' feel to this place and it has a very welcoming atmosphere. The food is excellent and the Gala dinners are just wonderful. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and we are already trying to book again for next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on floor 3 or above to get stunning views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We booked the hotel without knowing they could readily accommodate my dietary need. We went expecting to eat in initially, but then possibly eat out, if (as we expected) the hotel provision needed 'supplementing'. This was not necessary - The chef provide a wide array of options and surprises, well presented and served by confident and most pleasant staff. The Head Waiter (Hakim) deserves specific mention as he guided me through breakfast (extensive and fresh) and dinner (varied and tasty) with a most polite and confident approach - BRILLIANT.

Oh - The hotel is clean, comfortable and it's location enables convenient access to every beautiful element of the Lake's Northern location. We went into the Dolomites as well as around the Lake and all is stunning and may warrant a return visit. (We do not often return to holiday destinations as there are so many to visit and enjoy .... But this may be an exception!)

Room Tip: Best rooms and therefore most expensive have been refurbished and can have views of the lake - but y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We recently stayed at Hotel Garda and must stay this was one of the best we have stayed at.
The room was absolutely wonderful and would recommend it to anyone, we were in room 510 and this has a stunning view over the lake.
The swimming pool was very good if a little near the main road.
The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
The location of the hotel was perfect for either walking into Riva or transporting to other places

Room Tip: Always ask for a 5th floor room overlooking the lake, if necessary e-mail the hotel before going
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have recently returned from a 2 week stay (18th May-1st June) in Hotel Garda and cannot recommend it highly enough!
The location is excellent. The old town of Riva and the ferry port are a 20 minute walk-away and the route around the Lake from the Hotel is simply stunning.
Rooms are a reasonable size and they are kept extremely clean. The views from the second floor (Room 211) were pretty good in our opinion. We could see the little chapel and the Bastion on the mountain above Riva which was beautiful, especially when it was lit up at night.
The staff on reception could not be more friendly and helpful to us.We were sad to leave them. Equally, the staff in the dining room were so lovely and the service was amazing.
The food in the hotel was fantastic! Even as a vegetarian, the sheer variety of beautiful food every night took me by surprise! It was like eating in a gourmet restaurant! The plates were like a work of art and every single meal was delicious.
We cannot wait to return to this hotel and can't thank the people who work there enough for making our wedding and honeymoon trip so special and memorable! We are so happy that we chose Hotel Garda for our special trip and cannot wait to return there!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burscough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was not my choice for a hotel as I was staying with a family group (7 including a baby) and despite all the good reviews I was wary given that I have in the past paid more and received inferior service.

I needn't have worried - the excellent reviews are no exaggeration.

We have just returned from a week at the Garda hotel and found the Hotel to be spotlessly clean. All of the staff were so helpful - they were wonderful and a real asset to the Tonnelli family who own this and other Hotels.

The choice at breakfast was incredible - fruit, yoghurts, cereals, fry-up material, bread cheeses, meats, boiled eggs, pastries and even pancakes.

Evening meal was good with a gala dinner twice a week with a vast salad buffet for starter. My only criticism would be that some of the main course dishes could perhaps be more effectively detailed on the menu to assist the decison making process.

We made good use of the outdoor seating and pool.

We had a room on the side of the Hotel which meant that we didnt have a view other than the Hotel opposite but there was a little balcony to sit outside. Having rad other reviews it sounds like we had a room which had not yet been refurbished but even so it was fine.

Its a 15-20 minute walk to the centre of Riva either along the busy road which fronts the Hotel or the more scenic walk along the lake. There are several bars, ice cream bars and pizza places near to the Hotel.

Riva itself is a nice spot - a friend warned that it had a windy location at the northern tip of the lake and true enough a bit of a breeze developed most afternoons but this was a welcome relief from the heat for me.

I would certainly return to Riva and teh Hotel Garda

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We have recently returned from a holiday in Italy where we stayed at the Hotel Garda in Riva, Lake Garda.The Hotel Garda is a delightful small Hotel set back from the side road
that takes you into Riva... by a lovely swimming pool fringed by palm trees.

A well appointed Hotel, half of which has been newly upgraded to a very high standard.
A small reception and bar area hosts quiet meetings for the representatives
and caters for those wishing to sit around the pool terrace with afternoon coffee and amazing cakes.

The service and friendliness of the hotel is exceptional and the maid service is superb.
The restaurant is beautifully cool in soft muted colours, which is a pleasure to sit and eat in
and which adds to the decorum of the restaurant efficiently run by the Maître.D.
The cuisine at this hotel is excellent, the presentation, quality and diversity of flavour and variety, you would not find better in an award winning restaurant. The Chef is to be commended.

As a finishing note, we should like to thank all the staff at reception for their constant help to us, they were exceptional in every way and to the Tonelli family for their warmth and wonderful hospitality

We as a family highly recommend the hotel Garda in all these areas and hope to return again soon.

Yours sincerely

Carole Barr and family

Room Tip: A room facing the swimming pool as you have wonderful views of the Dolomites and the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels

Address: Viale Rovereto 71, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#3 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#5 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garda Hotel Riva Del
Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.