We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Lake Garda” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda to your Saves list
Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza 3 Novembre 27, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 61 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lake Garda”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Finally got round to visiting Lake Garda. Not disappointed at all. Booked a few weeks before going so accommodation and venue somewhat limited so we finished up at the Centrale in Riva del Garda. The front of the hotel has a partial view over the lake and our room was one of the few remaining so we were lucky to get so close to booking. Room was reasonable size with en suite and comfortable beds. Shower room/toilet clean and adequate, plenty of hanging space and serviced daily. Traditional continental breakfast, meats, cheese, croissant, cereals and breakfast drinks. Evening meals average. Staff mainly pleasant and helpful but one or two need to remember that tourists like a smile now and then.
The hotel is old and tired in places but that would not put me off a revisit. Riva is a very good base for the lake and with many destinations by boat and road and giving you the chance to compare the varied resorts and consider future visits.
It is a *** hotel and I would endorse that rating.

Room Tip: Rooms on front of hotel have partial lake views but worth the supplement. Cannot comment on the rear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    108
    68
    31
    26
See reviews for
35
166
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Had read previous reviews of this hotel so went with some pre judgements some useful some not. The location is great right in the central square overlooking the lake and harbour so perfect for boat trips & a beautiful view in the morning of the lake, mountains, castle & tower. We were given one of the 01 rooms -room 201 which was a long narrow room with the beds lengthways. This was great for us as Mother and daughter as it gave us some privacy and separate quarters but obviously not ideal if you are a couple. Cleanliness of the room was great and found it cosy and welcoming. We didn't pay extra for a lake view so were very pleased to get one as the room was at the front of the hotel. Previous reviews have remarked on noise in the square, this was not a problem as we went mid October and enjoyed the sounds of the accordian and gentle hum and activity of diners and clock chiming adding to the atmosphere; only the last night was there a racket caused by a party at our hotel! Having gone with pre conceptions of the food, we ate a la carte the first 2 nights, enjoyed the fish not the pizza so much. We got the discount 8 euros & enjoyed eating out on the terrace. The other nights we ate inside on half board and were pleasantly surprised that the food was very nice and good value as it was included with starter main and dessert. as others have remarked there were grapes one night, but very nice grapes! and other times there was ice cream, tiramisu, strudel.....The weather also by now was a bit chilly so it was better inside. Would recommend to go earlier in the year or even end September for the blue skies. Found the staff to be friendly and efficient. Breakfast was continental fare and perfectly adequate with eggs, fruit, cheese toast ham salami croissants, jam rolls etc. Other guests at the hotel were all very friendly and amiable and so made for a nice atmosphere when we all met at dinner & on tours. Went with Italian getaways who organised the trip and the hotel & this included 2 trips to Verona &Venice. These were excellent although probably need a bit longer to also relax and enjoy swimming in the lake. Perfect location to also explore other places on the lake, Limone, Malcesine. Personally liked the atmosphere best at Riva. Would recommend this hotel for its central location.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have a lovely view of the lake, mountains and clock tower which is a joy to wake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My wife and I had a week in the Centrale in September. We paid extra for a lake view and this was given and was well worth the extra money.

However some of the staff on the reception desk were very unfriendly. For example when we checked in, the lady behind the desk said one word- "passport"! Nothing else. Not welcome, nothing and in fact she just held up a key in front of us to take. Not one other word.

The girl in the breakfast room was sour faced and unhelpful and some, not all, staff in the outside restaurant were not particularly friendly.

The room was cleaned well and the girl who did our room was good.

So would we stay there again? You bet. The location is unbeatable and offered at a very reasonable rate. Overall, a good 3 star hotel.

BUT, The location of the hotel is terrific, so although

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Gloucs
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have just arrived home after a week in this hotel during late October 2012. The room and service was very good and the meals were more than adequate. We had the included half-board package which was perfectly acceptable although a little limited in choice. It was possible to eat in the a la carte restaurant instead and an allowance of 8 euros per head could be set against the cost. The only real disappointment was that the hotel does not have a lounge area where you can sit comfortably indoors when the evenings are chilly, as they are in late October. Riva del Garda seems to be geared to outdoor living in the warm weather and many places close down between the end of October and early Spring.

Room Tip: It is not worth paying extra for a lake view because there is only one room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Just a basic hotel. Food terrible like a school canteen. A bunch of grapes was served as a dessert one evening (it would of been nice to have had cheese and biscuits with them)
Nothing else I can say apart from BASIC HOTEL. Wont go back again!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This hotel has a fabulous location in the main square of Riva del Garda, Close to restaurants, bars, shops and the ferry. Despite this it was quite quiet at night, We stayed B&B only which was wise judging by other guests comments about the food served to guests on half board. Pizzaria is really good and you get 10% discount. Breakfast was okay, usual continental stuff. Be prepared for a long queue at the coffee machine as it for some reason it seemed to baffle most guests! Room was basic but clean with fresh towels daily, the staff were always friendly and helpful. Good choice on a budget.

Room Tip: Request a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk england
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The hotel is in an excellent position and the room was spotlessly clean, although lacking in little niceties (eg. a box of tissues). As previous reviewers have mentioned, definitely worth paying more for a lakeview room.

Breakfast was chaotic, the hotel was fully occupied and there was much difficulty collecting breakfast and getting back to the table without spillages. The choice was adequate but very monotonous after a week. Dinner was very poor, having to sit at long canteen-type tables and having to order your dinner one night beforehand. Not in the least romantic. We found lots of nice restaurants in the area, which were not too expensive.

Reception staff were very indiffferent and did not seem to have any information on anything.

This hotel could have a lot going for it, if only the restaurant were better laid out, the quality of the food improved (even if you had to pay more) and perhaps a course at a charm school for some of the staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda

Address: Piazza 3 Novembre 27, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 61 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda Nago, Italy
Centrale Riva Del Garda
Hotel Centrale Riva Del Garda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.